39,000 - wake up Ross/St Kilda!

The punters have voted with their feet.

Kicking 10 goals a game and having the second lowest inside 50's in the comp = boring rubbish footy.

Diehard old farts like me will turn up, but forget about the 15 to 30 year old demographic, they want a bit of a show not our defensive rubbish.

I just hope our club is awake to this fact.

Also, MCG home games = epic fail.

We need to go back to 11 games at Etihad or 10 plus one sold interstate.

Not happy Jan :twisted:

Re: 39,000 - wake up Ross/St Kilda!

saintspremiers wrote:The punters have voted with their feet.

Kicking 10 goals a game and having the second lowest inside 50's in the comp = boring rubbish footy.

Diehard old farts like me will turn up, but forget about the 15 to 30 year old demographic, they want a bit of a show not our defensive rubbish.

Fair enough - but when we play in finals, ppl should stop sooking that we haven't been fixtured enough at the G, and that other teams have an unfair advantage that play there all the time. Can't have it both ways.

yeah , it was depressing to see the only man who wanted to take on his opponent and beat him all night was stephen

mick13

mr six o'clock wrote:yeah , it was depressing to see the only man who wanted to take on his opponent and beat him all night was stephen
Steven.

Me and my mates couldn't make it due to exams, but kinda glad we didn't go. Pretty sure I would have bashed/been bashed by a Geelong supporter. Was pretty ropeable at times...

Great way to Generalise, Mate im 17 and signed up during 2000, im not after wins, i will keep signing up no matter what. I also know many other young people that will, so how about you re word that. What so because you are a old fart, you are the only diehard's our their. Tosser.

james rose

39,000 isn't a small number. @ Etihad we would be happy with that.

We played attacking footy in our wooden spoon years and had much worse crowds.

Wins bring fans.

Saturday Night isn't a massive crowd drawing night

Saints aren't travelling all that well at the minute

Cold night in Melbourne

Many who have reserved seats at Etihad don't go to the G (for whatever reason)

39,000 is about 6,000 down on what I thought (and 11,000 down on mcg estimates)

Still, a fair way from being a disaster !!

Sponsors will also "vote with their feet", so to speak and I think we can forget about getting many free to air and prime time games in the next couple of years.
We're a bit like poison form a marketing perspective, I imagine.

R. Harvey 3 votes!

Moods wrote:

Fair enough - but when we play in finals, ppl should stop sooking that we haven't been fixtured enough at the G, and that other teams have an unfair advantage that play there all the time. Can't have it both ways.

When Harvey played his first game in 1988, I was a 12yo wearing short pants and struggling with my readin', writin' and 'rithmetic in grade eight. Now, I'm a father of three and a retired AFL player. And he's still going. Amazing! - Michael Voss

We play reprehensively boring footy.

There is no two ways about it.

We are a purely defensive team and when our best attacking threat isn't at the races, it's amazing we score at all.

LaUrEnCe

I've nothing against defensive football ala Saints of the past few years.. It can also be great to watch in it's own way.
But the thing is, it's not working well for us this season... so we would be better off playing more attacking footy atm imho.

11,000 off the MCC estimate on a mild nice Saturday is a disaster IMO.

The MCC members, which I had a great view of from Q14, was about 80% empty.

Looks like Ess/North was where the neutrals went.

Sad we got bugger all neutrals given the lack of quality games this weekend and the Pies on a bye.

RL got lambasted after round 1 this year for playing the "boring" and "scrappy" football when we lost 47 to 48. I think he tried to change styles after that serious spray from the media and look where it has got us. We are not skillful enough to play attacking footy (not yet anyway).

You're right Jack!

How in the hell can you play attacking footy if "half of the team can't kick" :oops:

About time we had a clean out and look to 2014. You're either in it to win it or you get the hell out and we're not in it

Personally I'd like to see all our home games played at the MCG. It's the big stage, it's where ghe big games are played, and it's where we need to be.

The thread poster has fair points though. 39k in membership speaks volumes about our direction this season. I don't doubt if we'd seen a change in game plan, we may have seen an increase in membership numbers.

Oops! I wasn't there.

I am a Melbourne Cricket Club full member so I can always get a good seat location at the "G".
I can also get a good level 2 seat at Docklands using the reciprocal arrangement with Access One plus $34
Also a paid up St Kilda member.

The game could have been played mid afternoon and I would have gone.

But no Demetriou, is not interested in St Kilda home games getting the maximum attendance.
He wants to maximise TV viewers.
And he succeeded.
I stayed home rather than freeze to death in the open on a cold winters night at the MCG.

No need to stand on public transport getting to the game.
I was home immediately the game ended, no waiting in the cold for public transport to stand all the way home.

Demetriou has scheduled most St Kilda home games at night.
I make the effort to go to Docklands matches at night, home or away.
That is because there is no cold wind and dew at night at Docklands.
Gone are the days when I would stand in the cold and rain at Moorabbin.

If you want to criticise, target the guilty - Andrew Demetriou

ace wrote:Oops! I wasn't there.

I am a Melbourne Cricket Club full member so I can always get a good seat location at the "G".
I can also get a good level 2 seat at Docklands using the reciprocal arrangement with Access One plus $34

But no Demetriou, is not interested in St Kilda home games getting the maximum attendance.
And he succeeded.
I stayed home rather than freeze to death in the open on a cold winters night at the MCG.

I was home immediately the game ended, no waiting in the cold for public transport to stand all the way home.

Can you tell us our requests last year before the fixture was done? We want games at the G but when we get some people whinge because night doesnt suit them. Doesnt seem to worry supporters from some other sides. Very soft.

ace wrote:Oops! I wasn't there.

And he succeeded.

Can you tell us our requests last year before the fixture was done? We want games at the G but when we get some people whinge because night doesnt suit them. Doesnt seem to worry supporters from some other sides. Very soft.
I served my time in the cold wind and rain during the 70s, 80s and 90s.
Now I am almost 60, it takes something exhilarating and self participation to get me out in the cold. Something like skiing in Europe.

Plugger fo you think we wanted 15 night games?

I hope not!!!

saintspremiers wrote:Plugger fo you think we wanted 15 night games?

I hope not!!!
I wouldnt have a clue but that is my point. How would we know what we asked for.

I hope not!!!
I wouldnt have a clue but that is my point. How would we know what we asked for.
You seem to have inside knowledge?

clarky449 wrote:

I hope not!!!
You seem to have inside knowledge?
Nothing could be further from the truth.

james rose wrote:39,000 isn't a small number. @ Etihad we would be happy with that.

We played attacking footy in our wooden spoon years and had much worse crowds.

Wins bring fans.
Exactly. If we were sitting top 2 with "boring footy" the fans would be there.

It's much more a reflection that a lot of fair weather fans didn't rate our chances and therefore simply couldn't be bothered going.

In reality, and premierships aside, we've really been spoilt the last couple of years in terms of winning games.

ace wrote:.

???
Round: 9 Venue: M.C.G. Date: 21-May-2011 7:40 PM Attendance: 83,563
Rich -vs- Ess