This is not a rumour, we are going to Trade pick 1 if......

Re: This is not a rumour, we are going to Trade pick 1 if...

Con Gorozidis wrote:I'm no expert but im fairly underwhelmed by McCartin. Cant see him getting a kick on an afl quality defender.
But maybe im missing something as all the draft experts have him top 5..

Based on what?

McCartin look like a natural forward, he really knows when to time his leads.

My in depth knowledge comes from his youtube footage, which is even better than having a photo of him on the afl website.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ACbmMGGrH-0

Apparently he is also very good at reflex testing which will be used to decide drawn games at next years NabCup, and is a fan of GetSmart.*
*yes, I made most of that up
Last edited by HitTheBoundary on Sun 12 Oct 2014 9:34pm, edited 1 time in total.

jaxons wrote:An update.
Seems unlikely as we sit here today that we will have a attractive enough offer to consider trading pick #1 which we are more than comfortable with.
What!?! :shock: That's terrible!

So now we probably won't be getting Tony Plugger McCartin??? :cry:

There you go Pluggs, you can now argue either way on this. But don't forget to argue using... reasons. :D

citywest

dragit wrote:Can we change the thread title…

It's not even a rumour, it's complete fiction.
Believe what you want. As long as the Griffen deals falls over it will happen. Do I want it to happen, hell yes. That's all I'm saying.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/subscribe/n ... n-petracca

Looks like a deal involving pick 1 is still a chance!

LTN16

citywest wrote:

Believe what you want. As long as the Griffen deals falls over it will happen. Do I want it to happen, hell yes. That's all I'm saying.
Can't wait for the responses from everyone that your going to receive when this trade doesn't happen :lol:

citywest

LTN16 wrote:
citywest wrote:

Can't wait for the responses from everyone that your going to receive when this trade doesn't happen :lol:
I'm just telling everyone what my best man's brother has said. Is he a reliable source? Yes he is!!! As far as I'm aware, we will trade pick 1 as long as the Griffen deal falls over.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/a ... 7088015395

and Pelch says....
as they have all along....

falka

Rumours circulating re Jack Steven to Melb over on big footy.
PR disaster if true

falka wrote:Rumours circulating re Jack Steven to Melb over on big footy.
PR disaster if true
PR disaster is being a perpetual wooden spooner

StGoddard18

PR disaster if true
That makes me feel sick

Follow me on Twitter @Prestie18

StGoddard18 wrote:
PR disaster if true
That makes me feel sick
Why? Dont get me wrong - love Jack Steven but we need to rebuild and he is one of few with currency.

Having said that it probably wont happen

falka

PR disaster if true
PR disaster is being a perpetual wooden spooner
Well we will be favoured to get spoon next year anyway, so losing Steven and finishing last is worse than finishing last with him (from PR perspective).

Point is, if we give him up for 2 first rounders OK, but just one pick for one of our better young players makes no sense.

Rather lose Armo then as he will be too old come 2020.

I have no idea what will happen in the next 4 days - but i am half expecting a bomb shell of some kind with Pelchen involved.

In trying not to overrate Jack Steven, many Saints supporters underrate him severely.
Ask an opp supporter what they think of him, many/most will rate him extremely highly.
My best mate, a Melbourne supporter, will do backflips if they steal him with pick 3. Knows his footy, sees him as borderline champion.
Likely scenario is pick 3 would be a success if they turn out as good as Jack (who himself will get better). So why trade Jack?

lefty

Actually, tbh... if it were between Jack or Armo, I'd probably want to keep Armo.

I like Jack, but if Melbourne offer pick 2, I think I'd do it.

Its not that Jack isn't a good player, but you have to understand, we are just not going to be contending for another 3-4 years. So you really want to rebuild the list together all at once, so we'll have a brand new core of young stars hitting the 22-25 year bracket at once.

Does pick 2 mean you'll get a good player? No, but lets face it, in 4 years time Jack won't be as fast as he is today. He also doesn't have the best kick. I'd probably be happy with pick 1, 2 and see if we can upgrade our 2nd rounder into a 1st rounder somehow. Least we'd still get Petracca.

Meh, let the club decide, they'll do what's best. I know supporters can get attached, but got to think of the big picture I guess and also have to be aware with free agency.

Fidelis

Emma Quayle and Jake Niall in today's "Age" include this paragraph in their forecasting of the week's deals"

Griffen's departure will give the Dogs a genuine opportunity to secure a second top six draft pick, both of which the club could attempt to send St Kilda's way for pick 1 and access to key forward Paddy McCartin.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/e ... z3FxawPkJk

Faithful Even Unto Death

Dave McNamara wrote:
jaxons wrote:An update.
Seems unlikely as we sit here today that we will have a attractive enough offer to consider trading pick #1 which we are more than comfortable with.
What!?! :shock: That's terrible!

So now we probably won't be getting Tony Plugger McCartin??? :cry:

There you go Pluggs, you can now argue either way on this. But don't forget to argue using... reasons. :D

I want Petracca. said it all along unless we trade for a very promising player and a pick but unlike you I don't pretend to know how good these guys are and unlike you I know we cant get Cameron in next seasons PSD. People think like this if they don't live in fantasyland.

:roll: :roll:

so what now?
we're trading jack
getting griffin and trading pick one for a bag of jelly beans?

either something big is going to happen this week, or nothing at all will get done with that first pick

MC Gusto wrote:It's also rumoured bris are going to way in on Ryder with pick 5 now that the pies have knocked back offers for beams. Surely if true the bombers would accept ? If that's tha case you reckon port might want Stanley for 16 and and steak knives back in the form of a player or pick? That could leave ya with 4 7 16 19 22
That's a healthy trade period and I'd far prefer to lose Stanley than Armo or jack as has been discussed
How does that compete with picks 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 plus the first 12 picks from guys who missed a draft by less than 4 months.
All gifted to both Gold Coast and GWS by Demetriou.

Saint wagga

If Jaxons has said we are 'exploring' other ways of getting high picks, I can only take that as shopping some of our players with good trade currency around...We don't really have any other leverage do we?

Hate to lose Jack...knife in the heart of the club imo

Saint wagga

fugazi wrote:Hate to lose Jack...knife in the heart of the club imo
Maybe a little overstating it. He's not a grandfinal hero, he's not even coming off that great a year. Sure he won a B+F but crikey, our club has survived bigger exits and so have other clubs.

I'd be dissapointed to lose him for sure, love his running game and exceleration, but it wont be the end. Personally, would be less devastated if we traded out Armo (again only if the trade is in the too good to refuse category) but neither of these guys is in the category of 'quitencential franchise star' IMO

Con Gorozidis wrote:I have no idea what will happen in the next 4 days - but i am half expecting a bomb shell of some kind with Pelchen involved.
This.

I reckon Pelchen has been hinting all year that something big will happen (not saying he's had it planned all along, he's just kept that door open for himself). The term "tough decisions will be made" comes out nearly every time he's interviewed either by the club or in the media.

so what was it?
15 youth to go still?!
thats a fair bit to get in 2 or 3 years

i too reckon there will a big trade this week
something is going to happen and this place is going to go into meltdown

possibly