INTRA CLUB MATCH

st.rod

INTRA CLUB MATCH

Assume there is no intra club match this year with AFLX starting. If I've missed any announcements I apologise. Disappointed if true, go every year

Re: INTRA CLUB MATCH

Will be one for sure.

Hopefully Jaxons can post a match report 8-)

skeptic wrote:Hopefully Jaxons can post a match report 8-)

http://www.sen.com.au/news/2018/02/07/d ... from-fans/

Could we wish the next year at Moorrabbin something similiar cvould occurr

outside66

Con Gorozidis wrote:Will be one for sure.
Club reckon not unfortunately

AFL website coverage of the match simulation at least:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-02-09/s ... simulation

Naturally, all positive, thanks Dinny :)

Steven shines in Saints' match simulation

Jack Steven was in good touch on Friday

STAR midfielder Jack Steven has overcome the hamstring tendinitis issues that plagued him last year and was in superb form during St Kilda's match simulation session in Sandringham on Friday.

With similarly talented teams divided into black and yellow for a game consisting of three 20-minute periods, Steven racked up plenty of the footy and demonstrated the speed and acceleration that was at times limited in 2017.

He capped off his day with a drop punt goal from the boundary line on the wrong side for a right-footer.

"He was really good. He's been pretty positive all pre-season. His ability to get to the ball and influence is the big thing. He's first to get to the contest and his ability to extract the ball from the contest, using his legs, is pretty impressive," midfield coach Simon McPhee told AFL.com.au.

Mav Weller had his 2017 ruined by right ankle troubles but he looked in fine form, covering the ground well and winning his fair share of the footy.

Up forward, Paddy McCartin had plenty of aerial presence and took an impressive mark in a pack of four players.

Nathan Freeman and Darren Minchington both sat out the first period. Freeman was affected by a calf niggle late last year and the Saints were very conservative with him, because of his injury history.

Freeman picked up a touch within a minute of coming on and later slotted a goal on the run from just inside the 50m arc.

"His pre-season, while it's been interrupted, his stuff pre-Christmas was really good. The fact that he's been able to come in and find the footy straight away is a really good sign for him and for us," McPhee said.

Minchington had ankle surgery midway through last year.

Leigh Montagna's retirement has opened up a spot in defence and Brandon White made his case, showing his contested marking skills and precise left foot.

Exciting youngster Jade Gresham did plenty to excite, hauling in a speccy in the first term and taking a one-on-one mark against tall backman Logan Austin in the second.

Tim Membrey looks set to build on his 38-goal season in 2017, performing well while matched up on Jake Carlisle for long periods.

Midfielder Nick Coffield was the best of the draftees. His supreme pace will add variety to Alan Richardson's side.

"Nick's been getting his hands on the footy a fair bit. He looks pretty composed when he gets it. He looks forward and looks to use his legs, so he's been really good," McPhee said.

Hunter Clark snapped a goal on his right from a stoppage and showed composure.

"He's really clever and clean, so I was pretty pleased with Hunts. He puts his head over the ball," McPhee said.

Star forward Jack Billings was dominant early before being rested for the last two terms. His new goalkicking routine was put to the test and he duly delivered.

Big man Rowan Marshall showed why the club is internally confident about his prospects, holding his own against Tom Hickey in the ruck and going forward to provide an aerial presence.

Josh Bruce, Jack Newnes and Lewis Pierce are coming off minor knee surgeries but are due back in full training next Monday, as is Billy Longer (calf). Left-footer Daniel McKenzie also sat out with a rolled ankle and will rejoin the main group late next week.

Coffield might play Rd 1 the way he is looking and what we're hearing.

White is progressing.

Good to see Paddy up and about and doing his stuff. Same as big Mav.

Since when did Jack Steven have hamstring tendonitis last year?

outside66

Another 'inclusive' move by the club - this would've been good to watch. Little wonder why we struggle to attract new members

outside66 wrote:Another 'inclusive' move by the club - this would've been good to watch. Little wonder why we struggle to attract new members
St Kilda were no 1 in the AFL for retention of and new members in 2016. Not sure about 2017.

Actually. We were 5th in 2017 for new members so not struggling at all.

outside66 wrote:Another 'inclusive' move by the club - this would've been good to watch. Little wonder why we struggle to attract new members
Agree. If they did it on a Saturday and made it a family friendly day it would have been good PR for the club and a few extra coins for the coffers

outside66

parkeysainter wrote:Actually. We were 5th in 2017 for new members so not struggling at all.
Mate. That means nothing - we had the 2nd lowest membership base out of the VIC clubs - only marginally above NOrf.

Fact is, when you have no members to begin with but manage to sign a few up (a big thank you can go to the rolling debit/memberships for retention) then of course you are going to have inflated numbers. We have one of the largest latent supporter bases yet we cannot transcend that into signing up members.

My point is, if the club wants to be 'inclusive' in a bid to attract new members or engage with supporters then the best way to do that is to actually ENGAGE i.e. let people know that we were having the intraclub, let people know that you are bringing in a chopper to Moorabbin FFS - it's not hard. Unfortunately we have a long way to go in getting it right IMO

outside66

DJ Higgins wrote:
Agree. If they did it on a Saturday and made it a family friendly day it would have been good PR for the club and a few extra coins for the coffers

100%

outside66 wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:Actually. We were 5th in 2017 for new members so not struggling at all.
Mate. That means nothing - we had the 2nd lowest membership base out of the VIC clubs - only marginally above NOrf.

Fact is, when you have no members to begin with but manage to sign a few up (a big thank you can go to the rolling debit/memberships for retention) then of course you are going to have inflated numbers. We have one of the largest latent supporter bases yet we cannot transcend that into signing up members.

My point is, if the club wants to be 'inclusive' in a bid to attract new members or engage with supporters then the best way to do that is to actually ENGAGE i.e. let people know that we were having the intraclub, let people know that you are bringing in a chopper to Moorabbin FFS - it's not hard. Unfortunately we have a long way to go in getting it right IMO
You said we were struggling to attract new members. The figures of 2016 and 2017 prove we are not whatever way you look at it. If we make finals again, the figure will go over 50k easy. Saints are also retaining members atm which is great. The tally will get better.

Anyway, it would have been good if the game was on a Saturday and advertised. Maybe there is something planned next weekend or the one after. Maybe AFLX has changed things now.

Saints dust off the cobwebs at Trevor Barker Oval http://m.saints.com.au/news/2018-02-09/ ... .mobileapp

outside66 wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Will be one for sure.
Club reckon not unfortunately
Sorry - I meant there will be a game played.

I guess the issue is whether they have the open game with fans and properly organised and catered for. Sounds like it wont happen.

outside66 wrote:
DJ Higgins wrote:

100%
Really disappointed. We used to make a day of it (or at least a morning) when they did these at Seaford and even a couple of years ago at Sandringham was on a Saturday. last year it was a Friday and this year I didn't even know it was one.

SAINTS, we like to have a look at how the new players are travelling and how the old fellas are holding up.

Disappointing. :(

it was just training..................

NOT an intra game as we once knew

some posters carrying on.

parkeysainter wrote:
outside66 wrote:

You said we were struggling to attract new members. The figures of 2016 and 2017 prove we are not whatever way you look at it. If we make finals again, the figure will go over 50k easy. Saints are also retaining members atm which is great. The tally will get better.

Anyway, it would have been good if the game was on a Saturday and advertised. Maybe there is something planned next weekend or the one after. Maybe AFLX has changed things now.
NO chance sundance.
In back to back GF years, 2009/2010 we barely cracked 40K, 2009 not even I think...
I happen to agree this club IS WOEFUL with fan engagement and needs to get on its bike.
Very poor.

saint-stu

chook23 wrote:it was just training..................

This is what the club replied to me on twitter. However it was exactly the same form as an intraclub match, had AFL reporters there and on the same weekend as other clubs intraclub matches. They just didn't want supporters there for whatever reason.

1ac46a38

saint-stu wrote:

This is what the club replied to me on twitter. However it was exactly the same form as an intraclub match, had AFL reporters there and on the same weekend as other clubs intraclub matches. They just didn't want supporters there for whatever reason.
We're going in the bubble!

saint-stu wrote:

They still want your money though!
I discontinued my memebership 3 or 4 years ago, they still chase me!
This is a good example of why Im not a member anymore. Simply, they dont give one s***.

iwantmeseats wrote:
saint-stu wrote:

They still want your money though!
I discontinued my memebership 3 or 4 years ago, they still chase me!
This is a good example of why Im not a member anymore. Simply, they dont give one s***.
You need to change your nick to "Idontwantmeseats".