Petracca, Boyd or picks #4 and #6 - preference?

A possible (if improbable) potential choice for the recruiters

I choose Boyd - so hard to get a young gun KPF - just ask Doggies

Re: Petracca, Boyd or picks #4 and #6 - preference?

Petracca

In 2013 as an under ager for Eastern Rangers & alongside Tom Boyd he kicked 41 goals as a medium marking forward. He dominated.

In 2014 he became a midfielder & showed he can win his own footy, accumulate possessions & still average over 2 goals per game bursting from the centre square. He recorded 30 touches & 5 goals in one game. Further, a Larke Medallist (best player in the state champs) & B&F for Rangers.

The draft camp confirmed his #1 status recording elite results in agility, speed & endurance testing.

I ask you this. Have we seen a kid dominate consecutive seasons of TAC Cup footy like Petracca before?
Last edited by Old Mate on Tue 14 Oct 2014 11:02pm, edited 1 time in total.

fugazi wrote:A possible (if improbable) potential choice for the recruiters

I choose Boyd - so hard to get a young gun KPF - just ask Doggies

At $1.3 million a year there is no way that I would choose Boyd.

Even without the $1.3m I reckon he is overated.

Petracca for me.

Agreed Dogs are mad offering that kind of money. I would rather go with the picks if not Petracca...

Is Boyd just an over-sized Scully in reverse?

Over hyped over paid and underwhelming.

Prefer Cameron

Con Gorozidis wrote:Is Boyd just an over-sized Scully in reverse?

Over hyped over paid and underwhelming.
67 goals in 20 Tac Cup games suggests the talents there to be a top 5 tall forward of the comp in the next 5 years. Personally I reckon load up on the goal kicking bull of a midfielder though. But definitely take Petracca or Boyd over picks 4 & 6.

Old Mate wrote:Petracca

In 2013 as an under ager for Eastern Rangers & alongside Tom Boyd he kicked 41 goals as a medium marking forward. He dominated.

In 2014 he became a midfielder & showed he can win his own footy, accumulate possessions & still average over 2 goals per game bursting from the centre square. He recorded 30 touches & 5 goals in one game. Further, a Larke Medallist (best player in the state champs) & B&F for Rangers.

The draft camp confirmed his #1 status recording elite results in agility, speed & endurance testing.

I ask you this. Have we seen a kid dominate consecutive seasons of TAC Cup footy like Petracca before?
Hard to argue with that Old mate.

And then we need at least one of 21/22 to also be a good player.

We cant afford to stuff both of those picks up.

Should've done a poll.
I'll go with petracca

evo

Boyd, but it won't happen ....

1st I'd go #4 and #6 because i'd rather a class tall and a class mid or even 2 class mids perhaps

2nd I'll go Tom because he's got class and he's got leadership written all over him and we need a power forward to replace Roo

3rd choice is Petracca because I have a gut feel we won't be missing out on the next potential future superstar by letting him slip

Did petracca show elite speed at the combine?

it doesn't look like a fait accompli. If Stanley leaves and he has to agree to it, maybe the Saints might draft McCartin or Wright. It sounds probable and they need someone to replace Riewoldt but I say always take the best player. Is that Petracca?

Whatever decision the Saints boffins make, I'm sure it will have enough negative consequences to make them useless clowns in the eyes of all the experts on this site and the footy public, despite all the advantages we get.

If only we can have all 3 options plus keep all our current players. Even then some people will say we missed Beams or Christensen.

avid

Picks 4 + 6 first. -- a massive forward and a top rank mid. Almost as good as Boyd and Petracca combined. Well, maybe 1.5 times.
Then petracca. Sounds exceptional.
Then Boyd. Sounded exceptional, last year

magnifisaint wrote:it doesn't look like a fait accompli. If Stanley leaves and he has to agree to it, maybe the Saints might draft McCartin or Wright. It sounds probable and they need someone to replace Riewoldt but I say always take the best player. Is that Petracca?
You take the best player with pick one.

End of discussion.

Given the way I seems to be heading I would say take Petracca, then get Boyd next year. It would seem Boyd is not going anywhere until next year, and if we end up with pick one next year again (likely at this stage), then we can simply do the smart thing and position ourselves with GWS before the end of the season, get in Boyd's ear and then bring him home.......

Boyd

No way Boyd. I think the days of big KPP taken very early in the draft could be finishing. Like ruckman they take a long time to develop. They will end of the type that change clubs are 2 to 3 years when they have at least had that time to develop. 4 and 6 would be very tempting if we could get one of Brayshaw or McCartin. The risk maybe to great. Toss a coin between Petracca and 4 and 6.

Petracca. Picks 6 to 25 appear anyone's guess. I think 21 & 22 will work for us in this years draft.

#1 for 4 and 6 to the Dogs has got legs

Boyd but I think that is no chance of happening.
Then 4 & 6. You should be able to nail 4 & 6 and get two good - very good players. No excuses for a team of professional recruiters if they cant nail 4 &6.
But 4 &6 isnt available.

Sounded yesterday from Bains that we are fairly comfortable with 1, 21, 22.

So Petracca it is. The key is we simply have to land a good player with either 21 or 22. We cant afford to stuff up with both of those picks.

Those 3 picks should get us 2 good-very good players. If we do that - we are ahead.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Wed 15 Oct 2014 10:30am, edited 3 times in total.

Take Petracca, and have a go at Cameron next year. Forget Boyd.

borderbarry wrote:Take Petracca, and have a go at Cameron next year. Forget Boyd.
me likey
me likey a friggin lot

Petracca is the highest rated player to appear in the draft in ages and is almost certain to be snapped up at #1, make sure it is us that get him!