Goddards Mark of the Century

The Saintsational Man

#1GILL wrote:
Muir_32 wrote:Terrific mark by BJ
Milne's mark, one on one with 'Harry No Brain' in the last was a ripper too
In H&A Harry would have got a free kick for in the back, umpires really put the whistle away.
They did put the whistles away and it made the game so much better to watch.

LaUrEnCe

so i can't stop watching this

game shoulda ended there lol.. woulda been perfect <_<

edit - oh someone posted it already
Last edited by LaUrEnCe on Sun 26 Sep 2010 5:53pm, edited 1 time in total.

LaUrEnCe

noob wrote:Loved it when he punched the st.kilda logo
this

LaUrEnCe wrote:so i can't stop watching this
awesome moment by an awesome player. now he has to do it again next week.

with enormous respect to lenny, i'd have had bj as norm smith medallist.

mbogo

The most astounding individual performance I have ever seen from a footballer at the most decisive moment possible. Just amazing. It has got us the next game and the psychological advantage ... who from Collingwood gets Goddard? - not to mention Hayes superiority over all Coll midefielders.

This is a team game and there is no room for individuals who think they are above walking through the fire.
Owen

best GF mark since Jesaulenko you beauty in 1970 surely ...

mbogo wrote:The most astounding individual performance I have ever seen from a footballer at the most decisive moment possible. Just amazing. It has got us the next game and the psychological advantage ... who from Collingwood gets Goddard? - not to mention Hayes superiority over all Coll midefielders.
It was one of the most amazing, if not the most amazing, football moments I've ever seen.

matrix wrote:i actually started to f****** cry
i thought that was it

f***
f***
f***

sorry
me too :(

it still gives me goosebumps thinking about it though. a magical moment.

notice how the photographs do it more justice than the television footage.

i thought that was it

f***
f***
f***

sorry
Yeah I was pretty much done at that point. I thought we had it.

I almost....ALMOST know what it feels like to win the flag.

rexy

DramRunner wrote:I've always rated Leo Barry's mark in the 2005 GF simply because of the situation. Given that criteria, BJ's is far superior and had the Saints got up surely the most influential mark of all time. Pity really. Cometh the hour, cometh the man, and boy did BJ cometh!
I nearly cometh myself, or is that cumeth?

Never mind :oops:

Maybe this year?
super dooper

i thought that was it

f***
f***
f***

sorry
I lost control of my emotions at that point. Firstly the bear hug from the random next to me which almost made me pass out, then on came the tears. I honestly thought we were gonna win it then... Oh well, we'll just have to do it next week!!!

Davo027

FYI .. a poster of BJ's mark will be in poster form in tommorrow's (Mondays) Herald Sun.

For more info www.saints.com.au

The above views are those of the author and not necessarily those of the clubs or the AFL.
TazzieSaintGirl83

It was brilliant! I lost my voice screaming! I wanted to jump through the tv and kiss him, when he went back to slot it through then ran off thumping his hand over his heart, I was so proud I thought I was going to burst.

100% Sainter Girl Through and Through

Beej wrote:
SainterK wrote:Breathtaking, shame it's in a game that had no outcome, hope it doesn't get lost as a result.

PS - It is evil to be enjoying the look on Balls face? :twisted:
Agree, hope it doesn't get lost.

For that piece of play to get the respect it deserves, we have to win it now, don't we? Even still, next week there will be a whole new set of key moments which will almost render today's meaningless...

If we do win... In a few years from now, when we want to reminisce, we won't be watching this game, we'll be throwing the decisive game into the DVD player, won't we?
No, if we win next week, the first game will be remembered and watched for years. But i get your drift - you watch BJ's mark again and fire right up! But it will be sort of swept aside if we don't win.

TazzieSaintGirl83

Just snagged the Goddard mark poster out of the paper. Its just breath taking!

100% Sainter Girl Through and Through

AKA Brendan "Jean Luc" Goddard's remake of 'Breathless'.

What a moment. Don't think my life has ever reached that high in euphoria. I thought there was no stopping us from there....

Have kept the lendog and BJ posters. If we win they'll be getting signed and laminated and straight to the pool room with the premiership memorabilia. If we lose....bin

Have watched 'The Mark' a couple of times since Saturday...well, alright, HEAPS!!

One annoying thing about Seven is that the moment is lost a bit - BJ takes it, goes back, goal. A brief view of Saints flags waving.

Then it goes to a FRIGGING CAR AD which seems to go for a minute!!!

The sight of the aftermath is gone, and, if we don't win this week, is almost consigned to the corners of history.

Only at the re-start, after a bad ball up, do we see the slo-mo views of 'The Mark'.

Any Sainter out there with vid from being at the game? I can only imagine the roar when BJ launched himself.

Grrrrr

stevie wrote:Have watched 'The Mark' a couple of times since Saturday...well, alright, HEAPS!!

One annoying thing about Seven is that the moment is lost a bit - BJ takes it, goes back, goal. A brief view of Saints flags waving.

The sight of the aftermath is gone, and, if we don't win this week, is almost consigned to the corners of history.

Only at the re-start, after a bad ball up, do we see the slo-mo views of 'The Mark'.

Any Sainter out there with vid from being at the game? I can only imagine the roar when BJ launched himself.
I recorded both the Channel 7 and Foxtel version of the GF. Thank God Foxtel show the quarters ad free. I'm still enjoying that mark, fricking awesome...

avid

Have sent pics of it to many friends in footy-starved regions of the world.
Americans, in particular, can't believe it.

SteveStevens66

stevie wrote:
I think the commentators, in particular, McAvaney, missed the moment as well. None of them are a patch on Mike Williamson. A really good commentator gives himself time to create a memorable line, such as, "Jesaulenko, you beauty!" The clowns on 7 missed Goddard's mark and after a split second could only give a collective yell. That's not commentary.

Carna Saints!!!

stevie wrote:Have watched 'The Mark' a couple of times since Saturday...well, alright, HEAPS!!

Loudest roar I have heard previously was Troys goal to win in R6 2004 V Brisbane. This eclipsed it immensley!. Loudest, rawest, most gutteral I have ever heard live at the game. Thought it came across like that on TV as well now having watched the reply.

OneEyedSainter77

i thought that was it

f***
f***
f***

sorry
I have no shame in admtitting me too.

The most emotional I have ever been at a footy match.

hopefully, I beat that this weekend (I won't if we lose, which is why I said hopefully - I'll cry harder if we win than if we lose, I know it!)

I Love Peter Kiel

We'll all be crying on Saturday night....tears of joy!

In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.
saintnick12

OneEyedSainter77 wrote:
i thought that was it

f***
f***
f***

sorry
I have no shame in admtitting me too.

The most emotional I have ever been at a footy match.

hopefully, I beat that this weekend (I won't if we lose, which is why I said hopefully - I'll cry harder if we win than if we lose, I know it!)
I had tears too. As the goal went through, I turned to mum and said "we're going to win" . The man in the next seat hugged my son and I.
I dared for a second to dream what it would be like. It was like a moment frozen in time, and then they scored - the ultimate high, followed by the ultimate low, then the very strange feeling of the draw.
Hoping the ending is less tense this week, and that we are well in front and can enjoy it. :wink:

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.