Fix our kicking fix our team

Kicking today has just been sub afl this is what we have correct.

Turnovers just we'll..........

Re: Fix our kicking fix our team

Agree. Kicking has been really really poor. It's pressure and perceived pressure but even when clear some players can't hit water from a boat. Disposal as a whole needs to be worked on badly

We can cut Clinton Jones straight away then as his foot skills are about par of an above-average 10 year old

Ray dunnel also just shocking at times

Ray and Jones. What's the point of persevering? Play the kids who can kick. It's an investment in our future.

White Winmar wrote: Play the kids who can kick..
Trouble is no one seems to be able to kick, excpt maybe Billings................young or old

or handball or make tackles stick...

elizabethr

Ross terrible disposal skills.

nothing to say
elizabethr

Ross terrible disposal skills.

nothing to say

has been like this for 18 months now.

Got home at about 15 left in the 3rd. For the rest of the quarter I don't think we even stringed up 3 possessions in a row, we just got it, made a disposal and promptly lost it. Needless to say I watched the wrong half of footy...that mark though.

Our kicking efficiency was 50% tonight. That is below pathetic.

White Winmar wrote: Play the kids who can kick..
Trouble is no one seems to be able to kick, excpt maybe Billings................young or old
Well starting Billings and having Jones as the sub might have been a good start.

I thought that Roo's 600th career goal was all the more amazing in that he was able to kick it...

I was waiting for him to faint after finally receiving a proper pass(!) I reckon he must have been wondering to himself... how easy could this be...?

That said, we were still kicking to Roo instead of the best option. And that said, even Roo did the equivalent with that high-risk kick to Lenny... saved by the defender infringing. I have to wonder how many more times again this actually happened, as watching on the telly (obviously) limits what one can see. No wonder the likes of Sippa, Rhys and (this week) Lee and Dunny struggle.

A lot of our kicks were also turned over coz we too often went forward with no one to kick to. I know people hate the side-to-side stuff, but if we've all flooded back, if we win the ball, why kick to a 2-on-1 or 3-on-1 'contest'?

In other words, I don't reckon it purely an execution problem, but also very much a footy-smarts issue.

Btw, I haven't seen the stats, but Port also mis-kicked a hellova lotta times... but this was covered-up by their run and dominance anyway.

Dave McNamara wrote:I thought that Roo's 600th career goal was all the more amazing in that he was able to kick it...

I was waiting for him to faint after finally receiving a proper pass(!) I reckon he must have been wondering to himself... how easy could this be...?

That said, we were still kicking to Roo instead of the best option. And that said, even Roo did the equivalent with that high-risk kick to Lenny... saved by the defender infringing. I have to wonder how many more times again this actually happened, as watching on the telly (obviously) limits what one can see. No wonder the likes of Sippa, Rhys and (this week) Lee and Dunny struggle.

A lot of our kicks were also turned over coz we too often went forward with no one to kick to. I know people hate the side-to-side stuff, but if we've all flooded back, if we win the ball, why kick to a 2-on-1 or 3-on-1 'contest'?

In other words, I don't reckon it purely an execution problem, but also very much a footy-smarts issue.

Btw, I haven't seen the stats, but Port also mis-kicked a hellova lotta times... but this was covered-up by their run and dominance anyway.

Based on what I saw from TV kicking it to roo is clearly the best and nearly the only option.

elizabethr wrote:Ross terrible disposal skills.
Don't agree.....watch the game again

on the kick to lenny from roo:
- roo kicks it to clint - he marks - no goal; he doesn't mark - no goal
- roo kicks it to lenny - he beats opponent - goal; he doesn't beat opponent - no goal.

i know what option i'd take

AR drones on about effort... And yes that's required (I would have thought it would be a non-negotiable)

But the fact is, we have a plethora of players that cannot kick! Simply cannot expect to be competitive when you turn the ball over.... No matter how much pressure you apply.

At one stage we had played two and a half quarters and operating under 50% efficiency by foot!

BUT

To make things harder AR allowed them a player behind the ball to mop up our poor F50 entries and trot out of defence... Then because it's harder to defend turnovers, rendered our loose defender useless by continually spotting up leads inside their F50... Does anyone recall them bombing i50?

The game plan was bordering on disgraceful... Our one big weapon was allowed to be double teamed, then they just waltzed through the middle?!

When you think about it... We played into their hands?

We had Dempster doing a job, Jones doing a job, Simpkin doing a job, Weller doing a job, Saunders doing a job, Dunnell doing a job...
We picked a number of role players with low skill level and it showed.
They had Cornes doing one on Montagna?

plugger66 wrote:Based on what I saw from TV kicking it to roo is clearly the best and nearly the only option.
Not for example when Billings is all on his own and much closer to goal (first quarter when he filled-in briefly).

I'd be very confident that those at the ground would have seen heaps more examples that we couldn't see from the telly.

But bottom-line Pluggs, if Roo isn't clear, or isn't one out, we should be looking for/waiting for a better option... which may well be Roo making (yet) another lead, or if that means switching the play... then so be it... anything to stop us just handing the ball over to the opposition defence.

I thought that Pelchen bloke was only gonna recruit skillful left footers that can run like the wind for days and hit targets from seventy meters?

bigred wrote:I thought that Pelchen bloke was only gonna recruit skillful left footers that can run like the wind for days and hit targets from seventy meters?
True that...

We've been had.

I blame Ross Lyon.

bigred wrote:We've been had.

I blame Ross Lyon.
I blame Nettles

bigred wrote:We've been had.

I blame Ross Lyon.
I blame Nettles

I blame Lee's haircut. What is that?

Who does anyone consider a good kick in the team?

Billings. Yes

Milera occasionally?

Hayes, Joey are great players who can kick, but are not elite...

I'd hoped Newnes because he's an outside player... But he's real hit and miss.. Our other outside mid (Ray) is poor

Dunstan, Weller, Ross, Curran and Armo are reasonable but lack penetration... Not damaging

Steven is like Gilbert... Real hit and miss, he takes high risk options (inside/short) that create over-the-head turnovers

Saunders lack a bit of polish and composure, possibly because of his speed around the contest and attack on the footy.

CJ is in a class of his own.

Murdoch is actually very reliable

Dempster (like fisher and Gwilt) are ok because they bomb it long... But are not skilled by foot

Siposs and Stanley both damaging by foot because of the depth of penetration in their leg. But can bomb because of that?!