Dustin Martin

sainter#4

Dustin Martin

Now i know this will most likely be me figuring out that 1 + 1 = 3

But the club keep talking about aiming/aggressively targeting to get a gun midfielder under 25 in free agency

the only one that i can think of right now who is still eligible this year is Dustin Martin....

could we be any chance knowing richmond wont be able to match offers with us?

Re: Dustin Martin

sainter#4 wrote:Now i know this will most likely be me figuring out that 1 + 1 = 3

But the club keep talking about aiming/aggressively targeting to get a gun midfielder under 25 in free agency

the only one that i can think of right now who is still eligible this year is Dustin Martin....

Its actually impossible to be a FA under the age of 26.

Good player but who wants the baggage that comes with him !

No Richard Heads policy needs to be adhered to.
NO!

St Loxton

would love to see him in our engine room
yes he may have/had issues
Watters has had plenty of experience with troubled kids.
why would he leave the tigers now, especially for us?

PADDLEPOP1001

mr six o'clock wrote:Good player but who wants the baggage that comes with him !
Not really much baggage , just here say,!

PADDLEPOP1000

PADDLEPOP1001 wrote:
mr six o'clock wrote:Good player but who wants the baggage that comes with him !
Not really much baggage , just here say,!
Might be but there has been strong "hear-say" that one more strike and he is out. Just a strong rumour, I know , but is it worth the risk , if there is any truth in it?

I'd be ecstatic if we got him. He's passed the acid test. A bit more speed wold be handy.

But who'd pick up the tab for him?

I saw him in Grey street St Kilda pissed a few days out from the start of the season with Daniel Connors and some rough looking types and Daniel Connors was complaining that all the others wanted to do was get smashed every day and the others were s*** stirring him to get him to go with them. They looked like they should be in gaol. i think he wouldn't be the greatest guy around the place. Talented though.

Would rather Astbury or Griffiths.

southernsaint

Dont want Dustan Martin at our club. Hopefully the club is targeting taylor adams. Plugger we signed Roberton as a free agent. There is a short period after trade week and the draft i think where clubs can sign uncontracted players before their lists have to be finalised.

#1GILL

sainter#4 wrote:Now i know this will most likely be me figuring out that 1 + 1 = 3

Its actually impossible to be a FA under the age of 26.
Not relevant to Martin, however it is actually very possible to be a free agent under the age of 26. Every player who is delisted becomes a free agent ala Roberton

southernsaint wrote:Dont want Dustan Martin at our club. Hopefully the club is targeting taylor adams. Plugger we signed Roberton as a free agent. There is a short period after trade week and the draft i think where clubs can sign uncontracted players before their lists have to be finalised.
You know Taylor Adams was up on charges of assault?

Maybe the tiges are spreading rumours against DM so other teams dont target him.

(ps id happily take either of them im just wondering about your moral ambiguity)

southernsaint

Martin will cost us to many dollars con to get him out of tigerland

southernsaint wrote:Dont want Dustan Martin at our club. Hopefully the club is targeting taylor adams. Plugger we signed Roberton as a free agent. There is a short period after trade week and the draft i think where clubs can sign uncontracted players before their lists have to be finalised.

I think you will find that is delisted players.

70s sainter

I heard a rumour we were going after him. The off field stuff worries me though as youd think the only way he would walk from rich would be for a 4 year contract at least and a lot more money. Would def need a get-out clause if he f@#ked up.

does he really do it consistently enough?

great impact player but I want a ball magnet - is he that? Cotchin is and a much better charatcter but I know he aint a target realistically,

Not sold on Martin.

I'll be delighted if the club manage to attract a gun under 26 player in any position.
But I don't see how they will do it.
How often does any club - let alone a bottom club - land an under 26 player who is really good?

Will take half of his wages in ice, which is outside the cap… another plus.

Been saying since mid season we were after him. Has not resigned at Richmond so will be out of contract (not Free agent) and therefore can be picked up via Pre season draft or trade. Only risk is the contract cost and thet Phelcan has spent time removing salary cap stress whether this would cause that. We need an A grade midfielder and he isa probably a grader - with pick 3 this year .

saintact7

He won't come here but GWS maybe. Wouldn't want him anyway.

He missed a recovery session after an all-nighter.
Apparently has booze problems and maybe other substances.
A mate of mine, years ago, bought an Alfa Romeo, very sporty and fun to drive, sweet sweet engine, but spent as much time off the road, than on it.
High maintenance.

gringo wrote:I saw him in Grey street St Kilda pissed a few days out from the start of the season with Daniel Connors and some rough looking types and Daniel Connors was complaining that all the others wanted to do was get smashed every day and the others were s*** stirring him to get him to go with them. They looked like they should be in gaol. i think he wouldn't be the greatest guy around the place. Talented though.

Would rather Astbury or Griffiths.
Gutter crawling were you?

I do like the way Martin pyays his footy, but he last time ( not very long ago) we took the punt on a questionable character we came off rather poorly, sort of sticks in my throat even to say his name.

Kernal75

Take Dayle Garlett with our second round pick assuming he is still available. Would cost a whole lot less than DM and has the potential to be a superstar. His draft profile says he has moved away from all the trouble and wants to come and play in Melbourne. I get the feeling that being overlooked last year really woke him up and he's now doing the right things. Worth a punt I reckon!!

Yep Martin = expensive trouble but possible match changer
Garlett = potential and possible trouble at a way cheaper cost

at this point I'd be happier with Garlett