Bailey Rice

Saintly66

Bailey Rice

Hey guys been reading this forum for a while now was just wondering what people's opinions were on Bailey Rice ie: how far off he is? Me personally I'd pick him ahead of Savage every day of the week at least to get him some games into him as I see him as that nuggety player down back for us with great disposa and just what we need going into the futurel. Just had in the back of my mind that he would jump ship to Carlton if ever given the opportunity as he supported them as a kid and his contract runs out at the end of the year do you think he'll get a new one?. Cheers

Re: Bailey Rice

Saintly66 wrote:Hey guys been reading this forum for a while now was just wondering what people's opinions were on Bailey Rice ie: how far off he is? Me personally I'd pick him ahead of Savage every day of the week at least to get him some games into him as I see him as that nuggety player down back for us with great disposa and just what we need going into the futurel. Just had in the back of my mind that he would jump ship to Carlton if ever given the opportunity as he supported them as a kid and his contract runs out at the end of the year do you think he'll get a new one?. Cheers
His dad Dean played for us and the boys from Visy
I would prefer him to Saveloy- who's been a regular senior player for ages,
but isn't really part of our future. Shame, because his kicking is pretty damn good,
however with JWeb showing a lot of fire and desire, much more than Savage,
we need someone better than Shano, who hasn't really advanced much

Proph3t of egan

Saintly66 wrote:Hey guys been reading this forum for a while now was just wondering what people's opinions were on Bailey Rice ie: how far off he is? Me personally I'd pick him ahead of Savage every day of the week at least to get him some games into him as I see him as that nuggety player down back for us with great disposa and just what we need going into the futurel. Just had in the back of my mind that he would jump ship to Carlton if ever given the opportunity as he supported them as a kid and his contract runs out at the end of the year do you think he'll get a new one?. Cheers
Been really strong in the VFL this year apparently, and had Carlisle not pulled up last week would have debuted according to the ITK's. He shouldn't be far off, maybe get the Brendan White treatment from last year

Fortius quo Fidelius means Strength through Loyalty. . . I think

Word is from Tony he might be in for his debut against Freo.

Joe Bloggs

Proph3t of egan wrote:
Been really strong in the VFL this year apparently, and had Carlisle not pulled up last week would have debuted according to the ITK's. He shouldn't be far off, maybe get the Brendan White treatment from last year
Richo was that itk

quirky84

Was just at the members forum event this evening. Richo said that Rice would have come in had Carlisle not got up.

He said that he's really close.

However someone asked about Freeman and whilst he's been going really well, he said it's unlikely he plays seniors this season.

quirky84 wrote:Was just at the members forum event this evening. Richo said that Rice would have come in had Carlisle not got up.

He said that he's really close.

However someone asked about Freeman and whilst he's been going really well, he said it's unlikely he plays seniors this season.
Good one. You might be able to give some answers in here too if you heard anything
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=93177

Saintly66

Cheers guys appreciate the information.

I dont understand why Rice was being considered to replace (injured) Carlisle?

Surely Rice plays in the same position as Geary, Newnes, Montagna or Webster?
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 24 Jun 2017 9:45pm, edited 1 time in total.

#gosaintas

Should have debuted when Webster was injured. Richo must have thought we needed to see Savage's boot it as far as you can to nobody in particular style of play plus DMAC's headless chook impersonation a couple more times.

Played ok today, not one of his best games but he was good.

He is a natural footballer, a good footballer. But a poor looking athlete, although his actual movement belies his body shap

He's quite quick and very strong, tough

Had he got the tank for league footy? I reckon he has as a nuggets back pocket

Similar player to Frankie Peckett

In the flesh he's a little taller than you expect. Agree he was good today. Took a brilliant courageous mark but not paid due to free elsewhere in the contest. He's got presence and might.

BigMart wrote:Played ok today, not one of his best games but he was good.

He is a natural footballer, a good footballer. But a poor looking athlete, although his actual movement belies his body shap

Proves BM isnt all doom and gloom.

BM - you have been pretty upbeat about Rice all season.

How far off a debut do you think he is and who would he replace in the AFL side? Montagna?

Same body shape as his old man, short legs long body!

Of course I'm not all doom and gloom... I just say what I see? Isn't that what most do???

Or do they just see what they wanna see... like bagging the crap out of Geary, who has finished top 5 in an AFL team b&f 4 of the last 5 years?... or just refusing to see the obvious limitations of McCartin or bagging Lonie or pumping up Acres

There are whipping boys

And there is golden boys

People see what they want to see, and can only hear what they wanna hear

Same body shape as his old man, short legs long body!
Strong as a Mallee Bull.

BigMart wrote:Of course I'm not all doom and gloom... I just say what I see? Isn't that what most do???

Or do they just see what they wanna see... like bagging the crap out of Geary, who has finished top 5 in an AFL team b&f 4 of the last 5 years?... or just refusing to see the obvious limitations of McCartin or bagging Lonie or pumping up Acres

There are whipping boys

And there is golden boys

People see what they want to see, and can only hear what they wanna hear
Ok ok.
But I am genuinely interested to hear more about what you think of Rice.

I think Rice can play, very well, he's a proper footballer who makes good decisions and reads the game well.

He surely has limitations with running capacity, but it doesn't seem so?

He would need an injury to Geary or Webster to get a look in though

Has past a disappointing DMac who I really rate!

From what I've seen, he's gonna be more a Geary type - a dependable defender who can shut down a small/medium forward. Rather than a dashing half back distributor. I can see him getting a game if they rest Joey, but it will require a reshuffle because they aren't a straight swap.

The trait I keep seeing, even from his under-18's days, is his incredible hands below his knees. Seemingly never fumbles, which is a skill I wish more or our guys possessed.

I see him similarly to Nath Wright - I wonder if the club will go down the similar path with Rice and give him a crack as a defensive forward.

Fidelis

I'm not sure where Rice fits in. He's a pure footballer. Has some of the best hands in the club; great below knees and above his head. He got such solid disposal skills that he rarely turns the ball over. And he appears to have a great footy brain; reads the ball well, runs to the right places. I see him as the ideal defender or even centreman of a bygone age. But I don't think he has the speed or agility to break the lines like a Joey or to stay with an elusive small forward as Gears can. hisnrunning style and body shape might suit him more for the inside mid role - think a better skilled Luke Dunstan type. Time will tell.

Faithful Even Unto Death

It funny though

He has a terrible body shape, but is deceptively quick

In fact one of the fastest over medium distance (50-100) at the club

He is a bit like Petracca in that he's powerful I reckon.

I'd rather him back than Joey

Needs to become Special!

BigMart wrote:I think Rice can play, very well, he's a proper footballer who makes good decisions and reads the game well.

He surely has limitations with running capacity, but it doesn't seem so?

He would need an injury to Geary or Webster to get a look in though

Has past a disappointing DMac who I really rate!
According to Richo he was in last week if Carlisle didn't get up.

Wombat15

if you put him in surely you just rotate him with Joey. Hes a classy operator with the ball in hand.

Been listed as an emergency lately. Must be getting close. From what I've seen(which isn't much) he looks pretty tough. Solid body.