Suggestion Box

The place to discuss issues with administrators and moderators. Suggestions welcome. All bans will be posted here and the banning appeals process will be held in this forum.

Re: Suggestion Box

Principle of Q'uo wrote:Could u do me a favour then please St.Byron.

.... in this Admin forum , top and bottom bit
Could the 'locked' threads be moved to the bottom of the list
or all together somewhere ... just tidied up sensibly
.... so we are not looking at dead threads between active threads ?

I would also say ,
i thought u handled the licky / honger thread ... well.

patient n focused.
... thats how the site moves forward , imo.

communicate , communicate , communicate.
(when the 'energies' are moving in the one direction , your workload will reduce considerably
... just gotta get there)
I'll forward your request to BFUSA and get back to you with an answer. From the Mods panel, I can't change the order of threads as they appear in the Forum Index. Don't know if it's possible from the Admin panel either. Deleting, merging, editing, locking etc are all do-able. But shifting the order around as they appear in the index I'm not sure about.

Thanks for the feedback and encouragement. I appreciate it.

what about my giraffe up its tree
... did u laugh ?
... i did it for you ... (and Dave)

or have u turned into a 'badge polisher' already ? :P

GrumpyOne wrote:Two good posts by Matrix.[/i]
Matt gives incredible value for just 2 cents worth.

Think what he could achieve with the ABC's budget. 8-)

Principle of Q'uo wrote:what about my giraffe up its tree
... did u laugh ?
... i did it for you ... (and Dave)

or have u turned into a 'badge polisher' already ? :P
Not quite sure what a 'badge polisher' is....so maybe I am one....don't know.

Pretty nice image. I laughed out loud when I read the caption.

... happy days then
cool.
good.

(polishing the sherrifs badge ... old joke from earlier days)

Serves that Giraffe right! Climbed up that poor tree, ate all the leaves, now it's stuck! And hungry!

Principle of Q'uo wrote:... happy days then
cool.
good.

(polishing the sherrifs badge ... old joke from earlier days)
Aah I see. I was just watching a Wyatt Earp movie last night. Plenty of badge waving there. Didn't see any giraffes in trees - lots of rebellious types pointing guns and cussing though.
Still waiting for my mod tin star in the post. Maybe it's been lost and I can get one on e-bay. Or cut one out of cardboard. However it arrives I'll be doing a good deal of polishing, lacquering, buffing and shining so I can admire my own reflection in it and say quietly to myself, "yes this is who I truly am".

Principle of Q'uo wrote:
BackFromUSA wrote:Hi all

I think that everyone's opinion is well known and fully expressed on all matters ownership, admin, moderation, rules and technical features.
No.

... how could that possibly be
when there was no encouragement to put our ideas , thoughts and concerns
front & centre.
.. and those that were , were brushed aside , with the 'we know better'
'n 'we wont suffer fools' paridigm we ARE operating in.
Hi POQ

You must have missed this bit of my post:

"This will give everyone 6 weeks to prepare a submission for consideration on any matters."

If you have a specific view or suggestion - please submit it, so it can be reviewed and discussed.

Thanks

Simon

i dont miss anything u write or do Simon.
... i enjoy observing.

You seem incapable of holding a conversation
that revolves around listening 'n talking , sharing 'n receiving ,
more concerned with Grandiosity than Community , imo.

What does your Pronouncement actually mean ?
.. that was both a rhetorical and genuine question btw..

i'll continue my conversations , present my ideas here ,
in front of the boys ,
growing it changing it with the boys input.

You offer a ceasefire.
... were you fighting us ?

St.Byron did a great job on the Hickey / Longer thread ,
dont u agree ?

Aah I see. I was just watching a Wyatt Earp movie last night. Plenty of badge waving there. Didn't see any giraffes in trees - lots of rebellious types pointing guns and cussing though.
Still waiting for my mod tin star in the post. Maybe it's been lost and I can get one on e-bay. Or cut one out of cardboard. However it arrives I'll be doing a good deal of polishing, lacquering, buffing and shining so I can admire my own reflection in it and say quietly to myself, "yes this is who I truly am".
the order is polishing , buffing , shining and lacquering ,
in my experience.
... pesky little non glow metal that tin.

Good luck Sir Mod.

Dave McNamara wrote:

with a bit of luck and common sense, tony will fix that.....personally i would close them down completely...waste of my money....

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Dave McNamara wrote:

with a bit of luck and common sense, tony will fix that.........
He's used up all of his first and has none of the second.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

Dave McNamara wrote:... Think what he could achieve with the ABC's budget. 8-)

with a bit of luck and common sense, tony will fix that.....personally i would close them down completely...waste of my money....
... but what will you do if they film another Peter Temple novel, Sting?

Another job for Mrs S and the unlabelled disc surreptitiously slipped into the DVD player...? :wink:

Thanx for the 'tidy up' lads ... good effort.

So should we start a thread to be used as our submission?

i'm suprised u haven't noted how a Panel of the nameless
would be easier to 'stack'
than a vote on here.

...got the feeling of 'The Red Wedding' episode , all over it ,
to me.

so yeah
eerrr wtf is going on with this 'idea' thing

any sort of fair dinkum 'idea' thing ,
would require an understanding of our foundation
to be worthwhile or remotely useful.

(why are we here , who are we , where are we)

basically , imo ,
a) what we are
b) why we do it

lets start there then.

Cairnsy noted the need to build an understanding of who , what , why etc etc
about 30 years ago , it seems to me.

Lets do that then.
see what 'that' tells us.

..do we still do polls ?
... write some questions.

best understand what the users desire.
... who knows what u people want.

I know what i desire.
... pretty simple really.

I wanna laugh , cry , grimmace , learn , share 'n wonder.
.. any less is , imho , ... soooooooo yesterday.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Couple of good ideas here, but is anybody from admin listening?

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

leave them out of it.

we do it.

if they wanna join in , friendly like , great
but if not ... great.

we do it.

Lets see where we end up.

for the life of me
i cant see how everybodys concerns and needs cant be met.

Lets brainstorm it.

Or

give me 3 days 'n i'll post a ... 'whole of site' idea
that encompasses EVERYBODYS needs ,

that u boys then pick to pieces.

There's another way of doing it.

well ive got no f****** idea whats going on here
do we start threads again???
when this is the suggestion thread
do we need a panel?
what the hell is going on here?

do i just start a new thread and list everything ive said again for the tenth time????
what do i call the thread
suggestion idea thread number 5???

seriously get organized ffs

There will never be a shortage of ideas/proposals so I think one of the first things that needs to be fleshed out is a viable voting system so we can objectively determine the "majority rules" when deciding on ideas/proposals for development and implementation.

Up to this point I have felt that a voting system similar to the one we use for match day voting could be effective.

The system would be transparent however there is the issue of members using multiple nics to cast votes.

I think we could circumvent that issue by having some integrity factoring that comes into play if the vote is very close, say under 1-3% or say within a certain number of votes.

This system would acknowledge that there are members with multiple nics casting votes but assumes that the maximum number of corrupt votes that could possibly be cast through multiple nics would be so low that it would not effect voting if the voting exceeded the integrity factor.

Could it work?

Personally I feel that any shift away from the current status quo needs to be very carefully thought about if it's indeed possible given the site's ownership status. Any move towards a voting system may actually produce more problems than it solves. Apart from the logistical issues of having a viable voting system on an anonymous forum, there are also political issues. It's a nice ideal to have a democratic voting system for mods for example, but IMO could very easily be best by politics and factionalism, far more than we have now.

Any voting system would have to be voluntary - compulsory voting wouldn't be possible - how could you possible enforce it? So participation in any voluntary voting system would be dependent on the level of interest of the forum members. My guess is that there is a small core of posters who are genuinely interested in the issues discussed on this thread - democracy, voting etc, and a larger number of posters who don't really engage with it. They just want to come on here for info about the Saints and talk mostly about footy.

I can foresee the cliques and 'lobbies' that already exist on the forum playing out in the way it's managed and moderated if a democratic system were implemented.
I reckon it wouldn't take long for accusations of bias and favouritism to come forth, when one 'faction' or another gained sway.

Personally I think it's foolish to shift towards any attempt to have a democratic voting system on this forum. Given we are all anonymous and living all over the country and beyond there would be no enforceable checks and balances when it comes to voting participation and identity.
Happy for people to prove me wrong when it comes to a viable voting system, but even if one was able to implemented, I think it would be fraught with potential for political infighting that could do a lot more worse than good.

Whilst the current system may not be perfect, it also has it's good points and benefits.

I do agree that it would be better if the site owner were more pro-active and responsive when it comes to suggested changes to the forum structure and presentation.