Rhys Stanley

Re: Rhys Stanley

He's not lazy, he lacks confidence.

eel33

At the game I thought Rhys showed signs for the first time of knowing where to run, and position himself in general play where he would be able to use his speed, without having to think about it. Hoping that if he can get more games in a row like last year without injury, he will keep improving as he feels more comfortable. Only 40-odd games, and a big man, so too early to be writing him off.

70s sainter

I would be happy if he was a westoff type.

magnifisaint wrote:has played 40 games

This.

Will never ever be a star.

Did enough for me. Played his role and kept involved. I give him a tick.
That's about his level. As long as he keeps it up he will be ok.

ROLS-LEE

got better as the game went on.

Just needs to read the play better with positioning, leading , and back his ability, which comes from confidence.

ROLS-LEE wrote:Just needs to read the play better with positioning, leading , and back his ability, which comes from confidence.
Yep, I think we all agree he has some outstanding attributes including pace and height. That won't guarantee success, though and I think to take the next step he has to believe in himself more. Gotta hold those marks.

ralphsmith wrote:the next level is just sitting there for rhys stanley to grasp

we can all see it, it is so close

if he had held those two marks he would indeed have 4 goals

got to get that next level
&1

Toy Saint wrote:
Saint Bev wrote:I would love Rhys to be a superstar, but he has a long way to go.
The fastest giant in the competition, can easily develop into a superstar
Not easily. If he was going to develop into a superstar he would have by now. Been at the club since 2009.

Still may play an important role as a GOP.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
PADDLEPOP1001

Handy bloke to have as a back up for Hickey as he is a hard match up for other teams down forward. !

PADDLEPOP1000

PADDLEPOP1001 wrote:Handy bloke to have as a back up for Hickey as he is a hard match up for other teams down forward. !

Agree. Seems a much netter option up forward than Longer so seems the perfect second ruckman. Longer really needs to work on becoming more of a forward tthan a ruckman otherwise it could be a long year for him. Pun intended.

bergholt wrote:He's kicked more of his goals from the goal square than any other player, I reckon.
Not sure if that's true but it may be that the opposition can't find a tall match up for him that can also run with him.

He's a thumping kick. I reckon he kicks more from outside 50 than any other Saints player.

Wasn't outstanding but played a valuable role for the team which he needs to do on a consistent basis. He's now one of our more senior players and needs to lead from the front. No more babying of Stanley, we need to make him more accountable - which often has a positive effect on some individuals - and I think it will with him.

karnaby

Great pass to Roo in the third(?) quarter. His field kicking can be top rate.

I'm happy to keep patient and hope that is get's plenty more time to keep developing.

It's a shame ignorance isn't painful

Lacks confidence?

Can any player use that excuse?

He's an AFL footballer, been in the system 6 years.... If he doesn't think he shouldn't be there... He shouldn't be.

He needs harden up mentally if that's the case, and just will himself to attack the contest!!

BigMart wrote:Lacks confidence?

He's an AFL footballer, been in the system 6 years.... If he doesn't think he shouldn't be there... He shouldn't be.

He needs harden up mentally if that's the case, and just will himself to attack the contest!!

How far back do I need to go to see who you are replying to?

Read the OP plugs it's not hard

Old Mate wrote:Read the OP plugs it's not hard

So i need to read 40 posts to understand the 41st post. Strange and it doesnt have anything to do with the first post. I was commenting on the lacks confidence part. Do you get it now?

Watts the Buzz

SainterK wrote:Needs to do more....much more
Agreed....definitely has all of the attributes but just lacks the intensity required at this level. I really hope Rhys makes it but he and Sipposs need to adopt Rooey's work ethic if they're going to take the next step.

Isn't that a bit simplistic to say that

He needs to adopt Roo work rate? If it was that easy everyone would? You need the natural mindset, the natural aerobic ability and game understanding?

It's like saying... He needs to play more like Aaron Hamill... They are two different people?

Rhys just needs to have a bigger crack at times than he currently does?

BigMart wrote:Lacks confidence?

What a strange comment, if players didn't need coaching and confidence development then why have so many coaches?
I would have thought that is the fundamental difference between a good coach (teacher) and a Tim Watson….

Toy Saint wrote:
Saint Bev wrote:I would love Rhys to be a superstar, but he has a long way to go.
The fastest giant in the competition, can easily develop into a superstar
Not easily. If he was going to develop into a superstar he would have by now. Been at the club since 2009.

Still may play an important role as a GOP.
Just as an example how long did Chips take to become a superstar and what age?
Superstar might be a bit too much, but a very good 150 game player is certainly not out of the question with good development IMO.

He did fine and played his part . He's a good 2nd ruckman.

People need to start thinking of him as good 2nd ruckman and not 'the next roo'.

Coaches.... Development coaches... To teach fundamentals and game sense
Assistant coaches.... To teach line strategy
Senior coach to implement GP, structures and manage staff and players

A player who needs confidence to attack the contest after six years... Is a worry

A first/second year player finding his way.... Perhaps

Chips

Poor example... Was a mature age recruit after not playing footy for a while, then being a senior premiership player at Central.
First year at Casey he held down CHF
Second year... Nearly twenty senior games as a defender
Third year he was 3rd in the B&F
4th year he was RU in the B&F
5 year he won it, was an AA CHB

BigMart wrote:Coaches.... Development coaches... To teach fundamentals and game sense
Assistant coaches.... To teach line strategy
Senior coach to implement GP, structures and manage staff and players

A player who needs confidence to attack the contest after six years... Is a worry

A first/second year player finding his way.... Perhaps

Chips

Poor example... Was a mature age recruit after not playing footy for a while, then being a senior premiership player at Central.
First year at Casey he held down CHF
Second year... Nearly twenty senior games as a defender
Third year he was 3rd in the B&F
4th year he was RU in the B&F
5 year he won it, was an AA CHB
Actually you are right on Chips I looked it up and forgot how quickly he came on, his game in the qualifying final in Adelaide in 2005 was one of his best, him missing the 2005 PF cost us dearly…

I still remember one of his first games in Tassy in 2004 when we had no defenders and he looked very much like Stanley…

If you think about how Stanley has been developed under Ross/SW then maybe he should be given a year or hopefully two under Richo to see if he really does have it…
He hasn't been developed well IMO..