Loophole in Richo’s contract

According to Tom Morris, there is a performance clause in Richo’s contract which means the club could release him at the end of 2019.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/exclus ... 2690bf5191

Re: Loophole in Richo’s contract

This was also reported on Footy Class last night.

ROLS-LEE

Whether true or not, I cant see him going until after the last game of the season.

CarlD

Two weeks :D

ROLS-LEE wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 11:06am Whether true or not, I cant see him going until after the last game of the season.
I can. If we manage to have a poor start to next year - say, 1-6 - the pressure will become unbearable. No one - club, coach or supporters - can tolerate a dead-man walking scenario.

Can not believe we have to sacrifice a season (that’s what next year will be) because that absolute twat Finnis and Board decided to play “corporate managers” and extend this muppets contract. Effing unbelievable, unforgivable
Just go Finnis - head up the AFL re-genderisation program but stay the eff out of football decisions.
Ferking lawyers....head up arse but feel they can manage anything cause they’re a trumped up solicitor FFS

Teflon wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 2:46pm Can not believe we have to sacrifice a season (that’s what next year will be) because that absolute twat Finnis and Board decided to play “corporate managers” and extend this muppets contract. Effing unbelievable, unforgivable
Just go Finnis - head up the AFL re-genderisation program but stay the eff out of football decisions.
Ferking lawyers....head up arse but feel they can manage anything cause they’re a trumped up solicitor FFS
You are being generous… it's at least 2 seasons sacrificed.

Have a think about this year… if he was in the last year of his contract like he should have been when we had One win from 12 games in June, do you think we would have extended his contract? Not a chance.

When a coach has a W/L ratio of less than 35% there is absolutely no need to extend their contract a full year early, it's an absolute furphy that someone would possibly come along and poach him.

dragit wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 4:28pm
Teflon wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 2:46pm Can not believe we have to sacrifice a season (that’s what next year will be) because that absolute twat Finnis and Board decided to play “corporate managers” and extend this muppets contract. Effing unbelievable, unforgivable

Have a think about this year… if he was in the last year of his contract like he should have been when we had One win from 12 games in June, do you think we would have extended his contract? Not a chance.

When a coach has a W/L ratio of less than 35% there is absolutely no need to extend their contract a full year early, it's an absolute furphy that someone would possibly come along and poach him.
the einsteins at the club who decided on the extension, only did it (I think) to stop media speculation, as the flogs in the media will always
go with "coach under pressure" on a slow news day.
Club didn't want to give any ammo to Barrett or the Witch.
But I suppose by doing so, it gave them ammo to say "they aren't top 4, they're bottom 4, why extend Mr Fairy Dust? WTF?"

There is of course also the possibility that Richo himself will decide to resign.

The pressure he will be under at the start of 2019 to turn the team's fortunes around will be immense, and he doesn't strike me as the sort of bloke who will ignore the writing on the wall if there is no significant improvement in the first month.

I reckon in that case he will sit down with the club and work out an immediate exit strategy on terms where he will save face - in fact I imagine that such a deal may well be worked out between both parties at the end of this season to take the heat off him, and allowing a smooth transition to his successor.

It will be in the club's interest to avoid a difficult, dramatic, troublesome media spectacle which could have serious consequences for the psyche of the playing group.

SaintPav wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 9:21am According to Tom Morris, there is a performance clause in Richo’s contract which means the club could release him at the end of 2019.
The last part is the problem

Where was the performance clause for this year?

dragit wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 4:28pm

You’re correct

Our only hope is a new president who sacks Finnis and then sacks Richo end of this year.

Otherwise we are farked

Caro / 3AW tweet saying it could all explode after our last game this season.

Hopefully - I need some action. Enoughs enough. Although I feel all areas are a problems atm.

saintkid

Spinner wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 8:34pm Caro / 3AW tweet saying it could all explode after our last game this season.

Hopefully - I need some action. Enoughs enough. Although I feel all areas are a problems atm.

Well, I really hope this is true because Richo et al will turn the club into a total basket case if they continue in 2019.

SaintPav wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 9:21am According to Tom Morris, there is a performance clause in Richo’s contract which means the club could release him at the end of 2019.

And repay what he received for the previous three years!

jaxons

It is extremely unlikely he will be coaching us next season.

jaxons wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 10:07pm It is extremely unlikely he will be coaching us next season.
Hopefully this comes true

jaxons wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 10:07pm It is extremely unlikely he will be coaching us next season.
At all? As in, by round 1?

one point

Is Matt Finnis likely to survive into next season?

Lethlean is a friggin liar then.

SaintPav wrote: Tue 14 Aug 2018 10:54pm Lethlean is a friggin liar then.
Not at the time he was asked................

things can change :wink:

I concur. He IS NOT guaranteed to coach next year.

You’re the most reliable ITK poster on here Jaxons, so hallelujah if this be true.....and that would surely mean a replacement being in place prior to the draft and trade period.....maybe just Kingsley or a promoted assistant...oh wait.....with intention to land someone significant in 2020. Almost anything would be better than the current farcical embarrassment.

Will this happen because of a change of Board?

There is now talk about Jim Watts or Andrew Bassett taking over the Presidency with some of the Board resigning. What do you think of Watts or Bassett?

I assume that whomever takes over is planning to move on Richo, perhaps Finnis as well. If so, who's out there as a potential Coach?

I would be nervous and worried if it were Kingsley or Harvey.