Post your apologies to Clinton Jones here...

Re: Post your apologies to Clinton Jones here...

Cairnsman wrote:Talk about underated...and I'm not talking about the skills side of Clint, I mean underated for being a Saints player. His club needed him tonight, asked him to be the play maker and not the tagger and he delivered. What more does the guy have to do to get some respect.

I don't u/s this post.

Was my post disrespectful?

I was at the game and just was marvelling at his work rate from 10 minutes in. He works harder than any one possibly even rooey. He works back and forward to help out team mates. Great role model for young players.

elvis lives wrote:There were countless posters mystified at how he was selected despite the fact that our three best mids were out and our next best from 2013 is playing for north. So for some reason his attributes are not as obvious to some as you make out skeptic. Four successive AFL coaches clearly rate him. But the experts on here want 22 blokes who kick like Goddard.
It just doesn't work like that. Mitchell, Priddis, carraZo, Even Lenny had all had question marks about their disposal over their careers. thing is, they get the footy, and it's damn hard to get precision disposal out when you have ten blokes around you, tackling you etc. people who don't rate CJ at all just don't understand football
Yeah fair enough, I get that.

I'm not a huge CJ fan by any means (would have preferred to keep Ledger)... but criticism of his selection tonight was just silly

this is exactly the situation he was retained for.

My criticism of CJ is that I don't think he generally plays as well as he should. On potential he should be playing good to excellent games most weeks whereas I think most of his games fit into the fair category. My hope is that he either continuously players to a high tandard or is pushed out of the top 22 by seasons end

Have always been a CJ fan, so no apologies needed from me. Just plenty of "I told you so's". Go CJ, you deserve reward for the hard effort you put in :)

He showed the way tonight.
Lifted.
Showed he can play the role of attacking midfield.

Set the field alight.

Enrico_Misso wrote:He showed the way tonight.
Lifted.
Showed he can play the role of attacking midfield.

Set the field alight.
led all night.

Jack watts take note

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Obsessing much JB? :)

SainterK wrote:Obsessing much JB? :)
You dont agree??

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

elvis lives wrote:39 possessions. Seriously did not see a back kick. Someone has to get the ball regardless. Good on you CJ, stuck it right up em.
guy was a magnet tonight.. just vever stopped. i made a comment to some fellow saints that he gets a very bad deal from supporters.. Clint showed tonight why three coaches kept rating and playing him.

Congrats Clint keep on keeping on. (minus the fires please LOL)

ROLS-LEE

ShanghaiSaint wrote:
elvis lives wrote:39 possessions. Seriously did not see a back kick. Someone has to get the ball regardless. Good on you CJ, stuck it right up em.
guy was a magnet tonight.. just vever stopped. i made a comment to some fellow saints that he gets a very bad deal from supporters.. Clint showed tonight why three coaches kept rating and playing him.

Congrats Clint keep on keeping on. (minus the fires please LOL)

Maybe the fire has ignited his career to a new level.

To get 39 possies is exceptional regardless of opposition.

BOG tonight.

Still can't please the usual sad sacks like Zac attack

moron

Was bloody good.

felix

I don't u/s what there is to apologise for

Clint Jones today was our senior and most experienced midfielder

He was playing in a midfield that was underdone/prepared and against an oppsotion midfield that was not amongst the better ones.

He should have been amongst if not our best midfielder... and he was.

He played to the standard that was expected of him... ok he played even better than that

I don't want to criticise Clint for playing an excellent game but you're kidding yourself if you think a 40 possession game from Melbourne justifies us persevering with him.

Clint should be consistently amongst our best players... the first 1/2 of last season he wasn't. He looked average. The second half of the season he improved markedly.

He had an excellent start tonight, but tonight's circumstance was why he was kept around

What a crap comment , it's just never good enough for some arm chair experts . How about you just give praise where it's due , fair dinkum what a misery life would be living with you ..didn't do the dishes properly . F***.

CJ had a great game - mostly because he realised he had to lead, rather than follow.

When he had to bust a pack, and throw it on the boot, he did.

When there was an easy sideways kick, he didn't fluff it.

He never went for anything too complicated. He just kept gut-running from stoppage to stoppage.

He also showed great physical strength in contested situations.

He played a smart game, not an instinctive one - and that's what stood him apart tonight.

Once again showed his value to the Club while the rest of us tap away on our computers nit-picking his every move. He always gives his all; tonight he was outstanding. Clubs might start tagging him instead if the other way around. Great game CJ.

felix wrote: What a crap comment , it's just never good enough for some arm chair experts . How about you just give praise where it's due , fair dinkum what a misery life would be living with you ..didn't do the dishes properly . F***.
ok somebody is going to have to help me here

here's my post

"don't u/s what there is to apologise for

Clint Jones today was our senior and most experienced midfielder

He was playing in a midfield that was underdone/prepared and against an oppsotion midfield that was not amongst the better ones.

He should have been amongst if not our best midfielder... and he was.

He played to the standard that was expected of him... ok he played even better than that

I don't want to criticise Clint for playing an excellent game but you're kidding yourself if you think a 40 possession game from Melbourne justifies us persevering with him.

Clint should be consistently amongst our best players... the first 1/2 of last season he wasn't. He looked average. The second half of the season he improved markedly.

He had an excellent start tonight, but tonight's circumstance was why he was kept around"

I feel like I've praised CJ's performance tonight pretty strongly. I said he played above standard and when we needed it and emphasised that I wasn't meaning to be critical of his performance tonight.

Yet this is the second post this thread that's singled me out saying I haven't praised him enough or ambeing too harsh.

Am I missing something because from where I'm sitting felix seems to have issues here. This thread isn't just about CJ's game, several ppl have commented about how this game justifies his selection/retention. Is it unreasonable to address that?

He has always played with plenty of heart and you can't ask for a guy to give more than 100%

saint6

have always loved cj as a player and thought he played a great game tonight. And when he got the ball with room to spare his kicks to team mates were accurate. Think our supporters are always too hard on our players who go in and get the ball when they are under pressure. I have always blamed their team mates for not protecting the player with the ball. And on that note I was pleasantly surprised to see our boys shepherding tonight. Has been lacking in our game plan over the last few seasons.

Schillaci

Great game. Was our best player for sure. Stood up and did exactly what we needed with Monty, Hayes and Steven out.

SaintPav wrote:BOG tonight.

moron
Not sad,

There is nothing to rate him bar 1 game.

And some chase of Lance Franklin 5 years ago.

The Redeemer wrote:

moron
Not sad,

Rubbish, one game pfft. That is just plain ignorance

evertonfc wrote:CJ had a great game - mostly because he realised he had to lead, rather than follow.

When he had to bust a pack, and throw it on the boot, he did.

When there was an easy sideways kick, he didn't fluff it.

He never went for anything too complicated. He just kept gut-running from stoppage to stoppage.

He also showed great physical strength in contested situations.

He played a smart game, not an instinctive one - and that's what stood him apart tonight.
This is the key to Clint's disposal. Keep it simple.

I reckon Clint gets bad raps because he looks awkward. What might be seen as a nicely weighted pass from anyone else is seen as a hospital pass from Clint. That ugly kick backwards by Clint would be a nice switch of play from Jimmy Gwilt.

I've rewatched the first quarter with particular emphasis on Clint and his disposals. I just can't see the problems that Dragit and Roskilde saw early in the game.

Unusual reading?

The Redeemer wrote:

moron
Not sad,

Rubbish, one game pfft. That is just plain ignorance
No, ignorance is somehow suggesting that a game of short kicking and mostly kicking backwards = he is now useful in a rebuild.

Redeemer, your last post is wrong and shows exactly how biased and ignorant you are.