$850,000-a-year deal for Goddard

Re: $850,000-a-year deal for Goddard

LOL he hasnt been worth that since before 2009

$850k is an impossible figure to believe.

As is him turning down $650 x 3.

Richter wrote:
SainterK wrote:Why would any club offer $850K ?

If Saints are only offer 475 and won't budge, 600 would get it done.

I don't think this article is 'on the money'
Whereas your mate BrianSpeaking is?

The bloke's initials are B.S. Probably a reason for that.
With respect Sainter K, you're speculating on which story to believe based on your own prejudices of the narrative you are choosing to take on board.
You're welcome to that opinion Richter.

Something has gone sour, I believe he wanted to stay...

If he ends up at an opposition club for say 600 a season, of what opinion will you be on the matter?

SainterK wrote:I believe he wanted to stay...

If he ends up at an opposition club for say 600 a season, of what opinion will you be on the matter?
My opinion will be that maybe he should have signed a contract worth similar with us, and he has completely f***ed up being a one club player, staying with his mates & probably becoming our captain all for the sake of a one year longer deal.

sad

ive finally come to the conclusion he will go

unreal :evil:

Richter wrote:
SainterK wrote:Why would any club offer $850K ?

If Saints are only offer 475 and won't budge, 600 would get it done.

I don't think this article is 'on the money'
Whereas your mate BrianSpeaking is?

The bloke's initials are B.S. Probably a reason for that.
With respect Sainter K, you're speculating on which story to believe based on your own prejudices of the narrative you are choosing to take on board.
You're welcome to that opinion Richter.

Something has gone sour, I believe he wanted to stay...

I'd be upset. I think he's worth the reported 1.9m over 3 years, but not more than that.

If he ends up at another club for $800k a year having knocked back $633k pa from us how would you feel?

Ps I agree that he wants to stay... that much is obvious... and I want him to... but not at any price... the Beams example at Collingwood is a good one. Beams output is way above Brendon's this year, yet he is reported to be accepting $1m over 3 years... I doubt that any of Swan, Pendlebury or Thomas are on more than $500k pa... and all have had better output than BJ these last 2 years.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_p ... 1=S&fid2=S

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/c ... 26o4g.html
This says it all really…
Geelong looking at McIntosh, Rivers and Caddy.

How could they possibly afford that? Oh that's right, they don't pay ridiculous overs for their stars, even if it means losing one along the way.

Could it be that the Saints are sounding publicly uninterested to drive his price down, so they are not forced to match ridiculuos money?
I am being forever hopeful, the more I see the Saints without BJ, the more I fear us going forward.
For once, can we not chase the Sydney way, instead of always bottoming out?

dragit wrote:http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/c ... 26o4g.html
This says it all really…
Geelong looking at McIntosh, Rivers and Caddy.

How could they possibly afford that? Oh that's right, they don't pay ridiculous overs for their stars, even if it means losing one along the way.

Exactly

Lyon would be royally screwing Freo by getting Goddard on that kind of money for so long. Honestly his output over the last two years has been that of someone worth 350k. Fair enough to offer him 600k as we know his best is very good and he has qualities that we want in the team (skill, versatility). But he's simply not worth 850k per year, and most definitely not on a four year contract. That is just irresponsible list management, but it'd also be tough for BJ to turn that kind of money down. There's essentially a mansion in the difference between offers. With that said, I suspect if he goes anywhere it will be Essendon.

You see I don't get the Essendon thing.
They are not an up and coming list, in fact they are quite old mostly, they like us, have a big gap between older and younger players, although their youngsters are classier.
This would be for money not premiership glory.
Freo could be both.

If BJ goes to Freo it will be the end of him as a force in the AFL.
Fremantle's record of overpaid recruits speaks volumes.

Modra/Croad/Tarrant/Anthony - all overpaid...all duds for the Dockers.

Life Long Saint wrote:If BJ goes to Freo it will be the end of him as a force in the AFL.
Fremantle's record of overpaid recruits speaks volumes.

Modra/Croad/Tarrant/Anthony - all overpaid...all duds for the Dockers.
The pressure on anyone earning $850,000 pa would be enormous.

And you're a long way from home and your supporter base when things start going wonky and your new club's fans, who haven't yet taken to you, start baying for blood.

SainterK wrote:Still don't think he'd move for family reasons.
I don't want to drag up ancient history BUT is it true that when we drafted him his mum rang the Saints to tell them not to draft him?

In hindsight he would have had a miserable career at the Blues anyways had he gone there.

Richter wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:Looks like Fremantle are splashing cash for a premiership.

Sounds familiar with Lyon, but if they don't succeed then it could ruin the club. So much for free trade.

FA is going to lead to inflation. Some in the AFL are completely clueless. There should be a cap at what you can throw a player from an opposing club.

I hope they fail and then we'll see some of their players leaving for better money elsewhere. What goes around comes around.
No, it won't, because there is also a salary cap.
Yes but it doesn't stop them paying a ridiculous amount of money for one player. Player wage inflation. Good players get all the money and the others share peanuts.

Eventually the salary cap will grow and frankly the lower teams like NM, Foots, Saints and Melb won't be able to cut it. Hence relocate or die!

70s sainter

I wouldnt worry too much about a story written by Greg Dehnam. I hear him on sen and he offers absolutely nothing except obvious non-committal comments that anyone off the street could say simply by reading the paper, listening to the radio etc.
Thats why he writes for the Australian. Hes safe to write anything and not be held accountable because no one actually reads it.

markp wrote:$850k is an impossible figure to believe.

As is him turning down $650 x 3.
Yep I don't believe the $800-$850. If the Docker or Ess are offering that, I'll bet you it's front ended for years 1 & 2 - then less for 3 & 4.

I reckon he would sign for $600 x 4, so will not buy that he turned down $650 x 3.

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:

Three days for St K to come up with a fourth year?

Simply brinksmanship?

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Thinline wrote:Three days for St K to come up with a fourth year?

Simply brinksmanship?
Quite possibly. Im 50:50 at this stage.

maverick wrote:Could it be that the Saints are sounding publicly uninterested to drive his price down, so they are not forced to match ridiculuos money?
I am being forever hopeful, the more I see the Saints without BJ, the more I fear us going forward.
For once, can we not chase the Sydney way, instead of always bottoming out?
absolutely agree
he didnt sign the first offer, so reduce it
up to you now brendon, go and see what the market offers but understand we will never match it, and it has never been about "how much love" the club has for him, they havent publicly rediculed him, insiders writting books about his short comings, or team mates sinking the boot in
the dollar value bargaining stick has always been goddards to threaten the saints with,
if he wants to stay a saint he can sign, otherwise it has always been about the money