Best St Kilda Team in the time I've been watching.

howlinwolf

howlinwolf wrote:
Superboot wrote:
spert wrote: the great George Young
Exactly how many of us think of him.

Not many players have this accolade attached.
My earliest,fondest moments of the Saints were George Young.
At the time it seemed he could do anything up forward.
Kicked some nice bags for us.
Very fond memories indeed howlinwolf, especially for me wrapped up in this :)

ImageImage 
Wow Doc ! You certainly don't let go of memorabilia easily :-)
Thanks for posting them. A great blast from the past !

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

Schillaci wrote:Dunne Frawley Peckett
Fisher Barker Grant
Goddard Hayes Winmar
Loewe Riewoldt McAdam
Young Lockett Milne
Everitt Harvey Dal Santo

I-Burns Sarau Burke Jones

E-Cunningham Coghlan Montagna
like this team, dunne had a few very good years altough I would find a spot for sidebottom, he had to brilliant years

Dr Spaceman wrote:Ahh yes, George Young. My first real fave.

Thought of him this week and the Brownlow of 1975 when he wasn't invited and for a moment there the young Dr S thought he was going to win it.

He's a big reason why I became addicted to this club of ours. :)
George young wad my fav at the time, I was about 13 I had his number27 on my jumper and he got me up on stage at a trivia night in the social club and presented me with a sighned world os sport book. You can imagine how good that made me feel

Stillwaiting wrote:

Thought of him this week and the Brownlow of 1975 when he wasn't invited and for a moment there the young Dr S thought he was going to win it.

George young wad my fav at the time, I was about 13 I had his number27 on my jumper and he got me up on stage at a trivia night in the social club and presented me with a sighned world os sport book. You can imagine how good that made me feel
Great stuff.

Me and a mate used to go down to training after finishing for the day at Moorabbin Tech. We'd have a kick at the South Road end waiting for the team to come out. Back in those days they'd come out in dribs and drabs and run their warm up laps. George was always the one to say G'day as he ran past - seemed a genuinely nice bloke.

On one occasion he ran past while I was lining up a shot at goal from about 15-20 metres in the Social Club pocket. Said he'd give me $2 if I kicked it. When he came past the next time I had to admit I'd missed :(

Fantastic times.

BigMart wrote:Small/Medium fwds/resting mids
George Young......mid size.....4 times leading goalkicker
Played tall though.

Played his best football as a classical Full Forward :)
First number I had on a Saints jumper

Not sure how some players who had one or two good years....get ahead of 200 game all australians and best and fairests????

I think 100 games would be a must....sustained excellence gets my vote

Stillwaiting wrote:

Great stuff.

Me and a mate used to go down to training after finishing for the day at Moorabbin Tech. We'd have a kick at the South Road end waiting for the team to come out. Back in those days they'd come out in dribs and drabs and run their warm up laps. George was always the one to say G'day as he ran past - seemed a genuinely nice bloke.

On one occasion he ran past while I was lining up a shot at goal from about 15-20 metres in the Social Club pocket. Said he'd give me $2 if I kicked it. When he came past the next time I had to admit I'd missed :(

Fantastic times.
  • the other player to sign the book was Glenn Elliot I think
    we used to go on the ground after the games and pretend we were George young kicking goals at the grandstand ends, get filthy in the mud whole we waited for the agte game presentations on the social club.
    Imagine how good he could have been in a decent side

71 should have been a premiership team[but for Bob Keddie!!] with Lawerence,Ditterich,Rossy Smith and Cowboy Neale ..2009 should have been a premiership team ... both just ahead of the 2005 team that lost to Port by 5 points in the plelim [would have beaten a wounded Lions that year!!] and 91 when Plugger,Winmar ,Harves,MacAdam were in full flight and lost an epic the Geeong after finishing top 4[changed the following year!!]..and 97 which should have been a premiership team but for Darren Jarman...the best ?
2009 ...should never have lost that one with inaccuracy on a wet windy day ..a bit like this weeks forecast..that game will haunt me forever :x

Bad Co.

Have to agree with Big Mart's team mostly.

Maybe Grant for Jones at HB, but would DEFINATELY have Gherig in there somewhere. Dual Coleman and AA, and was 3rd B@F as FB in '01, and sparked the team when he was on I reckon.

Young, who was slightly B4 my time, must have been good to be better than the Big G.

Sarau, although great for a ruckman who was 5"11, played in very ordinary sides.

noblejohn

howlinwolf wrote:
Superboot wrote:

I was at Moorabbin when he kicked 8 against the filth and Phil Carmen kicked 11 I think
He was also a fair cricketer and played sheffield shield for WA

The light that burns twice as bright, burns half as long

noblejohn wrote:
howlinwolf wrote:
Superboot wrote:

I was at Moorabbin when he kicked 8 against the filth and Phil Carmen kicked 11 I think
He was also a fair cricketer and played sheffield shield for WA
Spot on.

The week before at the Western Oval he was moved to Full Forward for the first time and kicked a lazy 9.

One of the most exciting fortnights in my early Sainthood :)

Stillwaiting wrote:
Schillaci wrote:Dunne Frawley Peckett
Fisher Barker Grant
Goddard Hayes Winmar
Loewe Riewoldt McAdam
Young Lockett Milne
Everitt Harvey Dal Santo

I-Burns Sarau Burke Jones

E-Cunningham Coghlan Montagna
really like this team, dunne had a few very good years altough I would find a spot for sidebottom, he had to brilliant years
Great side but would have to make room for Barry Lawerence and Ross Smith..both great players who are underestimated as the years slip past I reckon..along with Glen Elliott as an on baller..ahead of Coghlan,Sarau,Cunningham and Jones imo ..fine players they were all the same !!Neale and Ditterich also stiff !

Arent we talking post 1975.....

Gehrig, Lockett, loew fwd line.....not realistic.....330kg there

Sorry Mart ..correct..just reread the first post..thought we were talking 71 and beyond. George young just makes it then ..Would have finished in 75 from memory ..what a great player he was !!!

Verdun66

Started watching the Saints in 1964 at the Junction. Probably saw 3 or 4 games that year.

Best team.....

B Peckett, Murray, Burke
HB Howell, Fisher, Goddard
C Winmar, Stewart, Dal Santo
HF Riewoldt, Baldock, Loewe,
F Young, Lockett, Milne,
R Ditterich, Harvey, Smith
IC Montagna, Hayes, McIntosh, Barker

Coach Allan Jeans

Apologies...gee, where do I start? Neale, Frawley, Everitt, Burns, Davis, Morrow, Breen, Lawrence, Dunne, Sarau, Sidebottom, Grant, Elphinstone, Hudghton, Payze, Duperouzel, Griffiths, etc etc....

Bound to have left out a gun! There's always the edit button!

And had to put Verdun in there. He didn't play full-back much after I started watching, so put him on a back flank.
Last edited by Verdun66 on Fri 30 Sep 2011 12:26am, edited 1 time in total.

[quote="markinUSA"]Yeah, I deleted it and only left it up for a minute - I only realized he didn't fit the 75 date late.[/quote ]
Your're not alone Mark :oops:

In my time...

B Dunne, Murray, Howell
HB Lawrence, Fisher, Goddard
C Winmar, Stewart, Dal Santo
HF Riewoldt, Baldock, Young,
F Loewe, Lockett, Milne,
R Ditterich, Harvey, Smith
IC Duperouzal, Hayes, Neale, Barker

Superboot

saint patrick wrote:Sorry Mart ..correct..just reread the first post..thought we were talking 71 and beyond. George young just makes it then ..Would have finished in 75 from memory ..what a great player he was !!!
George played '73-'78.

Kicked 70 goals in 19 games in '78.

poatina

best st kilda team

I struggle to change anything about St Patrick's ( we've seen the same years) . Maybe I'd pop Fraser Gehrig in the back pocket in place of Jeff Dunne, but then again maybe Nathen Burke should get that spot .