Goddard hits back at Westaway

The Craw

Re: Goddard hits back at Westaway

Really not much wrong with what Westaway said from my perspective. Didn't warrent the response from Goddard.

Too close to the bone me thinks.

Not Craw, CRAW!

Goddard belongs at the Dons- petulant utility that needs constant smoke blown up him will do well there. He can be their coach in 10 years and get them back on the gear, his bro should be able to keep the family employed too by then.

satchmo wrote:
satchmo wrote: Did he say something that was incorrect? I wasn't there.
That we'd be paying him $750 at 32....not sure I ever bought into that personally.
Well it's either right or wrong. If he lied he's going to wear it.
I reckon both could be true.

Westaway saying that once Goddard had gone to the Bombers that they were asked to match that offer which was in the ball park of $750k pa for 4 years, whilst BJ can say that he would have settled for less if the Saints had offered him something closer to that figure than we did mid-season.

Bottom line, Goddard wanted more than the club were willing to offer, which was in line with our pay structure... sounds like holding to ransom to me.

Nevertheless as Stinger said above I also still feel positive things about Goddard over all.

Also I can;t help thinking that some of his anger towards Westaway actually belings to his feeling about his new club who is seriously in the soup... if their worst fears are realised then that's Goddard's career.... gone...

I still say the club were happy to lose BJ. Hear it way before he left. They needed space in the cap and he was the one other clubs wanted that would give the club plenty of space.

plugger66 wrote:I still say the club were happy to lose BJ. Hear it way before he left. They needed space in the cap and he was the one other clubs wanted that would give the club plenty of space.

It was a win win in the end

1 year ( the 4th) = $750,000 ( or $850,000) which ever suits the speakers reasoning
+
$100,000 each year for the other 3- the differance between saints and Dons- the generally agreed diff by commentators

= $1 mill extra- .

as opposed to confirmed $2,.1 mill approx on supposed offer from Saints-

basicly we none of us know

But interesting to hear commentators suggest BJ's response was an over reaction-
but TFS did put together 4-5 sound bytes to make the last one- Greg's sound more dramatic- although Greg's comments were from last year- so would be surprised if BJ had not heard before now- unless he has been turning a blind ear to anything Saintly.

I do note no one has put their name to the article
Goddard slams Saints cash claims

9:23AM Staff writer STAR Essendon recruit Brendon Goddard says suggestions he held St Kilda to ransom over his contract are "a complete bunch of lies".
Last edited by saintbrat on Fri 15 Mar 2013 8:51pm, edited 1 time in total.

saintbrat wrote:1 year ( the 4th) = $750,000 ( or $850,000) which ever suits the speakers reasoning
+
$100,000 each year for the other 3- the differance between saints and Dons- the generally agreed diff by commentators

= $1 mill extra- .

as opposed to confirmed $2,.1 mill approx on supposed offer from Saints-

basicly we none of us know

But interesting to hear commentators suggest BJ's response was an over reaction-
but TFS did put together 4-5 sound bytes to make the last one- Greg's sound more dramatic- although Greg's comments were from last year- so would be surprised if BJ had not heard before now- unless he has ben turning a blind ear to anything Saintly.

Havent heard any of that. Sounds like we have another. Pretty sure westaways comments were this year but even if they were last BJ hasnt been on the show this year. By the way how long have you followed our club?

Heidelberg_Saint

If players want free agency then the footy public should have the right to know what they get paid. The NBA publish player salaries every season, everyone knows where they stand. Easy.

Interesting reading some posters peddling an anti-westaway stance based on what they believe with little to no facts to back it up. Perhaps they've just made up their mind and their egos won't allow an alternate view.

PJ wrote:Interesting reading some posters peddling an anti-westaway stance based on what they believe with little to no facts to back it up. Perhaps they've just made up their mind and their egos won't allow an alternate view.

I don't get the anti westaway sentiment, seems a little uninspiring but no disaster.

PJ wrote:Interesting reading some posters peddling an anti-westaway stance based on what they believe with little to no facts to back it up. Perhaps they've just made up their mind and their egos won't allow an alternate view.

I don't get the anti westaway sentiment, seems a little uninspiring but no disaster.
Maybe it's just misplaced sentiment for BJ.

PJ wrote:

Maybe it's just misplaced sentiment for BJ.

Westaway has been pretty heavily criticised before BJ was even an issue. Once they leave they can f$#@ off as far as I'm concerned...unless its Maguire or Clarke. Those guys went honourably.

for mine, he just ain't worth anything remotely near that figure

players of Pendles, Swan, Ablett, Buddy etc should get salary close to or higher than that

In his prime, Roo may have been close to that figure

stars like Hayes and Dal wouldn't have earnt that and they're both better players than BJ

Heidelberg_Saint wrote:If players want free agency then the footy public should have the right to know what they get paid. The NBA publish player salaries every season, everyone knows where they stand. Easy.
Falling membership, still no major sponsor. These are the things you expect your president and board to deliver on. I have nothing against Mr. Right, but I might say the KPI's, at the risk of invoking management speak, would indicate he is failing to deliver. Right!!!

Whatever the figures the facts are Goddard left for greater financial rewards at Essendon than St Kilda offered. He took more money- so what.

What I don't understand, in the "free agency" world we now live in, is the reluctance for players to simply be honest. Whats wrong with:

"yeah, na....I got offered a deal that financially sets me up for life long after football and simply I couldn't turn that down. I know that was hard for St Kilda, I'll always have a soft spot for them as my first club and theyve been great, but I do need to make future choices with my best interests at heart and as a professional I will now commit my all to hel;ping the Bombers win a flag...."

Why slag out and stain your memories at a club you were well regarded at and at which made your name?
Odd.

agreed
very good point

people always seem to be unable to say they do it for the money

Agreed Teffers. It's an Aussie cultural thing, the yanks
Are generally a lot more open and honest in the media.

Verdun66

Why would he have a go if he was happy with his decision? Must be feeling the pressure.......

He's the oppo now, so I don't give a fig about him anymore. Didn't actually play that well in the last two years, and was a liability for most of last season.

Enjoy the Bummers.....

Verdun66 wrote:Why would he have a go if he was happy with his decision? Must be feeling the pressure.......

He's the oppo now, so I don't give a fig about him anymore. Didn't actually play that well in the last two years, and was a liability for most of last season.

Enjoy the Bummers.....

How much do we rewrite history. he was a liability for most of last season. Rubbish. Anyway as for this matter BJ left for the money and the 4 years. Westaway commented, BJ commented back. He is gone. Who cares.

gags

I don't think you guys should be too worried. Because it's all about $$$$ s not the club.
It's happened before , a good example would to change the names. Aaron Hamill becomes Brendon Goddard.

Same story.

what, me worry ?

Verdun66 wrote:Why would he have a go if he was happy with his decision? Must be feeling the pressure.......

Enjoy the Bummers.....

How much do we rewrite history. he was a liability for most of last season. Rubbish. Anyway as for this matter BJ left for the money and the 4 years. Westaway commented, BJ commented back. He is gone. Who cares.
If you consider his standing in the game and the money we was getting paid at the club and that everyone in Australia over the age of 5 knew he could offer a lot more, then yes he was a liability most of last season. And the season before he was worse, in 2011 he was just a plain petulant sook that played like an 11 year old girl. He should become mates with Brendan.

At the endo last year

Who was our most valuable commodity?? And why is this so??

Not, who was our best player, different question....

Asked in another way, which player on the 2012 list would attract the highest bidder and why??

Why do players lose ability, attitude and character becomes poor as soon as they leave? Does sense and reason to out the window for some supporters because they are so one eyed?

The loss of champions, stars, coaches, captains being defended, justified, reasoned is one of the funnier things that happens on this site.... I suppose the more we convince ourselves, the easier it is to deal with the fact our champs move on and gain success elsewhere and are cheered by others...

Good to see goose, a discard doing so well ATM whilst Will Johnson is probably in a suburban league, Pattison is probably getting a VFL game.... And we have no key back?

Perhaps when his career is over he will see things from a different perspective.

In 5, 10, 20, 50 or whatever years time when Lenny Hayes walks into any StKilda function he will be revered and respected and treated as the legend he is.

Whereas Goddard will never be treated that way at either club.

He probably won't get invited to our functions and if he did his reception would be luke warm at best.
And at Essendon he will always be viewed as an ex-StKilda player and never fully embraced.

He has basically traded lifelong respect ticket for money.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Perhaps when his career is over he will see things from a different perspective.

In 5, 10, 20, 50 or whatever years time when Lenny Hayes walks into any StKilda function he will be revered and respected and treated as the legend he is.

Whereas Goddard will never be treated that way at either club.

He probably won't get invited to our functions and if he did his reception would be luke warm at best.
And at Essendon he will always be viewed as an ex-StKilda player and never fully embraced.

He has basically traded lifelong respect ticket for money.
I'd hope the club is not so immature.