The club is falling apart at the seams...again

The one positive about this season was the squeaky clean off field image we maintained.

Now we are in the media for all the wrong reasons - again and today I find myself reading about player rebellions.

I must admit I am border line giving up. It's too much and has been too hard for too long. Can't help but feel we are cursed.

Re: The club is falling apart at the seams...again

One player does not a club maketh.

Surely we've learned that over the journey MC.

Take heart, we are supporters, our role is clear. You don't need to by extension, absorb the negativity of how other people have played out their lives.

Just cheer the 22 that take the field this week, keep it simple hey.

tweedaletomanning

MC Gusto wrote:The one positive about this season was the squeaky clean off field image we maintained.

Now we are in the media for all the wrong reasons - again and today I find myself reading about player rebellions.

I must admit I am border line giving up. It's too much and has been too hard for too long. Can't help but feel we are cursed.
But you see that's the point of following this club...

You will never get a better roller coaster ride ANYWHERE else.

Because of the lows, we can appreciate the highs better than any other supporter at any other club.

The highs will come, one day, and it will make it all taste much sweeter.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

MC Gusto wrote:The one positive about this season was the squeaky clean off field image we maintained.

i was thinking this morning ..that i could have gone down different paths.....i grew up in hawthorn territory with mainly richmond mates...my father played for the dees who my brother still barracks for.......fortunately...or unfortunately today...well that's how i feel......my father took to barracking for the saints whilst i was at a very young and impressionable age.....sign.....i do still have a soft spot for the hawks but could never barrack for anyone else but the saints........pretty pissed off with them at the moment...not the players...our inept and politically backward club officials......

...still believe we are cursed too...ever since we got the bone pointed at us by that kelly guy for not allowing cuz to play in that nt game

Go get yourself a stiff drink gusto for god sake...

The club is absolutely rock solid, one player is in strife and we have handled it very professionally.

If we stay clean for the next 40 odd years, most will forget.

Yeah agreed. Have a drink and chill.
Its just one thing that happened nine years ago coming back to bite one player.
The club is not in strife at all.
The club is fine
Half decent youth coming thru
Prob some good picks in this years draft.

Its all good.

matrix wrote:Yeah agreed. Have a drink and chill.
Its just one thing that happened nine years ago coming back to bite one player.
The club is not in strife at all.
The club is fine
Half decent youth coming thru
Prob some good picks in this years draft.

Its all good.
hope so...would be good to share your glass half full attitude....but....

But?

Spill your opinion stinger.
What's up?
What have u heard?

Unless we are broke again I thought it was looking half promising :?

matrix wrote:But?

Spill your opinion stinger.
What's up?
What have u heard?

Unless we are broke again I thought it was looking half promising :?
no...keeping my powder dry for the time being....

How is the club falling apart? Because a nine year old case is being dug up for the third time? One player?

I dont think the club is letting us down, I think it is us the supporters who are letting the club down. Just look at how our attendance numbers are down for this season.

SainterK wrote:One player does not a club maketh.

Surely we've learned that over the journey MC.

Take heart, we are supporters, our role is clear. You don't need to by extension, absorb the negativity of how other people have played out their lives.

Just cheer the 22 that take the field this week, keep it simple hey.
That is some of the wisest advice I have heard for a long time.

borderbarry wrote:I dont think the club is letting us down, I think it is us the supporters who are letting the club down. Just look at how our attendance numbers are down for this season.

We are a fickle bunch - lots of fairweather fans. I also believe live TV against the gate hurts us more than a lot of teams.

High farce at the moment... Milne's apprently been assured he will be playing again in a few weeks, after senior players 'sought clarification'.

The players pick the team now?

Meanwhile our CEO is off living la dolca vita and no one seems to be steering the ship.

Milne should've been quietly guaranteed he will get another contract if he steps himself aside while all this is being resolved, and left in little doubt he will be much less likely to if he doesn't.

Now the club's in a bind, and flip flopping about.
Last edited by markp on Thu 20 Jun 2013 8:22pm, edited 1 time in total.

Well, we can turn that around - by turning up en masse and watching the Sainters flog the Dees on Saturday. It is a Saints home game - at the home of footy. Really want a partisan crowd in attendance.

Markp, I must admit that the latest development, in my opinion, isn't a good look.

I thought it was handled perfectly, but the newest bit seems a bit amateurish to me.

AccidentallyTim

borderbarry wrote:I dont think the club is letting us down, I think it is us the supporters who are letting the club down. Just look at how our attendance numbers are down for this season.
I only wish I lived in Vic.

Happy with where I live but the Saints just don't play here and I don't travel very much.

Would be at every game I could get to given the opportunity.

The club isn't letting me down, I don't think the other options they had available were any better. Possibly worse but that's just my opinion.

I don't like reading Caro's bulldust about Centrebet considering it's options...

Is that fact or is she just padding out another opinion piece of hypothetical bulldust

Johnny Member wrote:Markp, I must admit that the latest development, in my opinion, isn't a good look.

I thought it was handled perfectly, but the newest bit seems a bit amateurish to me.
If Riewoldt and co went in demanding Milne be played and the board capitulated then the club is truly falling apart.
the tail does not wag the dog, even if it has won 5 best and fairests and god know2s how many AA's

My take:

The club stood Milne down to appease the public and protect the image of the club. I have no problem with that. And, I might add, it seemed obvious to me that that was the case. I was surprised by the reaction to be honest.

However the fact that its become public that the club effectively admitted that to players, is a bit amateurish. They should have told the players (if they didn't realise it already) but it should have never have been leaked to the public.

whiskers3614 wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:Markp, I must admit that the latest development, in my opinion, isn't a good look.

If Riewoldt and co went in demanding Milne be played and the board capitulated then the club is truly falling apart.
the tail does not wag the dog, even if it has won 5 best and fairests and god know2s how many AA's
As could well be the case if the club was forced (by a higher authority) into suspending Milne indefinitely or at least until after Women's round then they were in a very difficult position given that some players gave public opinions on whether Milne should be allowed to play on before the board had meet with the said higher authority.

Unfortunately given that some player opinions differed from the eventual decision to stand Milne down the Media picked up on this and sensationalised the story hinting at a player rebellion - typical Media bullshite

Obviously there was no rebellion - just that the players needed to be made aware of situation in full which Westaway has clarified in his latest statement

"We had enough regard for the players to make sure they fully understood the process that we went through in reaching the decision that we did."

A process it seems that most definitely involved a higher authority

As for the club falling apart well all I know is that when I wake up tomorrow morning the Club will still be there ..... lot of Henny Penny's on this site

I don't think this was a rebellion, but players concerned for a team mate, because of a lot of innuendo in the press that Milne may never play again, which in a way made a mockery of innocent before proven guilty.
Think it goes to show the popularity of Milney with the players.
Actually the same story was in the Hun this morning as well, almost word for word, which means there may be a bit plagiarism between Caroline Wilson and the Hun.
Ahh yes Caroline Wilson, probably still wondering why she hasn't seen Kim Duthie's twins yet.

take it easy Gusto, this has been out there for a while now... so as sad as it is, it's nothing new.