Would anyone care

Re: Would anyone care

WellardSaint wrote:I don't care.
Not a problem.
The AFL is a microcosm of society, and reflects this society,
so it's not just likely, but it's probable that a percentage of AFL players are gay.

I worked in the Dept of Defence several years ago, for a long time,
and when Defence took an initiative to recognize same-sex relationships,
there were 2 officers- both majors- who applied for co-habitation allowances etc
within about a week of the announcement.
I say the gay footy players will keep under the radar for the forseeable future
because although there's strong support in the public domain, these guys (indeed maybe AFLW ladies)
still may not be sure about coming out.
Your joking about the AFLW aren't you?

Would anyone care?
Well, it is not something I have on my mind even for a second.
Frankly I couldn't give a rats and neither should any of you.
Don't know why we are even talking about it.

BazzaBreen66

Enrico_Misso wrote:The Saints lead the way.
We had a cross dresser back in the 60s.
Ian Stewart?

Yes hundreds of thousands of people would care. And unfortunately many opposition supporters would give the player a terrible time on the field and off the field. There are many, many people in Australia that like to cut down tall poppies. Wouldn't be surprised if Sam Newman would try and get some mileage out of it also.

satchmo wrote:I would only care if it was someone that I wanted to have sex with.
You could just say no

I would only care if they felt they had to publicly come out and didn't want to for what ever reason.
I'm sure there are a number of Gay players already and I'm sure that their team mates know and don't care.

I think the reason players would not want to come out publicly is because no one wants to be the first and feel like they have to be the face of gay footballers and be wheeled out by the media at every moment the can.
That would be a burden for anyone.

I think teams like St Kilda are doing a great job trying to educate the uneducated without forcing a player into the spotlight.

The_President wrote:If one of our players were gay?

Do you think it would have an impact on the locker room at all?

Find it surprising that the league hasn't had any openly gay players as of it.
I wouldn't care, not should anyone else, like most clubs, St.Kilda FC have had gay players represent the club b4!!!!!

Couldn't care less.

IluvHarvey wrote:
satchmo wrote:I would only care if it was someone that I wanted to have sex with.
You could just say no
Why?

Satch, how many AFL players do you want to have sex with?

Absolutely not. Would take me hat off to any AFL player who would have the courage to come out. I can't see it being a problem in this day in age for other players and supporters, particularly at a now progressive club like St Kilda FC.
BazzaBreen66 wrote:
Ian Stewart?
WTF?!

Could be please elaborate?

borderbarry wrote:Satch, how many AFL players do you want to have sex with?
Well none at the moment, but never say never.

satchmo wrote:
borderbarry wrote:Satch, how many AFL players do you want to have sex with?
Well none at the moment, but never say never.
do you mean "AFLW players"?
There's 4 from the women's Crows team that I would like to have a drink with :lol: :mrgreen:

satchmo wrote:
IluvHarvey wrote:
You could just say no
Why?
Sorry mate totally misread your original comment

Sainternist wrote:Absolutely not. Would take me hat off to any AFL player who would have the courage to come out. I can't see it being a problem in this day in age for other players and supporters, particularly at a now progressive club like St Kilda FC.
BazzaBreen66 wrote:
Ian Stewart?
WTF?!

Said player had quite a wardrobe of frocks.
Was a major reason in Jeansy initiating the single worst ever trade deal in any senior competitive sport.
Was apparently wearing quite a pretty outfit when he was pulled over by a constable who suffered minor injuries when he sped off at major city intersection several hours after he coached a Blue team to a loss against a B&W one which turned out to be his last game as coach as he stood aside for "personal" reasons.

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Sainternist wrote:Absolutely not. Would take me hat off to any AFL player who would have the courage to come out. I can't see it being a problem in this day in age for other players and supporters, particularly at a now progressive club like St Kilda FC.
BazzaBreen66 wrote:
Ian Stewart?
WTF?!

Said player had quite a wardrobe of frocks.
Was a major reason in Jeansy initiating the single worst ever trade deal in any senior competitive sport.
Was apparently wearing quite a pretty outfit when he was pulled over by a constable who suffered minor injuries when he sped off at major city intersection several hours after he coached a Blue team to a loss against a B&W one which turned out to be his last game as coach as he stood aside for "personal" reasons.
I seem to remember it was right near the South Melbourne Markets...only 2 streets away

I believe the alleged person was actually doing a right hand turn at Flinders street. The point duty policeman was allegedly dragged a couple of meters when he reached in to take the keys from the ignition .. Allegedly of course

The_President wrote:If one of our players were gay?
His girlfriend might be a bit upset :wink:

The sad reality is there would be plenty of people who DO care!
I just asked this question to some people at work and I got a few responses like "it wouldn't really sit well with me".
Sad!
2017 and we still have a percentage of society that still feel this way.

I reckon you find all sorts of different guys in a footy changeroom. The guys wouldn't give a s***. All they care about is whether he can get a kick and help them win games of footy. Footy clubs are fairly robust places, so I reckon it would help if the said player had a healthy sense of humour. Guys love taking the mickey out of each other and if he was comfortable enough to use a bit of self deprecation humour I reckon the lads would love it and embrace him for it. I personally think that if a player came out initially players would be slightly uncomfortable, not because the player was gay, but more so as to what the boundaries were re jokes etc. The said player would basically set those boundaries himself by his attitude toward the whole thing. If the player had been at the club for awhile, I reckon most of the boys would suspect anyway. A footy change room is a lot different to your every day workplace and generally far more robust. Respect is the key. If the player that's coming out believes that the players respect him and any jokes are more a way of saying 'you're one of us' then he would be fine. It's like a family. Hang crap internally but if anyone dares say a word externally, then the family turns on that person.

People say that being gay shouldn't be an issue and never discussed. Personally I disagree with this. How often throughout the day do ppl refer to their boyfriend or girlfriend, husband of wife. We do it without even thinking. Gay ppl who are in the closet don't get that freedom to talk naturally. I currently work with a bi sexual female who is unaware that I know that she's bi sexual. I also know that she has a female partner. I find it incredibly sad that she can't (or won't) talk about her life with the freedom that I can talk about mine when we work together.

Personally I would love it if a player came out - but refused to become the banner for all activist groups. Just quietly came out amongst his team mates and that was that. Maybe one has? Far more natural I believe. He's not a freak or someone to be stared at, just a guy playing footy who happens to have a different sexuality. Doesn't want to be a pin up for anyone's 'community'. Shouldn't have any extra responsibilities. If he wanted to market himself as the pin up boy, I reckon it would discourage rather than encourage other players to come out. Who wants to come out to a circus?

supersaints wrote:I believe the alleged person was actually doing a right hand turn at Flinders street. The point duty policeman was allegedly dragged a couple of meters when he reached in to take the keys from the ignition .. Allegedly of course
That was my recollection too - outside Young and Jackson's - allegedly.
He went home, defrocked, and turned himself in.

aussie sainter

Wouldn't care in the slightest. Can confirm re the cross dresser (yep its true, 3 times brownlow medialist, twice with us :), I knew the bloke who was the team Doctor at the time. God he was good at telling me about the past, reckons that the only team he ever caught with amphetamines before a game was Collingwood...could even remember the game sometime in the 70's. RIP Dr Fischer :)

The_President

There will potentially be a massive announcement when The Footy Show returns that involves one of our own.

The_President wrote:There will potentially be a massive announcement when The Footy Show returns that involves one of our own.
I hear this rumour. A Magpies connection?

The_President

The_President wrote:There will potentially be a massive announcement when The Footy Show returns that involves one of our own.
I hear this rumour. A Magpies connection?

Yes sir.