best and fairest

geez that's a disappointing result from kosi...played the majority of games and finished 22nd and 55 points behind the next in polo. you only have to look at the players that polled behind him...no regulars...you could say that kosi was our worst performing player that got a regular game, and by far.

georgie girl

Jason Gram finished in 10th and Farren Ray in 20th for those who didn't have the full screen of places. :D

some strange results in that lot..........

Old Mate wrote:geez that's a disappointing result from kosi...played the majority of games and finished 22nd and 55 points behind the next in polo. you only have to look at the players that polled behind him...no regulars...you could say that kosi was our worst performing player that got a regular game, and by far.
How is 13 the majority of games?

I'd say he finished about where expected given that fact.

Polo 19th - 15 games
Farren 20th - 21 games
Blake 21st - 12 games
Kosi 22nd - 13 games
Bakes 23rd - 10 games

I'd like to know how he polled his last 6 weeks compared to the first 6, that was a better indication of his formline given he had continuity and was trending in a better direction.

Strange ones for mine, was Gram 10th, Ben 12th, and above all Farren at 20th.

Old Mate wrote:geez that's a disappointing result from kosi...played the majority of games and finished 22nd and 55 points behind the next in polo. you only have to look at the players that polled behind him...no regulars...you could say that kosi was our worst performing player that got a regular game, and by far.
How is 13 the majority of games?

I'd say he finished about where expected given that fact.

Polo 19th - 15 games
Farren 20th - 21 games
Blake 21st - 12 games
Kosi 22nd - 13 games
Bakes 23rd - 10 games

I'd like to know how he polled his last 6 weeks compared to the first 6, that was a better indication of his formline given he had continuity and was trending in a better direction.

Strange ones for mine, was Gram 10th, Ben 12th, and above all Farren at 20th.
No he finished where i expected because he is Kosi.

Well done to Sam fisher.

I liked the special mention to his girlfriend in the speech!

thought he played more...ah well. behind ray he was probably the most disappointing imo.
Last edited by Old Mate on Sun 09 Oct 2011 12:49am, edited 1 time in total.

Best news of the night is that Alwaysaway said he is stepping down.

The elephant in the room was never mentioned.
Westaway said nothing about our coaching situation.

What was with Nettlefold's glasses?
Did he sit on them.
Or is his head crooked.

sRaf

georgie girl wrote:Jason Gram finished in 10th and Farren Ray in 20th for those who didn't have the full screen of places. :D
Yeah, my bad. Accidentally cropped out those positions.

Uncropped version:

Congrats to Sammy F, well done.

Not hanging s*** but I think a bigger issue is getting our 5 time B and F player back on track after finishing 8th and only missing one game.

Get the psych's into his head, get a kicking coach into his routine, get his fitness up and let him rip it up for the next 2-3 years.

Got nothing against Sam Fisher, so well done to him - but I'm bamboozled that Dal didn't finish 1st by a country mile. What game is the match committee watching?

When I see the finishing order - particularly McEvoy 12th - I reckon they have no clue, and the whole B&F has been devalued. Just my initial impressions....

Enrico_Misso wrote:Best news of the night is that Alwaysaway said he is stepping down.

Did he sit on them.
Or is his head crooked.
Is Westaway leaving?

Does anyone know the criteria and manner that points are allocated?

fingers wrote:Does anyone know the criteria and manner that points are allocated?
I think 5 people can vote for as many players as they like and can give up to 10 votes per player. As for someone saying Rooy didnt vote well, well there was one moronic suggesting on here he may not even get a vote. I think he finished pretty much exactly where he should of. Ben was disappointing and I thought Dal was a certainty.

well done sammy

I thought the event was pretty good. Don't know why they took the camera off the auctioneer though. He was classic. Raised some pretty good amounts. And the MC shooshing constantly was a bit much.

I missed the start. What did Ben get? Most improved?

Cirra

Moods wrote:Got nothing against Sam Fisher, so well done to him - but I'm bamboozled that Dal didn't finish 1st by a country mile. What game is the match committee watching?

When I see the finishing order - particularly McEvoy 12th - I reckon they have no clue, and the whole B&F has been devalued. Just my initial impressions....
Remember Fisher was our best player by a mile in the first half of the year and the votes showed that. He as leading by about 90 after round 15.

In May I put some $ on Fisher to win because he was the only player really showing anything.

Dal was awesome in the second half - again votes reflected this as he only missed the award by 3. Would love to have seen him win. He deserves to be a B&F winner at the end of his career.

"When we get back on November 5 and walk through that door, we're getting on a bus together and we're going down the road to a premiership. You're either on the bus or you get run over," Roo at the B&F 2007

In 2012, I'm still on the bus.
mohannair

millarsaint wrote:I thought the event was pretty good. Don't know why they took the camera off the auctioneer though. He was classic. Raised some pretty good amounts. And the MC shooshing constantly was a bit much.

I missed the start. What did Ben get? Most improved?
Yes, thats correct. Ben was the most imroved & Sean the most professional.

The results confirm the season we had.

With all due respect to Dempster, he is not a match winner and the fact that he finished 3rd in our B&F off a servicable season as a dedicated role defender says it all.

The very fact that he out polled the likes of Montagna, Riewoldt and Goddard - and also McEvoy, Steven and Armitage who perform in our mid-field where games are won from is the commentary.

Apart from that there are no real surprises.

Fisher was the only player really standing up for much of the first half of the season.

It would be interesting to see who polled votes in games we lost (particularly against teams that finished in the top half of the ladder and against whom our results were very, very poor) - and in those we won easily to see who the "flat track bullies" and front runners are.

So game results v. votes awarded in those games should be the measurement.

To the top wrote:The results confirm the season we had.

With all due respect to Dempster, he is not a match winner and the fact that he finished 3rd in our B&F off a servicable season as a dedicated role defender says it all.

The very fact that he out polled the likes of Montagna, Riewoldt and Goddard - and also McEvoy, Steven and Armitage who perform in our mid-field where games are won from is the commentary.

Apart from that there are no real surprises.

Fisher was the only player really standing up for much of the first half of the season.

It would be interesting to see who polled votes in games we lost (particularly against teams that finished in the top half of the ladder and against whom our results were very, very poor) - and in those we won easily to see who the "flat track bullies" and front runners are.

So game results v. votes awarded in those games should be the measurement.
You know what the B& F does tell us. That joke side you had for next year had 4 of the top 7 in the B&F not in the side. Milne an AA this year. Dempster third, CJ sixth and Schneider 7th. How can people take some of the sides people pick seriously when those players are left out. And dont give us crap that they are getting older and need replacing. Why not replace the poor players down the list what ever age they are. The B&F isnt everything but it does tell us what the coaches think of our players compared to some supporters who think they now a good side.

fingers wrote:Does anyone know the criteria and manner that points are allocated?
I think 5 people can vote for as many players as they like and can give up to 10 votes per player. As for someone saying Rooy didnt vote well, well there was one moronic suggesting on here he may not even get a vote. I think he finished pretty much exactly where he should of. Ben was disappointing and I thought Dal was a certainty.
Close
The 4 coaches each vote Midnight Oil style.
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
so the max score any player can get in a round is 40
and the minimum as Craig Willis pointed out is - Zilch

But I couldn't help noticing that NDS according to the captions polled 41 in one round (might have been a typo).

The food was OK.
But did anyone else feel it was below expectation for the price?

Saints94 wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Best news of the night is that Alwaysaway said he is stepping down.

Did he sit on them.
Or is his head crooked.
Is Westaway leaving?
Yes.
Didn't say when.
But I would guess at the AGM.
He didn't make it clear if he was stepping down from the board or just the presidency.

Makes you wonder if he didn't do a deal with Nathan B - join my ticket (which will get me elected) and I'll hand over to you in 2012.
???
Just my speculation.

Enrico_Misso wrote:The food was OK.
I felt was better than in previous years at the venue and service was heaps better

- size of entree good and mains around what you'd fine in some restaurants.

for cost? that will always be up for debate.

Enrico_Misso wrote:The food was OK.
I felt was better than in previous years at teh venue and service was heaps better

- size of entree good and mains around what you'd fine in some restaurants.

for cost? that will always be up for debate.
I wouldn't describe the proportions as "generous".
I reckon there would be a few people buying a kebab on the way home.

Is that what you expect for $300+ ??