Lonie to have break out year

Yep, I'm calling it now!!!

Jack Lonie will have a break out year in 2018 and silence the Saintsational critics.
30+ goals, 100 plus tacks, countless pressure acts, multiple goals assists.
Not not at Sandy, in the ones playing for the Saints.

The other break out player will be Jack Steele who will go to a whole new level this season as a goal kicking mid and tackling machine.
Much in the mold of how Seb Ross improved over the past couple of seasons.

Anyone else for a prediction?

BadRossco

Re: Lonie to have break out year

I predict you will get done for substance abuse

Some posters probably still believe in the tooth fairy, the easter bunny and santa claus.

Who am I to disillusion them.

Jack Steele, I can live with. He's the real deal.

I think you have him mixed up with Jade Gresham.

Rumour is he will star in Stranger Things Season 3 on Netflix in 2018.

Lonie will break out in a bad rash and that’s about it.

Sorry JB, I lurve your style but I just don’t see it. Lonie doesn’t appear to have the upper body strength to make it but who knows.

Both Coffield and Clark to each earn a rising star nomination. Coffield to get two!

Dunstan to have a very good year.

Billings, Acres, Gresham, Dunny, Steele, Membrey.

These are my big six.

Think Savage night also have a good year.

Paton is my dark horse.

Connellan the surprise packet.

BadRossco wrote:I predict you will get done for substance abuse
cocaine is a hell of a drug

I keep an open mind. I'll go back to my observations about Lonie the first time I saw him, NAB Cup at Morwell vs Essendon "Top-Ups" (that takes on a whole new inyaface meaning after this weeks racing industry text message leaks!),

I said that Lonie "has something that can't be taught" , referring to footy-smarts. I'll keep that comment in my "open" mind this season and see how he develops.

David-Lee

Anything for the Saints!
But no.

Dreaming

to have a break out year in the new AFLX game of human billiards.

Pinging all over the place but never going in the pocket.

Riding the back dirt roads. Not quite ready for bitumen yet.

Joffa Burns wrote:Yep, I'm calling it now!!!

Jack Lonie will have a break out year in 2018 and silence the Saintsational critics.
Not not at Sandy, in the ones playing for the Saints...
Hi Joffa, some clarification please.

30+ goals - or this that 30+ goal scoring opportunities?
100+ tackles - how many will stick though? This is the biggie.
Countless pressure acts - see the above point.

I reckon the bloke is a great footballer! And is clearly a level above VFL. Tough, gutsy-as, and always gives it his all. But at AFL level his lack of size/strength is a real problem. Continually gets a full-on bear hug on opponents, yet they still can brush him off. And despite being a great kick, the fact that he keeps missing very gettable goal opportunities is further hurting his cause.

If he doesn't make it, it's no knock on him. Easily has the talent, attitude and endeavour. If Jack was just a bit bigger, he'd be an absolute star. A real shame I reckon.

Dave McNamara wrote:
Joffa Burns wrote:Yep, I'm calling it now!!!

Not not at Sandy, in the ones playing for the Saints...
Hi Joffa, some clarification please.

30+ goals - or this that 30+ goal scoring opportunities?
100+ tackles - how many will stick though? This is the biggie.
Countless pressure acts - see the above point.

I reckon the bloke is a great footballer! And is clearly a level above VFL. Tough, gutsy-as, and always gives it his all. But at AFL level his lack of size/strength is a real problem. Continually gets a full-on bear hug on opponents, yet they still can brush him off. And despite being a great kick, the fact that he keeps missing very gettable goal opportunities is further hurting his cause.

If he doesn't make it, it's no knock on him. Easily has the talent, attitude and endeavour. If Jack was just a bit bigger, he'd be an absolute star. A real shame I reckon.
If I had of been 15-18cm taller i might have made it too.

Dont think so there should be a heap of players in front of him IMO.

From all reports, Lonie has given himself every opportunity to have a breakout year.

If its ever gonna happen, it will be this season. I hope a lot of the posts in this thread look stupid come the end of the year....

St Chris wrote:From all reports, Lonie has given himself every opportunity to have a breakout year.

If its ever gonna happen, it will be this season. I hope a lot of the posts in this thread look stupid come the end of the year....
I am more than happy to be proved wrong.

Height doesn't seem to be an issue for Caleb Daniels.

I think the problem is just between the ears for Lonie...

You watch him in the VFL and all the skill problems and issues with size are non-factors. He’s a gun at that level.

There’s just something that happens when he steps up that everything falls away, and it’s not an issue with skills or talent.

skeptic wrote:I think the problem is just between the ears for Lonie...

You watch him in the VFL and all the skill problems and issues with size are non-factors. He’s a gun at that level.

There’s just something that happens when he steps up that everything falls away, and it’s not an issue with skills or talent.
Playing good regular footy at AFL level for anyone is exactly what is...hard! Lonie is a classic example of someone that is too good for the VFL or the next tier down from AFL, but for whatever reason, they just can't regularly put it all together. Kind of like Templeton and Minchington.

skeptic wrote:I think the problem is just between the ears for Lonie...

He just seems to panic at AFL level. He'll do something really quickly without thinking. I think he has all the skills but needs composure.

I'm with you Joffa.

Lonie will be a regular by the end of the year and lead the team in goal assists.

Mind you, after his first century I also said Mathew Hayden would never make another one.....

But I think Lonie will start hitting targets and kicking straight. Just needs a few more games in the firsts.

For mine

JB to go all Australian
J Steele to go very close to AA
Paddy to have a few games of 4+
Gresh to continue on his natural trajectory

Clarke and Coff to get Rising Stars

Long to take Lonies place

Mav to return to 2016 form

The beauty is for Lonie is that we have a lot of GOP’s/list cloggers this year so he won’t be short of mates.