The race for Rice

Re: The race for Rice

Malthouse just threw Trigg under a bus on his way out saying he stole Eddie Betts 18 months before the FA period. Carlton are a rabble. Rice would be crazy to nominate them for anything.

At this stage, which club he chooses is anyone's guess. Sure, Carlton doesn't look like a great option for anyone right now, but who knows? It is quite likely they could make themselves look a lot more appealing come end of season: new president, new coach, priority draft picks and a new image could make them look quite enticing, particularly for a kid who grew up barracking for them.

Sounds like the Scumbaggers have a few father-son acquisitions to look at. I think it's about time we picked one up. For the life of me, I'm struggling to remember our last player who was the son of a Saint. Of course there was Michael Roberts in the '80s and then The Bull's kid, David Sierakowski, in the '90s. Ian Stewart's son only made it as far as playing in our reserves back in the early '90s. Yep, we're overdue for a father-son acquisition!

stjay

gringo wrote:Malthouse just threw Trigg under a bus on his way out saying he stole Eddie Betts 18 months before the FA period. Carlton are a rabble. Rice would be crazy to nominate them for anything.
If the kid is logical about it he'll pick the Saints.
If his decision is based on emotion it will be Carlscum.
On balance, what basis do you reckon a 17-18y.o kid makes a decision?
Especially on footy.

Er....

As far as we should be concerned, this decision is not up to the kid.

We take the best available for what we can give. If it works out that the father/son romance all works out, then so be it.

If not, then it is what it is. There is a list we need to build here.
Last edited by bigred on Tue 26 May 2015 12:36pm, edited 1 time in total.

bigred wrote:Er....

We take the best available for what we can give. If it works out that the father/son romance all works out, then so be it.

If not, then so be it. There is a list we need to build here.

Well is up to the kid if we want him and so do Carlton.

stjay

bigred wrote:Er....

If not, then it is what it is. There is a list we need to build here.

You're quite right, the ultimate decision is made by the club but we are actually far better off holding the cards (i.e a talented kid wan'ts to join our club) than not being in the equation.
The luxury of having that dilemma would be a nice change. Of course, if it doesn't happen, we all move on.

With these changes to the rules I'm not that fussed about the whole thing.

Unfortunately we missed our chance to pick up a gun or two with a 3rd rounder. Now you're basically paying what the kid's worth anyway.

With that in mind I'm really only interested if the Son is an absolute gun OR the Father is an absolute legend of the club. Then I may get keen on what's happening.

For me Rice falls into the "I'm happy if he comes but won't be shattered if he doesn't" category.

The Barometer

"The 18-year-old has spent a few Tuesdays at St Kilda headquarters already, going through tapes of his games with the recruiting team and coaches, and getting a sense of what it would be like to play for the Saints. Carlton had him along to a president's function recently, and he got to go into the rooms before the game to watch the players warming up."

Saints invest in youth, Carlton sense of entitlement.

Maybe this is why the saints have successfully regenerated with youth a number of times in the previous 25 years while Carlton have not moved on from the brown paper bag days.
Have lunch with Sticks and the boys and you too will play in a premiership, its inevitable we are Carlton...why develop when you can buy players? it worked in the 80s so lets buy Judd, trade out a young key forward and high draft pick and oops...it doesn't work anymore.

If he is good enough for us to draft hopefully he sees the clubs for what they currently are, not what they were.

The blues also have a chance of picking up Jack Silvagni and Jake Bradley father son. Given this, maybe they won't go chasing Bailey Rice with 100% effort and if he's good enough the Saints will have a new bowl of special fried rice to enjoy.
Last edited by prwilkinson on Wed 27 May 2015 9:07am, edited 2 times in total.

IanRush

suss wrote:His knee turned out to be as crook as Shane Wakelin's ankle ...
Transferred in 2000, around the same time Hirdy was having his original navicular trouble…. Not saying anything is suss about it….

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

IanRush wrote:
suss wrote:His knee turned out to be as crook as Shane Wakelin's ankle ...
Transferred in 2000, around the same time Hirdy was having his original navicular trouble…. Not saying anything is suss about it….

Carlton are a rabble rushie.

Rice will nominate StKilda take that as fact.

CURLY wrote:Rice will nominate StKilda take that as fact.

cmon curly out with it........big call im going to book mark this one...

As close as you'll get to the man himself saying it. Bookmark it now.

stjay

CURLY wrote:

Wow, that's a big call! Duly noted.

CURLY wrote:

Well its 50 50 isn't it. You are involved in what local club? Silvan?

CURLY wrote:

Warburton.

CURLY wrote:

Warburton.

A mate of baileys?

CURLY wrote:

Warburton.

A mate of baileys?
Dean is the Junior Development officer for the DRJFL I worked with Dean 18 years ago and am also a Interleague coach now and have regular contact with Dean.

Sainternist wrote:At this stage, which club he chooses is anyone's guess. Sure, Carlton doesn't look like a great option for anyone right now, but who knows? It is quite likely they could make themselves look a lot more appealing come end of season: new president, new coach, priority draft picks and a new image could make them look quite enticing, particularly for a kid who grew up barracking for them.

Sounds like the Scumbaggers have a few father-son acquisitions to look at. I think it's about time we picked one up. For the life of me, I'm struggling to remember our last player who was the son of a Saint. Of course there was Michael Roberts in the '80s and then The Bull's kid, David Sierakowski, in the '90s. Ian Stewart's son only made it as far as playing in our reserves back in the early '90s. Yep, we're overdue for a father-son acquisition!

Barry Lawrence's kid played the odd game .

Sainternist wrote:At this stage, which club he chooses is anyone's guess. Sure, Carlton doesn't look like a great option for anyone right now, but who knows? It is quite likely they could make themselves look a lot more appealing come end of season: new president, new coach, priority draft picks and a new image could make them look quite enticing, particularly for a kid who grew up barracking for them.

Chad the Nad Davis?

No Steven Lawrence. Why would it be Davis? Lawrence wasn't a father son though.

Chad the Nad Davis?

No. We got him from the Lions, but his father did play for the Saints.

I f you read the quoted postd, the poster stated he was having trouble remembering the last player who was the son of a saint.

Chad the Nad Davis?

No. We got him from the Lions, but his father did play for the Saints.

I f you read the quoted postd, the poster stated he was having trouble remembering the last player who was the son of a saint.
I think if you quote the post that says Lawrence son played the odd game then I would assume he was saying his name was chad davis otherwise why even quote that post? Its not relevant.

"can kick on both feet "

sign him up ffs!!