Acres

Re: Acres

Has genune A grade talent - can he take it?
could be Bont 2 with his size and on seeing him today he has strong physicality to go with it - seems to have time.

Johnny Member wrote:I must be watching a different Acres.

I hear the Benny Hill theme playing every time he gets it.
Your on your own sorry. The kid plays with great natural instinct and skills.

Well at least you are prepared to stick your neck out.
When he is a gun in two years I doubt you will take it as a sign that you are just not that good at judging young players

I too will stick my neck out and say he will be a gun

Time will tell .. maybe it is me who cannot spot a good young player

This has to bea p!sstake? you seriously don't see the ability just the young mistakes?

Given BT got every name wrong, chances are you were

Teflon wrote:Has genune A grade talent - can he take it?
could be Bont 2 with his size and on seeing him today he has strong physicality to go with it - seems to have time.
He's got more tricks than the Bont, so have Billings and Gresham for that matter.

How long did it take before Goddard became an A grader?
Acres is ahead at the same stage.
Takes the game on, takes risks and gets around the ground with a big engine.

The OtherThommo wrote:
citywest wrote:He will be our best mid within 2 years IMHO.
Has Jack Steven got a terminal illness that will soon see him gone?

Fair freakin dinkum!
Plus one. Unbelievable comment imho.

saintspremiers wrote:Big fan. I really see a lot of Lenny in him.

I wonder if Lenny could mentor him this year to help him hit his full potential?
He's got Lenny side step in traffic.

Don't ever want to see him at Sandringham again!

Does every young mid (even though he doesn't play mid) get called the 'next Lenny' now?

Jade had 14 touches... he did some nice things... was perhaps our 12th best player

BigMart wrote:Does every young mid (even though he doesn't play mid) get called the 'next Lenny' now?

Jade had 14 touches... he did some nice things... was perhaps our 12th best player
Was Lenny even that good before he had played 50 games?

CURLY wrote:

That is kind of embarrassing for you then.
The kid is a gun.

Vazelos wrote:How long did it take before Goddard became an A grader?
Acres is ahead at the same stage.
Takes the game on, takes risks and gets around the ground with a big engine.
A couple of times the way he moved with the ball remnded me of Goddard. Only wish he had his foot skills. Still, I'm very impressed. By the time he gets 50 games under his belt he'll be a very good player.

I'm a Blakers' fan, but there's a reason why he hasn't yet cemented his place.

It was exemplified when Roo gave him the pill lace UP heading toward goal, and he finished up covered in watermelon pips.

Myron Gaines

The OtherThommo wrote:I'm a Blakers' fan, but there's a reason why he hasn't yet cemented his place.

It was exemplified when Roo gave him the pill lace UP heading toward goal, and he finished up covered in watermelon pips.
He should've taken it in his mits. He has great hands, whether marking or scooping the footy up off the deck.

saintspremiers wrote:Big fan. I really see a lot of Lenny in him.

I wonder if Lenny could mentor him this year to help him hit his full potential?
Considering Lenny is coaching at GWS I doubt it very much.

Loved his game. Just needs to make better decisions and use the ball better.

The OtherThommo wrote:I'm a Blakers' fan, but there's a reason why he hasn't yet cemented his place.

Dunno if that's the case, Bruce couldn't catch a cold last season.

The Pinch Hitters

Has shown some promising signs the last few weeks.

Am getting excited about what he could ultimately become!!

Steele named ahead of Acres in the best on the AFL report which I think is pretty odd.

Really promising game from Blake, great to see his confidence building despite a few clumsy errors.

citywest

The OtherThommo wrote:
citywest wrote:He will be our best mid within 2 years IMHO.
Has Jack Steven got a terminal illness that will soon see him gone?

Fair freakin dinkum!
Not at all but I can see Acres being even better than Jack in 2 years time.

This has to bea p!sstake? you seriously don't see the ability just the young mistakes?
I've been leading the 'Acres will be a gun' cheersquad for the past 2 years. But.....

Firstly, the mistakes you refer to, are the exact same mistakes he's always made. To the point, where the chronic lack of polish becomes a concern.

Not making the distance from 40m. Turning it over consistently. Fumbles. Missed targets. Missed goals.

Now I've barracked for him and still do, because of the positives - size, 'x-factor', potential......but that's it. He doesn't get it heaps, and has never, ever been negated by the opposition. For obvious reasons. Reality is, and we all know it - the reason we barrack for him is blind faith because we have absolutely no one else standing out as being any good (Gresham aside).

We're clutching.

I'm definitely not giving up on him, but gee, if tonight's game is getting people excited, I think that says more about how desperate Saints fans are than anything else.

CURLY wrote:

You're not that little, old bald bloke are you?

Johnny Member wrote:

I've been leading the 'Acres will be a gun' cheersquad for the past 2 years. But.....

Firstly, the mistakes you refer to, are the exact same mistakes he's always made. To the point, where the chronic lack of polish becomes a concern.

Not making the distance from 40m. Turning it over consistently. Fumbles. Missed targets. Missed goals.

Now I've barracked for him and still do, because of the positives - size, 'x-factor', potential......but that's it. He doesn't get it heaps, and has never, ever been negated by the opposition. For obvious reasons. Reality is, and we all know it - the reason we barrack for him is blind faith because we have absolutely no one else standing out as being any good (Gresham aside).

We're clutching.

I'm definitely not giving up on him, but gee, if tonight's game is getting people excited, I think that says more about how desperate Saints fans are than anything else.
I get that but less than 30 games.......sheesh.......
Reckon hes shown enough to indicate he will and can influence a game - yes in patches but when that consistency somes I think he'll be in oppo planning

Eyespy

Acres has become my favourite player ! Kid has so much natural ability and oozes X factor ! i think with consistency of being played in the 1's he's going to get better and better ! Makes the odd mistake from time to time but I love the fact that he's willing to take on the game and as he gains experience he's going to become more and more unstoppable ! watch this space # futurestar