3rd young kiwi signed

Re: 3rd young kiwi signed

...."16-year-old Miller stands 195cm and weighs 85kg"....

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Wow. Big kid.

howlinwolf

Congratulations and welcome to the Saints Barclay.
It will help our NZ membership cause some if these youg guys come through for long and successful careers.
Hopefully both parties reap the rewards.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

""Today is really just the beginning of what will hopefully be a long journey. He'll get one-on-one skills tuition in Christchurch and access to ongoing testing and medical support. We've got an American college basketballer [Jason Holmes] who is likely to make his AFL debut this year. AFL players come from a variety of backgrounds."
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/other-spor ... h-st-kilda

I like the blurb at the end of the article recognsing the fans

Another slow creep to becoming a New Zealand based team.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Another slow creep to becoming a New Zealand based team.
Great!

Under SW were we trying to be a WA based team?

Played home games in WA?

Had three international rookies from WA?

Had a woman board member from WA?

Slow creep is on.

We are being conditioned.

Played home games in WA?

Slow creep is on.

Hawks do the same stuff in NZ, besides play games don't they?

they were well over NZ promoting well before we even thought of it.

St Kilda will never relocate, to much $$$$$$$$$ to be lost if the AFL went down that route IMHO.

Played home games in WA?

Slow creep is on.

Not a hope. No money in it for the AFL. matter of fact they would lose money. And I don't whether we could make any money either. membership would drop by a huge margin and we wouldn't get money off Wellington if we were there full time.

You know its true.

Sydney get 12 mill a year.

We would easily get that much from the AFL, probably 15 - 20 mill a year.

It will happen Saints fans.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:You know its true.

why are you so negative JoffaBoy?

are you trying to be different?

oh wait this is Saintsational, my mistake.

Better ask the board at the next AGM where they see our club being based in the future, as I don't think the coach determines that. In the meantime, good luck to the NZ recruits.

What a load of crap

Why is it any value to the AFL? They don't even have Foxtel over there. There is no benefit at all for the AFL. Sydney is a benefit. It will never happen. Not ever..

Some nervous nellies on this board.

truth hurts.

You know its on the cards.

Slowly.....

Slowly.....

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Some nervous nellies on this board.

truth hurts.

Slowly.....

Slowly.....
Slowly, slowly............ B_M, methinks you are out to catchee some monkeys...................... this loris is having none of it :wink:

truth hurts.

Slowly.....

Slowly.....

Im certainly not nervous. Where is the truth is what you said? Its fantasy like some think of 9/11. It will be that slow that it wont happen in my daughters life time and she is 19 and planning to live till 90. It does create another discussion though and fantasy discussions are a good laugh sometimes.

loris wrote:

truth hurts.

Slowly.....

Slowly.....
Slowly, slowly............ B_M, methinks you are out to catchee some monkeys...................... this loris is having none of it :wink:

:wink: ...i had a picture taken with a loris monkey once......very cute.... :D

truth hurts.

Slowly.....

Slowly.....

No AFL team will ever be based in New Zealand - and especially not Wellington. No growth there mate - all the young people are filling up the boats to get out.
Think about it - no team in Tassie - why not? Not enough people. No team in NT - why not? Not enough people and tyranny of distance. How is New Zealand any different? There are more people in Melbourne than there are in the whole country - and as one poster has already mentioned - no Foxtel. No TV rights deals to soften the blow of hemorraging cash

I think we could end up playing two or three games a year there though.

This kid is massive!
I think its a great opportunity for kiwis. Not everyone wants to play rugby. Look at a guy like Rooey. Athletically suited to a game like AFL where he can run around a lot and jump and use his height and his endurance and ball skills all together. Must be plenty of kiwi kids with those attributes looking for things to do and enjoy. I wont be the least bit surprised if we unearth a gun player at some stage along the line.

Are these Kiwi recruits any chance of playing AFL ever or is just marketing stuff. I don't mind if its just beefing up our NZ connection because we need to make NZ work and grow our membership there for the future of the club so I applaud the initiative. But curious what the chances of one of these players actually playing in the firsts - 5%? Or is that even too high do you think. I don't want to work up a sweat having to evaluate these young bros if its all pie in the sky stuff

Rome wasn't built in a day (as Pluggs knows :wink: ), but we are slowly and patiently... relocating.

Our Saints are coming home! 8-) 8-)

... as for young Barclay...

shows awareness on the basketball court..., already used to being double teamed each week...

sounds to me like those are attributes that should give him a really good chance of transferring successfully to the greatest game of all. :D

Early call, and no disrespect to the others, but I reckon Barclay will comfortably be the best of the four Kiwis we've signed recently.

(Apologises Con, for treading on 'your turf' by going early with a call. :wink: )