Pick your Front 6 for Round One....

I'm really not sure which way we're going to go with our forward setup this season, with only 1 standout forward, then a large group of "potential" a fair way behind Roo. There's also no Maister, so we will lack an experienced option (despite however you rated Beau!!). I think our forward line will really struggle in 2015, the delivery wont be great and more than ever we'll be predictable going inside 50.

Do we throw Paddy in early against younger defenders at the Giants and Suns??

Do either Saad or Schneider get elevated for Siposs and play??

Do Lee or Spencer have a spot in the 22??

How do we fit a second ruckman into the team??

If i'm Richo, I think I'd setup like this:

HF: Billings, Riewoldt, Membrey

F: Lee, Bruce, Saunders

Bruce plays forward and as the relieving ruckman. I'd expect Pierce to get a run in this role throughout the year, but Bruce gets first crack.
Billings will get time through the midfield, but he will play predominately forward of centre in 2015.
Templeton gets a month in the VFL after missing 10 months of footy, but then comes back in.
Saunders plays closer to goal the Membrey to add some defensive pressure on the last line.

How would you line up??

Re: Pick your Front 6 for Round One....

I think Paddy will play round 1 against Freo at the Dome. Subject to change if he gets injured or has a horrible NAB challenge. I think Saad will be upgraded for Sippos who is a fair chance to be on the LTI list.

Membry Riewoldt Billings
Saad McCartin Bruce

I'd leave out Mc cartin unless he has an amazing NAB series. Billings I think will start up on a wing. Members and Lee look likely and Saad probably. Saunders or Curren and Bruce floating forward and chopping out in the ruck. Spencer could force their hand if he has a big NAB series too. Riewoldt is a lock unless injured or needing time off.

Tricky to pick, but not in a good way…

Membrey Lee Templeton
Billings Riewoldt Montagna

I like Saad, but we seem to have an over-abundance of small forwards again…

Montagna to push forward to enable Acres/Markworth/Newnes/Webster to have runs on the wing… the backline will be chockers if Fisher, Delaney, Dempster, Geary, Savage & Wright are all available.

Lee could easily be swapped with White/McCartin/Bruce

HF: Billings Reilwoldt Membrey

FF: McCartin Lee Saad

Lee to move to 2nd ruck as required. Other possibility is Bruce in for McCartin.

HF: Billings Reilwoldt Membrey

FF: McCartin Lee Saad

Lee to move to 2nd ruck as required. Other possibility is Bruce in for McCartin.

Doesn't matter. We will get pumped often so it will be rotated around a fair bit.

St Chris wrote: HF: Billings, Riewoldt, Membrey

I'd swap Lee and Bruce just because it would read better.

LTN16

HF: J.Billings, N.Riewoldt, T.Membrey

F: S.White, T.Lee, A.Saad

HF Templeton Rielwoldt Membrey
F Lee Bruce Billings

HF: billings rooey membrey

FF: templeton white bruce
Last edited by stinger on Wed 25 Feb 2015 8:17pm, edited 1 time in total.

saint-stu

I'm surprised so many think that Billings will continue to line up as a small forward. I think of him as more of a goal kicking midfielder, but was used as a small forward to ease him into AFL.

Actually I reckon we *need* him in the middle this year. He will be one of our best options.

He's 10cm taller than Milney, Schneider and Saad.

FF Bruce Lee/White Saad

1ac46a38

saint-stu wrote:I'm surprised so many think that Billings will continue to line up as a small forward. I think of him as more of a goal kicking midfielder, but was used as a small forward to ease him into AFL.

Actually I reckon we *need* him in the middle this year. He will be one of our best options.

FF Bruce Lee/White Saad
Billings starting on a forward flank doesn't mean he's a small forward. Flankers are essentially midfielders. Joey often lined up in that position last year.

HF line: Bruce (not my choice but Richo has said he is relief rucking) Riewoldt (we need to snaffle at least a couple of wins in the first half of the season and Rooey gets it done on the scoreboard) Saad (we rookied him for a reason so lets see what he can do esp frontal pressure)
FF line: Lee (recruited for a reason so lets see what he's got now his shoulders right) McCartin (Richo wants his top kids under his control) White (after a good debut deserves another crack early)

The worry with this line up is its a bit tall with the oppo running it out with impunity but that puts the onus on Lee, White, Saad and Bruce to work their absolute asses off to lock it in. They should be as desperate as all f*** as none of them are guaranteed a spot on the list next year.

HF: Billings Riewoldt Membrey

FF: Eli White Bruce

kosifantutti wrote:
St Chris wrote: HF: Billings, Riewoldt, Membrey

I'd swap Lee and Bruce just because it would read better.
i would like to see

Savage Bruce Lee

could get very ugly for the opposition

saint-stu wrote:I'm surprised so many think that Billings will continue to line up as a small forward. I think of him as more of a goal kicking midfielder, but was used as a small forward to ease him into AFL.

FF Bruce Lee/White Saad
Billings starting on a forward flank doesn't mean he's a small forward. Flankers are essentially midfielders. Joey often lined up in that position last year.
Both Billings and Newnes mentioned being played on a wing. Billings was doing the midfield drills at one of the trainings and not setting up forward. Saunders and Curren both mentioned the defensive forward role continuing for them so probably Saad will need to keep those two honest to earn a spot. I imagine Billings and Newnes will drop forwards and back when they need a breather and not play the whole game from the wing. Wingers pretty much have to run the full field these days, doubling back then spreading like mad when it goes back the other way.