Saints Team

mad saint guy wrote:
My guess for the final bench

Schneider, Stanley, Smith, Jones (sub)
Jones sub again? Thought we'd look to rotate the subs to prevent the loss of match fitness.

Re: Saints Team

SaintSimmo wrote:Lets all hope that Siposs has another ripper game for sandy this week and he may get a look in after the bye.
No we don't want him.
Long accurate set shot kicker.
Doesn't suit our game plan.
And be obviously practises kicking so selecting him is too risky as he might injure himself.

the guys too small
needs some bulk and then he'll be right i reckon.

matrix wrote:the guys too small
Really some people need to get a grip!

A 4 year apprenticeship may be too long, but a 1 game apprenticeship is sheer lunacy :roll:

Give the kid a chance to develop a bit!

I think reason lynch get selected was if he became an emergency he might not get to play on the weekend because in case someone gets injured or ill therefore give him the full game in the vfl when his form is okay.

Strange days indeed...

I think lynch is the new armitage.....

matrix wrote:the guys too small
Really some people need to get a grip!

A 4 year apprenticeship may be too long, but a 1 game apprenticeship is sheer lunacy :roll:

Give the kid a chance to develop a bit!
exactly
didnt set the world alight last week, but has a fantastic kick, hopefully he hangs around, improves and becomes a future forward

The Sainter

Has the AFL changed its selection criteria now? When you had to name an extended bench the 18 selected on the ground were automatic selections barring accidents and the 4 interchange would be named from the rest.

The Sainter wrote:Has the AFL changed its selection criteria now? When you had to name an extended bench the 18 selected on the ground were automatic selections barring accidents and the 4 interchange would be named from the rest.
that happnes when 3 X 30 year olds ( or near ) are out.

matrix wrote: so two backman out and lynch had a great game down back in the vfl and doesnt get the nod???
We had too many backmen in the team...so more runners in is good IMO.

matrix wrote:
winmar did bugger all and stanley didnt set the world on fire

Winmar will most likely be an emergency..so ignore.

In: Koschitzke, Schneider, Steven, Stanley, Smith, Winmar
Out: Lenny, Blake (omitted), Baker

HOW THE .... DOES DEMPSTER NOT GET DROPPED? FAIR DINKUM

What an absolute waste of space

Dempster's turn overs last week cost us the win

and he's done nothing note worthy since Paris Hilton lost her virginity

Steven must come in

Lynch is very unlucky not be named and should be playing seniors this week

SaintSimmo wrote:

Surprising to see Stanley and Winmar listed, .
Encouragment award...doubt they will play.

Not sure what else Tom Lynch has to do to get a game, he can either free up Gilbert to go forward or go forward himself as he was a fwd when he was selected with a round 1 selection in the draft. He looks ready, settled, not that it matters but without him last week the magoos would have almost certainly lost.

I honestly don't know whether Winmar has shown enough to be even on the list next year, IMO looks scared to get the ball when I've seen him, might have some good skills but they weren't always on show last week thats for sure. Is it his speed we are after? Maybe he is in contention as we constantly get smashed for pace v Dons.

I'm glad Jack was selected, him and Armo will have to cover for Hayes and love the fact that Jack knows how to kick a goal or three!

I hope one of Siposs or Johnson lift a notch to put pressure on for a spot. Seems Blake is getting shafted as the backup ruckman in favour for a makeshift forward/ruckman role to give Mac a break...

I like Siposs, he is just a kid, but at least he can kick and will only need a handful of touches to be damaging within 50. While Archer shows endeavour, his kicking hurt us last week (not alone there though!). Happy to see some kids selected.

Jack wii definately play ( trained very strongly ). Don't be surprised if they pull a rabbit out of their arse and name cuz as the sub!!

The Sainter wrote:Has the AFL changed its selection criteria now? When you had to name an extended bench the 18 selected on the ground were automatic selections barring accidents and the 4 interchange would be named from the rest.
nah, i don't think that's ever been the rule. you can change them around as much as you want before dumping three. (in this case, stanley, smith and kosi or archer.)

Fantastic squad. I still have feeling that they will give kosi a half for sandy then we will see him after the bye. Lyon has rectified the fact we had at least one too many backman. Lynch is behind clarke and jimmy for the running half back. Needs to keep showing it week in and perhaps be able to run in the midfield to push up.

Winmar is the best kick of the younger players and injuries to ledger and cripps being sore has put him ahead IMO. Smith could get a run with down back and steven will give us grunt and class.

Kosi. Stanley and winmar to be emergencies.

The Sainter

I reckon it was the rule. If you were named on the ground you were in the team. Yes of course I stand to be proved wrong, it wouldn't be the first time lol

No Blake yet no Lynch.

F***. I give up.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

St Ick wrote:Not sure what else Tom Lynch has to do to get a game, he can either free up Gilbert to go forward or go forward himself as he was a fwd when he was selected with a round 1 selection in the draft. He looks ready, settled, not that it matters but without him last week the magoos would have almost certainly lost.

I honestly don't know whether Winmar has shown enough to be even on the list next year, IMO looks scared to get the ball when I've seen him, might have some good skills but they weren't always on show last week thats for sure. Is it his speed we are after? Maybe he is in contention as we constantly get smashed for pace v Dons.

I'm glad Jack was selected, him and Armo will have to cover for Hayes and love the fact that Jack knows how to kick a goal or three!

I hope one of Siposs or Johnson lift a notch to put pressure on for a spot. Seems Blake is getting shafted as the backup ruckman in favour for a makeshift forward/ruckman role to give Mac a break...

I like Siposs, he is just a kid, but at least he can kick and will only need a handful of touches to be damaging within 50. While Archer shows endeavour, his kicking hurt us last week (not alone there though!). Happy to see some kids selected.
Buckets, is that you?

Thinline wrote:No Blake yet no Lynch.

F***. I give up.
They would immediately put Fletcher on him. Remember last year?

Solar wrote:Fantastic squad. I still have feeling that they will give kosi a half for sandy then we will see him after the bye. Lyon has rectified the fact we had at least one too many backman. Lynch is behind clarke and jimmy for the running half back. Needs to keep showing it week in and perhaps be able to run in the midfield to push up.

Winmar is the best kick of the younger players and injuries to ledger and cripps being sore has put him ahead IMO. Smith could get a run with down back and steven will give us grunt and class.

Kosi. Stanley and winmar to be emergencies.
Stop making sense and stop being positive. You'll ruin the theme of the thread.

Lynch's non selection is nothing to do with form.

The coaches think he is a selfish footballer and doesn't play to the team or its needs enough.

He won't get picked for quite a while. Doesn't matter what his form is like, until he shows that he has learnt to be a team footballer, and not just on the football field, but in his attitude off the field, then he will continue playing VFL.

When he puts his head down and does the work - as opposed to thinking he's doing the work and looking good in the VFL - then he will get picked.

There are too many others ahead of Lynch.

Smith, Stanley, Steven ... they all played great solid years of football in the VFL for the last 2-3 seasons, and two of them had significant senior stints last year.

They are definitely ahead in the pecking order.

Moorabbin Saints

Looking like one of Kosi/Archer will play, Steven and Schneider in.

I wouldn't mind seeing Stanley in as the sub though, could be used in a number of ways with his pace and height. Could inject a bit of pace into the team if we need it later in the game.

'Because we've got unfinished business'
....................Official Saintsational Banner Designer....................

Legendary wrote:When he puts his head down and does the work - as opposed to thinking he's doing the work and looking good in the VFL - then he will get picked.
fair enough. if that's the case then there's a penny that still has to drop for him, and it sounds from other threads as if there's one for cahill as well. hopefully one or both of them realises what they have to do to succeed and has the guts to do it.

MadSaintFan

Dont see why Jones would be selected as a substitute. Subs should be x-factor players that have the ability to influence games eg. krakour, jack grimes etc. Dont see how Jonesy impacts games other than defensively.