Jack Watts...

ss1986

Jack Watts...

For Armitage and a late pick.

Both 150 game players. Watts is 26, Armo 29.

We could dispense with a mid, and need a wing/forward who can kick a footy.

Would you do it?

Re: Jack Watts...

In a heartbeat.
Has something we lack...
elite disposal

<Insert photo of John McEnroe here>

ss1986

Because?

Armo would have 1-2 years of good footy left in him. But our mids will develop and go past him very quickly.

I'd take a punt on a ready made player like Watts with Roo finished and McCartin needing some heat taken off him.

Change of scenery did wonders for Membrey. Watts needs a similar change. Wouldn't cost us that much in the scheme of things.

Watts would be good as can play a number of positions. Has good skills for a big bloke. Apparantly we aren't after him though. See link.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/09/15/ ... d-mcclure/

Salem and Watts for some kind of swap of picks would work.

The Recruit

No
Only a straight swap for armo no pick
Armitage is done

ss1986

Hence why we'd need to be reasonable... Plenty of upside left in Watts over a longer period.

dals_da_bomb

Feeling puzzled.
this seems actually reasonable - maybe even in our favour.

Is Watts on the market?

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.

I reckon Watts could be pretty good with a change of club, so long as we don't malign him as much as his own club's fans have.

NO

If Armitage is fit to play, he's twice the player Watts is… if his body is rooted then Melbourne won't want him.

At any rate, Watts is a #1 pick at the peak of his powers and is still running around in the VFL for a club that hasn't played finals for over a decade.

ss1986

Armitage not gonna play in our next flag. If we are going to get it done by 2020, im almost certain he wont be there. And if we dont trade something now, given that all the decent FAs are off the table, it certainly wont be any earlier than that.

He is prime trade bait for a team like Melbourne who'll think they are close.

I cant think of any other Riewoldt-TYPE of player out there that would be available other than Watts? Type being positional type, before you howl me down comparing the two.

Jack Watts can play a bit. We probably need someone that can play a lot.

ss1986 wrote:Armitage not gonna play in our next flag. If we are going to get it done by 2020, im almost certain he wont be there. And if we dont trade something now, given that all the decent FAs are off the table, it certainly wont be any earlier than that.

He is prime trade bait for a team like Melbourne who'll think they are close.

I cant think of any other Riewoldt-TYPE of player out there that would be available other than Watts? Type being positional type, before you howl me down comparing the two.
He's more of a BJ type to me, though maybe lacking some of Goddard's ticker. I could see him running out of the backline and distributing it well. I doubt the Demons would go for it, though.

On Armo, let's hope he can get back to full fitness. I'm not sure we can play all four of him, Dunstan, Steele and Stevens.

I actually rate all four, it's just that they are all similar types and feel we need a better mix around the ball. Looking forward to seeing much more of Gresham, Acres, Sinclair and Billings where the ball is.

We won't get anything for Armitage.

jimmy_slats

Thing I find interesting about that arrival is that armet has allowed this guy to talk to him and put the info on Sen within half an hour. Makes me think armet is playing the fiddle a little going to be a very interesting trade period one that might shape us for the next few years

'WALK THIS WAY!!!!!'

jimmy_slats wrote:Thing I find interesting about that arrival is that armet has allowed this guy to talk to him and put the info on Sen within half an hour. Makes me think armet is playing the fiddle a little going to be a very interesting trade period one that might shape us for the next few years

Huh? Armet talked about getting Watts on Sen?

NO THANKS

parkeysainter wrote:Watts would be good as can play a number of positions. Has good skills for a big bloke. Apparantly we aren't after him though. See link.

Not sure I would be chasing Watts the key forward - would be going for Stringer there - I would however be chasing Watts the key back -- if he would be keen to play back I would be keen to get him

saint6709 wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:Watts would be good as can play a number of positions. Has good skills for a big bloke. Apparantly we aren't after him though. See link.

Not sure I would be chasing Watts the key forward - would be going for Stringer there - I would however be chasing Watts the key back -- if he would be keen to play back I would be keen to get him
At 196cm he is 1cm taller than Nathan Brown. Maybe he can turn into a Lonergan for Geelong who went back and did well.

I'd be happy to take Watts, though I doubt the Deamons would accept Armitage. But I'm sure they'd take a 1st round selection.

We should do this deal
Pick 8 plus pick 43 for stringer plus wb pick 26

We then give pick 26 to Melbourne for watts

Melbourne can use pick 10 plus 26 for lever

Done

St Loxton

maverick wrote:We should do this deal
Pick 8 plus pick 43 for stringer plus wb pick 26

We then give pick 26 to Melbourne for watts

Melbourne can use pick 10 plus 26 for lever

Done
I would do that. Make it happen!

Stian

Jacks Back wrote:
saint6709 wrote:

At 196cm he is 1cm taller than Nathan Brown. Maybe he can turn into a Lonergan for Geelong who went back and did well.
Maybe - but surely he doesn't have the body to stand up in defence. Wouldn't he be rag-dolled (by almost anybody)?

Dustin Fletcher was no monster and Jake Carlisle isn't really either but he goes ok....I think the above post re a potential trade for Watts and Stringer certainly fits our first name profiling- they will definitely fit in