Annual Report 2011

http://www.saints.com.au/news/newsartic ... fault.aspx

The St Kilda Football Club has today announced an operating loss before depreciation of $1,500,722 for the 2011 financial year.

The main areas of financial shortfall year on year were from stadium revenue, sponsorship and events.

>>>>>>>>>>>>
Read for selves
http://www.saints.com.au/annual%20repor ... fault.aspx

It least it's not a shock, we've all been prepared to hear it officially for a while now...

I'd expect more than just cutting costs to increase profit though this year, I hope that the corporate dollars and sponsorship improves with the new exposure.

SainterK wrote:It least it's not a shock, we've all been prepared to hear it officially for a while now...

I'd expect more than just cutting costs to increase profit though this year, I hope that the corporate dollars and sponsorship improves with the new exposure.
Yep they can spin it all the way they like but they were down 1.4 million on both of those last year. That is about the loss and that is the clubs doing. Cant blame anyone else for that. Cutting costs isnt the answer.

oh when

Loss of sponsors

I reckon the loss of sponsors can be attributed to the players reported behaviour over summer - they need to put the blame where it lies.

Also they have priced many members out of attending club functions.

oh when

Having said that

I trust we can improve membership with a more attacking brand of footy in 2012.

philtee

Just glancing through the section "President's Report" -
- "our income was compromised by a number of factors including our stadium revenue,
and a decline in sponsorship support."
Turnover - down 14%
Stadium revenue - down 971K.
Prize money - down 700K.
Membership numbers - down 4%.
2.8M cash was tipped into Linen House development,
Sponsorship and events revenue - down gross 1.4M - "primarily due to a failure to secure a joint major sponsor for the jumper".

Interesting facts in the guts -
"Salary wages and TERMINATION expenses - $16,210,504"
Number of full time employees at year's end : 2011 - 57. 2010 - 49.

Looks like the big pill of Linen House has been swallowed, we desperately need another (jumper) sponsor,
we're being shafted by Collo at Etihad,
we need every supporter to sign up, and we need to sell more beanies.
Barks, over to you !

Not being able to secure an additional sponsor last year really cost us. Apparently, it was all signed and sealed just before the sh!t storm last year and the sponsors pulled the plug. I have no idea who it was going to be but Centrebet were not going to be our main sponsor.

The stadium deal does not help either. It is a commercial joke but the club cannot use it as an excuse when doing its forecasting because it should already be factoring it in.

The market for any sort of corporate sponsorship is going to get very very tough if it isn't already.

Can't we please just sack somebody. Sack somebody!!!!!

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo
70s sainter

I went to the agm for the 2011 season and when questioned about sponsorship , Westaway replied that the club already had their quota for the year and that not having a jumper sponsor wasn t an issue. He repeated this a number of times in the meeting .
Now we find them saying that we re 1.4 mill down due to the lack of a major sponsor for the jumper.
So which one is it?
Was Westaway just bulls@#ting us or what?
This board is pretty unimpressive when it comes to finances.
Watch out for Westaways crap at this years agm.

70s sainter wrote:I went to the agm for the 2011 season and when questioned about sponsorship , Westaway replied that the club already had their quota for the year and that not having a jumper sponsor wasn t an issue. He repeated this a number of times in the meeting .
Now we find them saying that we re 1.4 mill down due to the lack of a major sponsor for the jumper.
So which one is it?
Was Westaway just bulls@#ting us or what?
This board is pretty unimpressive when it comes to finances.
Watch out for Westaways crap at this years agm.
at the Time- Feb last year I m sure they thought those sponsors were over the line- in discussion I had and heard,

BUT.....
Last edited by saintbrat on Wed 18 Jan 2012 10:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

Not good enough!

2011 was an annus horribilis.
lets hope it was just a blip and not a trend.

i think we will be back in town on and off field this year.

mind you corp sponsorship is drying up in general across the board.

philtee wrote:2.8M cash was tipped into Linen House development
did they count that in the quoted loss? because obviously it's not a recurring item.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Who cares about debt and profitability.

Spend every last cent in the quest for a premiership.

The AFL will bail us out in the end.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.
westy

Ken Unimpressed

I'm livin' in a madhouse
oneteam

I am sure nettlefold will explain at the AGM.

But after such a bad start to the year up to round 8 , I for one was not surprised that we were way down on revenue for things like membership and reserved seats and merchandise and corporate sales and functions.

If you set a budget in October after 2 years in grand finals, and no real change in the team,you expect you will do well on field and so you set your expenses on that basis.

By round 8 , it is too late to just start sacking staff to cut some wages , and no where to get more revenue.

The extra $2m each year from AFL because of our crap deal at Etihad Shakedown will plug the gap .

oneteam wrote:I am sure nettlefold will explain at the AGM.

But after such a bad start to the year up to round 8 , I for one was not surprised that we were way down on revenue for things like membership and reserved seats and merchandise and corporate sales and functions.

If you set a budget in October after 2 years in grand finals, and no real change in the team,you expect you will do well on field and so you set your expenses on that basis.

By round 8 , it is too late to just start sacking staff to cut some wages , and no where to get more revenue.

The extra $2m each year from AFL because of our crap deal at Etihad Shakedown will plug the gap .
That is no excuse though for sponsorship and that is the main problem.

Can anyone outline FF performance yearly since they came in?

oneteam

oneteam wrote:I am sure nettlefold will explain at the AGM.

That is no excuse though for sponsorship and that is the main problem.
You are right.

Running an AFL club isn't like a normal business and the good times should be when we restock the coffers.

Last year was a disaster from a marketing perspective as was the Lovett saga before that.

Sometimes you feel as if someone out there in the universe doesn't like us much.

We need a big year from some of the guys that let us down in the last couple of preseasons and get a cup in the cabinet.

Lyons closed door philosophy didn't help market our family friendly image either.

citywest

Who was responsible for us pulling out of Tassie? Maybe in hindsight it was a poor decision????

must say in addition that the change in voting for life membership is a good idea. It was a little messy when everitt was put up for life membership and halfthe members voted against it. Let the board, with their structures decide.

Good threesome this year, dal, kosi and joey :)

GrumpyOne wrote:Who cares about debt and profitability.

100% agree. footy clubs aren't supposed to make a profit, especially when the league needs 18 teams for the broadcast agreement.

GrumpyOne wrote:Who cares about debt and profitability.

100% agree. footy clubs aren't supposed to make a profit, especially when the league needs 18 teams for the broadcast agreement.
5 year deal. NOW is the time to be economically irresponsible. hope the hiring of about 20 coaches reflects that philosophy.

Posted this on the Collo thread, but it's more relevant here :

From a financial viability perpective, made worse by sky-rocketing Football Department costs, Melbourne has too many Clubs. In tough times, business and supporters cut their spending, but AFL Club spending keeps increasing. Things will get worse.

Look overseas, it's about one team per city.

My concern regarding our current poor financial situation, is that the Club has done virtually nothing to develop successful "non-football" revenue, which will be the key in future, to remaining viable.