How much of Melbourne do the Saints cover-

Just wondering how many suburbs there can be saints found?
and how far down the Bayside are we creeping?

which do you know of?

Re: How much of Melbourne do the Saints cover-

strange post

there would probably be a saints supporter in every Melbourne suburb.

that's what I'm wondering... is there....
Curious

Darren

Of course there is!

Bayside Nick

A better question with more relevance might be to ask for a break down of supporters per team per suburb. Like during the count for elections.

hungry for a premiership

I live on the border of Brunswick and Coburg - Carlton and Essendon heartland.

There aren't many saints supporters around here, BUT there are SOME, and, like me, they're died-in-the-wool.

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

I think the question is in which suburbs would the saints have the highest supporter %.
there would be every kind of every supporter in every suburb. but i wonder how many suburbs (or postcodes) the saints are the biggest grou?. Pretty good question i reckon.
probably difficult to answer.

but if you drew a line from say st kilda sth to rye south and then east to say caulfield and then sth east to cranbourne and called everything inside that "saints territory". east of that would be hawks country and north of it probably demons country.
how many people would be in our map?
500k? almost a million?

According to Westaway at the AGM - "From Port Melbourne to Portsea".
Right!

There's a Saint in every suburb.

That's answered your question.

magnifisaint wrote:There's a Saint in every suburb.

evidence?

evidence?

Commone sense. Why wouldnt there be and how the hell could you get evidence. The question should be why was that a question.

gunnsaint

I live in Elwood, and there's heaps of saints suppoters here, and lots at my son's school (probably about 1/3 of the school). :)

There are absolutely heaps of St Kilda supporters in the Chelsea, Bonbeach, Edithvale and Aspendale dormitory (City of Kingston) and Carrum/Patterson Lakes. Car stickers, flags on windows grand final weeks, primary school murals include St Kilda players and colours, Auskick jumper numbers, as well as St Kilda paraphernalia on show in local stores and businesses as well as comments by passers by when my kids are wearing their jumpers all indicate that this area is definitely a St Kilda heartland.
Kananook, Seaford and North Frankston belongs to St Kilda too (Sth Frankston/Mt Eliza is definitely more Hawthorn but St Kilda still has good support there).

evidence?

Commone sense. Why wouldnt there be and how the hell could you get evidence. The question should be why was that a question.
Hang on a minute she may have a point. The probability that there's a Saints supporter living in Collingwood is very low. I wouldn't think they'd be anyone who'd be game enough to prove it though. Maybe Saintbrat could make this her project and when she's finished she could report her findings to this forum.
That way we she could answer this stupid question once and for all. We won't be left wondering then.

stkildathunda

Enrico_Misso wrote:According to Westaway at the AGM - "From Port Melbourne to Portsea".
Right!
The Peninsula is full of Saints supporters. I know half dozen in Portsea, bout same in Sorrento, im in Blairgowrie. Then Tootgarook, Rye, Rosebud, Dromana, McCrae, Safety Beach all have Saints supporters that i know.....

At the expense of sounding somewhat pedantic, the actual suburb of Collingwood bordered by Hoddle St, Victoria pde, and the suburb of Fitzroy (Wellington St?) is actually very small, and mainly made up of shopfronts and high rise tower blocks, where few footy supporters would live anyway.
I have personally seen cars parked outside terrace houses in Nth Fitzroy with St Kilda stickers on them though. I think those days of suburbs actually identifying with the footy club they are named after are pretty much dead and buried, only to be brought out when the team makes a grand final - so in the case of Footscray (sorry Western Bulldogs) and Richmond, never.
In my lifetime I have only seen the St Kilda town hall draped in red white and black in Grand Final week 1997, 2009 and 10. Happy to be proved wrong though.

samuraisaint wrote:At the expense of sounding somewhat pedantic, the actual suburb of Collingwood bordered by Hoddle St, Victoria pde, and the suburb of Fitzroy (Wellington St?) is actually very small, and mainly made up of shopfronts and high rise tower blocks, where few footy supporters would live anyway.
I have personally seen cars parked outside terrace houses in Nth Fitzroy with St Kilda stickers on them though.
i've lived in collingwood, north fitzroy, carlton, carlton north, parkville, brunswick, brunswick east, coburg, north melbourne. i know other saints supporters who live in most of those suburbs as well. no idea why you'd think there are unlikely to be footy supporters in collingwood.

Darren

The only clubs that will rarely have supporters is West Coast and Fremantle. That means there is at least 1 saint in each suburb. No evidence required

I've lived in different suburbs of Melbourne north and south of the river as well as a couple of different countries and I can say without a shadow of a doubt that wherever I have lived there has been at least one Saints fan in that area.

I'm sure all of you could say that too.
/thread.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

I live in Collingwood.

Great suburb. :) Shame about the football club. :(

This is a truely dumb thread. Footy supporters are not not bound by suburbs or municipal boundaries. I reckon the only teams without supporters in every Melbourne suburb would be Gold Coast and GWS.

those who don't like the thread topic can find the ignore button
Manage friends
Manage foes
Manage friends
Friends enable you quick access to members you communicate with frequently. If the template has relevant support any posts made by a friend may be highlighted.

Your friends:
To remove usernames select them and click submit.No friends currently definedAdd new friends:
You may enter several usernames each on a different line.

or just not reply.

totally in your hands But if you need to get your post counts up then feel free to object to the topic.
Last edited by saintbrat on Sun 12 Feb 2012 10:19pm, edited 1 time in total.

I lived in Parkville, Clayton, Bundoora and the CBD and I never came across one University supporter. Incredible.

saintbrat wrote:those who don't like the thread topic can find the ignore button
Manage friends
Manage foes
Manage friends
Friends enable you quick access to members you communicate with frequently. If the template has relevant support any posts made by a friend may be highlighted.

Your friends:
To remove usernames select them and click submit.No friends currently definedAdd new friends:

or just not reply.

totally in your hands But if you need to get your post counts up then feel free to object to the topic.
No problem with your post count.

saintbrat wrote:those who don't like the thread topic can find the ignore button
Manage friends
Manage foes
Manage friends

Your friends:

or just not reply.

Everyone else is entitled to an opinion just as you are