Saints v west coast game thread

Re: Saints v west coast game thread

Ralphy wrote:
Stillwaiting wrote:
ShanghaiSaint wrote:time for a drink i am in shock!
already on to my second, helps numb the pain
yep bout to get my 4th

Who are we playing again :D

to our defence our back line is not as it should be... no Fisher or gwilt... and now our ruck is our no Ben no Stan the man... so as much as this sucks we're not full strengh. this dosn't excuse the current mid's effort to the ball.

Dr Spaceman wrote:Are we sure it wasn't Beau Wilkes and not Beau Waters who was having problems pre match? :shock:

I think we need a beau repair
John Wilkes Booth would be handy. We need a gun in the fwd line...

Hughjarce

There will be games like this where we will be blown away. It happens when there is a mix of young inexperienced players and older players who are in the twilight of their careers. It is plain to see that next year about 6 players in this current team will not be with us.

It pisses me off to see this but I am realistic and realise that it we will be better for it in the long run because it will accelerate the clean out and the inevitable rebuild (remember 1996-1999).

To accomplish great things we must not only act but also dream, not only plan but also believe.

already on to my second, helps numb the pain[/quote]

yep bout to get my 4th

Who are we playing again :D[/quote]

Think... it may be westcoast.... not sure ;)

6 day break fly over to wa very hard and eagles pulling some crap out of there ass

Ralphy wrote:Gilbert, Montagna, Goddard? all need time in the 2nds.

No they don't. They're havin a go!! Look at the guys in the team who can't get their hands on it, or who don't have an impact. The blokes you mentioned have tried their guts out

creepypolar

how did he miss that!!!arrgghhh

stevie wrote:
Dr Spaceman wrote:Are we sure it wasn't Beau Wilkes and not Beau Waters who was having problems pre match? :shock:

I think we need a beau repair
John Wilkes Booth would be handy. We need a gun in the fwd line...

:P

Verdun66

3rd generation saint wrote:We look like a te4am that has in reality had less than a 6 day break and had to travel to Perth.
This is the inequity of the loaded draw that gives the cream to the AFL favourites whilst the others get the short end of the stick, but of course P66 will tell us how it is good for the comp.
Interesting that Carlton we're equally impotent today against Adelaide.
If we have to play Monday night next year, then we have to insist that it is the week before the bye.
6 day break is hard enough....but going to Perth to play a team with an 8 day break. Explains a lot. We look very heavy in the legs.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:to our defence our back line is not as it should be... no Fisher or gwilt... and now our ruck is our no Ben no Stan the man... so as much as this sucks we're not full strengh. this dosn't excuse the current mid's effort to the ball.
I think the coaches haven't got the match-ups right either. Dempster is just not creative enough to set things up from the back half, so if he's getting beaten 4 times out of 5 playing in defense, then time for him to become a stopper and tag one of their ball winners. Move the pawns around ffs
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 20 May 2012 7:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

3rd generation saint wrote:We look like a te4am that has in reality had less than a 6 day break and had to travel to Perth.
This is the inequity of the loaded draw that gives the cream to the AFL favourites whilst the others get the short end of the stick, but of course P66 will tell us how it is good for the comp.
If we have to play Monday night next year, then we have to insist that it is the week before the bye.

What a load of crap. It has nothing to do with that. Sides win after 6 day breaks. Why does Monday matter. We play on Saturday then Friday and never whinge.

Gilbert been one of our better players so far.
The heroes of last week are missing, Saad, Millera, Steven and Milne.
Losing Stanley hasn't helped either.
I'm not upset, half expected this, especially when we we're fixtured like this, to travle to WA after a Monday night game is just plain stupid by the AFL.
But what else would you expect.

Copping a right whack. Absolutely blown away in that quarter

Is Zac home from Tassie yet?

Re-sign him and throw him down forward!!!!

Agree, while this is a shyte result, it ws always going to be hard going to Perth after a Monday game, but it won't stop the forum melting down tonight.

How about the bummers play the filth on a Monday next year, then send them over to play freo an west toast

We have never had to travel across two time zones for our next game P66.
It is a factor.

Started so well! Roo first goal, stanley making tge ruck his, great pressure around the ground etc. then they get 4 easy ones, Stanley does a hammy and we give up

The guys are asleep. Dal and Monty have been rubbish for their standards. If fact, I think Monty has bee deplorable all year.

Monday night- itus.
Saving ourselves for next week and Hayes 250th.
Got 4 in 18 days.
Then we have two interstate games in a row! Twice!

but maybe we'll come back and have a great win.
...maybe.

Stillwaiting wrote:
Agree, while this is a shyte result, it ws always going to be hard going to Perth after a Monday game, but it won't stop the forum melting down tonight.

How about the bummers play the filth on a Monday next year, then send them over to play freo and west toast
22 against 44 would be tough and highly unfair... :lol:

When Stanley went down that was just about game over. Wilkes is nowhere near the standard of an AFL defender; he's an emergency tall in case we're missing multiple forwards. He gifted West Coast two goals through crap mistakes. Again Jones' disposal also becomes much more costly against a team who can make you pay.

Gilbert has had a good and terrible game, Gram gets lots of easy footy but his disposal is still ordinary and his attack on the contest is woeful. We're also seeing the flipside of having three small forwards in the team; when they're all on fire we look brilliant, but under pressure they can go missing and we're effectively three players down. Cripps still doesn't seem able to compete physically with senior players.

Need a huge lift in intensity an execution in the second half.

More than anything we've been smashed in the air. 15 contested marks to 4.

saintkid

saintkid wrote:
Old Mate wrote:Our players look drunk
lol

Our downhill skiers are getting exposed again. Montagna take note of how a quality midfielder plays. Gram always looks for soft option too.

Probably picking on the wrong guys.
No I'm not plugger66. Have found a number of your posts good value but you are too lenient on these two and don't agree with you. Im not going to pick on our younger new guys as they are our future but have watched our senior players for a while now and these two are seriously overrated. Kosi is useless if he can't mark it, has the body strength of my mum and moves like a Mack truck. Wilkes is showing why West Coast dumped him and Gilbert plays like a chook that has just had its head cut off! Nicky Dal tries but will never be a quality inside midfielder, plays his best footy as an outside player. Blakey always tries hard but is regularly found out against quality, quick big men and Milney has been a wonderful player for us but will be more down than up at this stage of his career, now that he has lost that yard of speed and gets caught a lot more as he's not as evasive as he used to be.

Armo - 5 possessions
Steven - 7 possessions
Jones - 7 possessions - not a bad thing

Our secondary mids are non existent

Our back line is getting monstered

Our tackling is poor

We can only improve - look for a better showing this half