Sax's 2013 Phantom Draft (Top 20)

sax

Sax's 2013 Phantom Draft (Top 20)

I did this a few years ago, but now with kids I don't have time to do the whole draft or write my own player reviews, so I've decided to do a top 20 (we don't have any picks outside of this anyway) & use afl.com.au for player descriptions. I have also added the link to the AFL website for each player.
So here goes. I hope you enjoy!

1. GWS - Tom Boyd (Eastern Ranges, Vic - KPF)
H - 200cm, W - 103kg
We all know the name Tom Boyd - the power forward from the Eastern Ranges who has been inked in as the No.1 pick all year. Boyd played just two matches with the Vic Metro during the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, but they featured nine goals and were enough to secure All-Australian selection. An ankle injury suffered against WA ended his national campaign, leading to a three-month layoff complicated by a calf niggle. He kicked four goals on his return to footy in the TAC Cup Grand Final. When the ball comes in, Boyd protects the drop zone well through excellent body use and reads the flight of the ball. On the ground, he combines excellent leg speed with a long, accurate shot for goal
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/tom-boyd

2. GWS - Josh Kelly (Sandringham Dragons, Vic - Mid)
H - 183cm, W - 75kg
A medium midfielder who combines precision kicking on his preferred left foot with an elite running capacity, Kelly is the subject of keen interest from recruiters for November’s draft. He ran the second-fastest 3km time trial to date in the recent draft combine (9m 32s), an effort that came as no major surprise given his aerobic ability. A strong showing in the Under-18 Championships, where he averaged 27 disposals in four games, culminated in All-Australian selection. Shows composure beyond his years and has excellent endurance. National talent manager Kevin Sheehan says the left-footed Kelly ticks every box for recruiters and most expect him to be picked up within the top five.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/josh-kelly

3. St. Kilda - Jack Billings (Oakleigh Chargers, Vic - Fwd/Mid)
H - 184cm, W - 78kg
A medium-sized forward who is brilliant on his preferred left foot and particularly damaging in and around the goals. Billings is a versatile player who can also play through the midfield and off half-back where his awareness and vision can prove pivotal. He kicked three goals in the last round of the Under-18 Championships against Vic Country to secure All-Australian honours for the second time after a brilliant 2012 campaign as an underage player. Apart from his elite kicking, Billings combines a strong overhead mark with an ability at ground level to make life difficult for opponents. Set to become another member of the large Oakleigh Chargers AFL alumni, Billings is expected to go top five in this year's draft.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/jack-billings

4. Western Bulldogs - James Aish (Norwood, SA - Mid)
H - 184cm, W - 75kg
The silky midfielder is expected to be picked up as high as number two on November 21, behind the highly-rated Tom Boyd. Recruitment managers have long been impressed with Aish's disposal efficiency on both sides of the body and his ability in heavy traffic. Like Ollie Wines, Aish could feature heavily in his first year in the AFL system after a long apprenticeship of senior football. He broke an SANFL record by debuting as a 16-year-old and in his time at Norwood has learned what it's like to play against bigger bodies. Aish received All-Australian honours in both 2012 and 2013 and is perhaps the best midfield option in this year's draft.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/james-aish

5. Gold Coast - Matthew Scharenberg (Glenelg, SA - Utility)
H - 190cm, W - 87kg
Once described by Mark Williams as the best schoolboy talent he had seen since Wayne Carey, the South Australian is extremely composed in his disposal and shows great temperament in heavy traffic. Scharenberg is a 190cm key position player who is equally comfortable forward or back. Had an outstanding NAB AFL Under-18 Championships which saw him collect back-to-back All Australian selections in 2012-13. Scharenberg came runner-up in the Larke Medal for the best player in Division One and his ability to read the play and strong hands make him an unstoppable force in the air. Is considered a strong chance to be selected in the top-five in this year's draft.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/m ... charenberg

6. Collingwood - Marcus Bontempelli (Northern Knights, Vic - Utility)
H - 192cm, W - 83kg
The rangy Bontempelli can play both tall or small and in the midfield or forward line. He combines excellent durability with agility levels that make him extremely coachable. Bontempelli reads the play well and makes good decisions when the ball is in his hands. Despite a relatively quiet Under-18 Championship, he delivered an impressive 79 per cent disposal efficiency. A solid year for the Northern Knights at TAC Cup level confirmed him as a likely high draft pick. An AIS-AFL Academy graduate, like many of his elite peers.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/m ... ontempelli

7. Brisbane - Kade Kolodjashnij (Launceston, Tas - Def)
H - 190cm, W - 81kg
An impressive NAB AFL Draft Combine completed Kolodjashnij's rise to becoming a genuine top-10 prospect at this year's draft. A versatile tall defender, the Tasmanian won both the running vertical jump off the right leg and the vertical relative jump; demonstrating his supreme athleticism that helps him cover the ground. A late inclusion into the AFL/AIS Academy at the end of last year, Kolodjashnij continued to go from strength-to-strength with an impressive NAB AFL Under-18 Championships in which he won the Division 2 Harrison Medal and Tasmania's Most Valuable Player award. A smart user of the ball on his preferred left foot.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/kade-kolodjashnij

8. North Melbourne - Luke McDonald (F/S) (Werribee, Vic - Mid/Def)
H - 188cm, W - 85kg
In an enviable position for most draftees in the sense that his football future is already decided. The fact that North Melbourne have committed to McDonald at pick eight is a huge indication of the kid's talent. A rebounding defender with the ability to push into the midfield, McDonald possesses the leadership qualities and a booming left foot very much in the mould of Luke Hodge. Vic Metro's captain for this year's NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, McDonald should find the transition into the AFL easier than most, having spent a season playing senior football in the VFL for Werribee.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/luke-mcdonald

9. Melbourne - Nathan Freeman (Sandringham Dragons, Vic - Mid)
H - 182cm, W - 85kg
Another genuine clearance specialist with elite endurance and pace, Freeman tested impressively at the NAB AFL Draft Combine. The youngster from the Sandringham Dragons took out the repeat sprint event and came second in the 20m sprint testing, while also recording a top 10 result in the beep test and 3km time trial. An accomplished ball-user on the outside with an explosive change of direction, Freeman also has the ability to find his own ball with his strong build and ability to read the contest. He improved the defensive aspect of his game in 2013 and will be a tantalising prospect for any club looking for a line-breaking midfielder
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/nathan-freeman

10. Collingwood - Cameron McCarthy (South Fremantle, WA - Fwd)
H - 193cm, W - 85kg
Compared to Nat Fyfe, the leaping West Australian turned to footy in his teens, having come from a cricket background. An impressive NAB AFL Under-18 Championships catapulted him into top-20 contention. He stepped up to deliver the game-winning goal against Vic Country in round four of the Championships, before suffering a broken leg in the final round against South Australia. A great mark and shot for goal, he is also highly rated for his ability to read the ball in flight.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/cameron-mccarthy

11. West Coast - Dom Sheed (Subiaco, WA - Mid)
H - 184cm, W - 83kg
A Western Australian midfielder who won the Larke Medal for the best division one player in the Under-18 Championships, despite suffering a broken collarbone. Sheed wins his own footy around stoppages; a telling reflector of his strong work ethic. Despite not displaying prolific speed, he has a mature body and is expected to feature in his first year in the AFL system. The left-footer is also catching the eye of recruiters for his decision-making by both hand and foot, especially in and around traffic. Averaged 28 disposals and six clearances in the Championships and was a dominant force against the other top under-18 talent in the country.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/dom-sheed

12. Richmond - Ben Lennon (Northern Knights, Vic - Utility)
H - 188cm, W - 77kg
One of the more tantalising propositions in this year's draft as a half-forward/midfielder, Lennon gives this draft a dose of excitement. Expected to be a top-10 pick, he marks strongly on the lead and is sharp by foot, but also knows his way around goal, fires bullet passes and backs himself with the ball. He was among the better kicks at the Draft Combine and was a three-way winner of the handball/clean hands test. Over a five-week stretch during the Under-18 Championships with Vic Metro, he averaged 28 disposals a game running through the midfield.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/ben-lennon

13. Carlton - Christian Salem (Sandringham Dragons, Vic - Mid)
H - 183cm, W - 81kg
A strong and damaging midfielder by foot, Salem can hurt the opposition with pinpoint kicks inside 50. He averaged 15 disposals and a goal in his four games at the Under-18 Championships and was noted for his competent decision-making. A close mate of another highly fancied midfielder, Josh Kelly, Salem's size makes him dangerous in and around the contest. Is a good overhead mark and, when the opportunity arises, rarely misses when in front of goal.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/christian-salem

14. GWS - Darcy Gardiner (Geelong Falcons, Vic - Def)
H - 192cm, W - 85kg
An Under 18 All-Australian this year, Gardiner is arguably the best key defender available in a draft generally short on key position players. The 192cm prospect is competitive, resilient, aggressive and a fighter. Though a key defender he has pace to play on the speedier forwards and also offers the versatility to be able to push forward and take a mark if required. His endurance impressed during the U18 champs as he willed himself to contest after contest and threw himself at the ball. Gathered five rebound 50s in three games for Vic Country.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/darcy-gardiner

15. Sydney - Luke Dunstan (Woodville/West Torrens, SA - Mid)
H - 185cm, W - 83kg
Highly touted for his ability to play the game, Dunstan also boasts leadership credentials likely to see him selected inside the top 20. The Woodville-West Torrens product was captain of the victorious South Australian team in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, also winning All-Australian honours. Dunstan averaged 23 disposals of which almost 40 per cent were contested, making him a joint winner of SA's MVP award. He has been sidelined of late by a leg injury, marking a disappointing end to a solid year, but it is an injury which will have little bearing on his draft position.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/luke-dunstan

16. Geelong - Lewis Taylor (Geelong Falcons, Vic - Mid)
H - 173cm, W - 73kg
Powerful and quick, Taylor elevated himself into high-end draft contention with a superb NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. The Vic Country captain averaged 25 disposals while operating at 78 per cent disposal efficiency rate throughout the Championships; an effort which saw him claim All Australian honours. At only 173cm, he has drawn comparisons with Roo Brent Harvey with his ability to cut sides up throughout the middle of the ground with his pace and elite endurance. Missed the Geelong Falcons' finals campaign and the NAB AFL Draft Combine with a stress fracture in his foot, but many predict he has already done enough to see him selected inside the top 10.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/lewis-taylor

17. Fremantle - Blake Acres (West Perth, WA - Utility)
H - 189cm, W - 84kg
A versatile prospect with good endurance, Acres has shown he can adapt to any role asked of him. A shoulder injury suffered early in the season threatened to derail his NAB AFL Under-18 Championships for Western Australia, but he returned for the last two games of the carnival and made a handy contribution. Having spent time playing senior football for West Perth, Acres showed he is equally adept at rebounding off half-back and cutting up opposition sides with his slick disposal. Strong overhead and wins the football on the inside and outside.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/blake-acres

18. St. Kilda - Matt Crouch (North Ballarat Rebels, Vic - Mid)
H - 180cm, W - 78kg
The brother of Adelaide's Brad, Crouch played only two matches with Vic Country throughout this year's NAB AFL Under-18 Championships after breaking his hand. Crouch, who has displayed excellent TAC form when fit, proved his ability in the final round of the Championships with 27 touches against Vic Metro. He was overlooked by GWS in the 2012 mini draft, a decision which surprised many. That gives clubs this season the opportunity to swoop on the prolific inside ball-winner who is expected to be a first-round draft pick.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/matt-crouch

19. St. Kilda - Billy Hartung (Dandenong Stingrays, Vic - Mid)
H - 177cm, W - 75kg
Hartung turned heads at the NAB AFL Combine by running a 16.6 in the beep test to break the record held previously by Hawthorn's Bradley Hill. However, he brings more than just the ability to run all day. An Uner-18s All Australian, Hartung is quick and possesses great evasive skills, and can be relied upon to hit up a target when the ball is in his hands. Despite being known as an excitement machine who loves to take the game on, the Dandenong Stingray showed he possessed the defensive skills to quell the influence of likely top-two pick James Aish in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. Has the ability to push forward and kick long goals on the run.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/billy-hartung

20. Gold Coast - Trent Dumont (Norwood, SA - Mid)
H - 186cm, W - 83kg
Hard, tough and with a little bit of dash, Dumont could step easily into the AFL system having starred in Norwood's recent SANFL premiership, collecting 20 disposals in a close to best on ground performance. Dumont has a damaging right foot and his experience against mature bodies in the SANFL will hold him in good stead. He is expected to be selected inside the top 20. Part of the supreme South Australian midfield group, Dumont averaged 17.2 disposals in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/trent-dumont

Foundation Social Club Member No. 296

Re: Sax's 2013 Phantom Draft (Top 20)

I'd be happy with that outcome

boneless23

Ideally a combination of a game changer in Billings, an inside ball winner in Crouch an a really good distributor like Dumont or Salem would be a fantastic outcome. I wouldn't be surprised to see at least one of Lennon or Salem slide to our picks especially if a club needs a KPP like Gardiner or McCarthy.

I still reckon Aish is a goer for mine at 2 but thats purely based on what i've read

Saintlester

If Dumont slides to 18 IMHO we should take him. Ready to play midfielder with a man's body proven against men in senior comp.

Any danger of getting a mid with a bit of size.

sainter#4

I really REALLY want kelly. Reminds me of pendlebury

Good stuff Sax.

I can't see GWS going for another key defender, haven't they got about 5 already?

I wouldn't mind us taking Gardiner though along with 2 mids, we've added Delaney & Bruce, but neither are guaranteed and well still need to keep developing key defenders for the future.

All those players sound unbelievable on paper... as they do.

Sharenberg & Bontempelli sound exciting.

Like it a lot well done Sax...

I hope you are right about Crouch coming our way he will be an absolute gun no matter where he goes. His vision and footy brain are as good as any kid around. Reads the play one step ahead of the other TAC kids. If there was one way to describe how he plays it is -makes s*** happen.

Scharenberg just ahead of Billings for me but wouldn't mind either.

resaintlee

Well done. At least your picks won't be leaving in two years because they want to go home.

plugger66 wrote:Any danger of getting a mid with a bit of size.
I prefer mids with talent, but that's just me

BringBackMadDog wrote:

I prefer both but thats just me. Most good sides have a couple of tall mids in their side. if we did get the players suggested we arent getting a mid any taller than jack unless Billings can go straight into the midfield. Look at the size of the mids at freo. The starting mids are all 190 or above.

Is it a good or bad thing that there could be about 5-6 players that could go at the #2 draft pick. Seems no stand out midfielder for me.

Billings and Crouch play a lot bigger than their height measurements suggest.

Perfect outcome for us Sax. We get that classy ball user, inside ball winning beast and some outside run and carry. I suspect the club will be looking at a similar approach with those St Kilda selections on your phantom draft on their shortlist. Jonathon Marsh seems like a real Trout selection with him favouring at least one x factor type (White and Markworth) when we have selections close to one another. Even know Marsh has transitioned from a mid to forward I think at AFL level he'd fit back into being an outside mid with his electrifying pace. Another possibility for selections 18 or 19.

It's a very interesting draft with a lot of conjecture about the draft order. The only sure thing seems to be Boyd taken at pick 1.

I reckon Collingwood will have shortlisted Bontempelli and Lennon for their two selections however I wouldn't be surprised if Brisbane pull the trigger on Lennon at pick 7.

Gold Coast may go early on Kolodjashnij although Sharenberg a similar sized and more immediate player would be another strong selection for them.

I'm interested to see where Cameron McCarthy falls. I don't see him dropping that early, myself. Possibly Carlton pick him but more likely Freo IMO.

Salem has been linked to the Tigers all year so I'd have him dropping a selection earlier. I wouldn't be surprised if he's available the Blues pick him, and I'd have Crouch as another on their radar.

Best available. What do we need? A replacement for Hayes and Dal Santo. Tough ask in a draft that many consider to be not very strong. What about Zak Jones, brother of Melbourne's Nathan Jones? Apparently a bit bigger than the likes of Hartung, and as tough as his older brother. I wish I had the opportunity to see some of these guys play. I have nothing to base my suggestions on other than the draft profiles. Elshaugh did very well last year with worse picks, so lets hope he repeats the performance.

Great to have two consecutive picks with 18 & 19. At 19 we'll get to choose exactly who we want, so there'll be no excuses with that pick.

BringBackMadDog wrote:

I prefer both but thats just me. Most good sides have a couple of tall mids in their side. if we did get the players suggested we arent getting a mid any taller than jack unless Billings can go straight into the midfield. Look at the size of the mids at freo. The starting mids are all 190 or above.

That there is the problem. The tall mids with talent aren't easy to find. You almost have to find a kid with the ability to become a mid from a HF or running back position that's why Billings who has played on ball before is suitable and Scharenberg who can do a bit of everything well is a tempting proposition. Both have limited on ball experience but better judges than me believe both could make mid fielders. Crouch is shorter but a gun.

if you want big mids Kolojashnij and Ben Lennon are going to be very good. Lennon is about 190 I think and could be the Olly Wines type ready to go big body mid but he again was a HF that has been moved in there and gets heaps of ball. KK is a monster and moves well but I think he's taller again. Scharenberg is already a man sized boy though and plays about 5cm taller and 5 kgs heavier than Lenny who is already a fairly big bodied type.

That would be a great outcome for us.

I's still love Salem to slip to 18 but it doesn't look likely

Scoop

Wouldn't surprise me if Melbourne took Salem at 9.....

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!

Great efforts Sax - appreciated.
Id be happy with that outcome although you do have us going 3 smallish guys?

I like the sound of Crouch.

I am start to really think Billings is our man. Was awesome as an under ager - then had knee bursitis so went fwd and still kicked goals. Was probably the bursitits stopping him dominating as a mid which makes me think he is our man.

But sounds like you know your stuff!

lloyd21

Dumont Acres Dunstan Sharenberg will be all tall mids going forward

Doubt they will recruit Crouch pretty clear recruiting elite kicks required going forward.

Scoop wrote:Wouldn't surprise me if Melbourne took Salem at 9.....

Freeman is an absolute jet and I have heard they have their eye on him if available

lloyd21 wrote:Dumont Acres Dunstan Sharenberg will be all tall mids going forward

Doubt they will recruit Crouch pretty clear recruiting elite kicks required going forward.

Crouch can think ahead of the play so his disposal isn't as important. He will be a very good player.

lloyd21

lloyd21 wrote:Dumont Acres Dunstan Sharenberg will be all tall mids going forward

Crouch can think ahead of the play so his disposal isn't as important. He will be a very good player.

Big difference is Dumont Acres Dunstan Sharenberg have been playing SANFL & WAFL Huge difference in standard.

Will soon find out .

I dont know which I would take at 3, Billing or Scharenberg. Scharenberg for sure if he was Victorian or Tasmanian. The go home factor seems more prevalent today than ever.
I would take Dumont before the little Victorian, but for the go home factor as well. I think we should stick to Victorian and Tassy kids, maybe even N.T. kids, in future. No teams to go home to.