Do we start worrying about Paddy McCartin?

Re: Do we start worrying about Paddy McCartin?

RW&B wrote:
I do agree with Roos, I think the draft age should be raised by 12months. They could focus on their VCE, the TAC cup players would play senior footy, they'd have to work in some capacity, they'd be 12 months more physically and mentally mature. What's the downside?

The downside is they have a years less footy for a start. And where do they play after VCE? VFL obviously where they would be playing anyway but at least they would be learning under an AFL environment.

magnifisaint wrote:
Furphy wrote:I don't think Paddy was a top ten draft pick, but he will improve. Petracca was the obvious choice.
none of these guys have played yet

6 Caleb Marchbank
7 Paul Ahern
8 Peter Wright
9 Darcy Moore

What do you base your information on?

The fact he is an ordinary player in the VFL and Petracca was a clear stand out in last year's draft.

RW&B

RW&B wrote:
I do agree with Roos, I think the draft age should be raised by 12months. They could focus on their VCE, the TAC cup players would play senior footy, they'd have to work in some capacity, they'd be 12 months more physically and mentally mature. What's the downside?

The downside is they have a years less footy for a start. And where do they play after VCE? VFL obviously where they would be playing anyway but at least they would be learning under an AFL environment.
That is true but I think separating their draft year and VCE would be valuable. Having everyone play senior footy before being drafted would give both players and recruiters a better gauge on how they'd go at AFL level. Just my opinion.

"I'm a better coach when Nick Riewoldt is in the side" - Ross Lyon 2007

Furphy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
Furphy wrote:I don't think Paddy was a top ten draft pick, but he will improve. Petracca was the obvious choice.

6 Caleb Marchbank
7 Paul Ahern
8 Peter Wright
9 Darcy Moore

The fact he is an ordinary player in the VFL and Petracca was a clear stand out in last year's draft.

And you saw how many TAC, WA, SA games to come to the conclusion he wasn't a top 10 pick even though all the other experts had him one or two?

RW&B wrote:
RW&B wrote:

That is true but I think separating their draft year and VCE would be valuable. Having everyone play senior footy before being drafted would give both players and recruiters a better gauge on how they'd go at AFL level. Just my opinion.

Its fine to have your opinion. I certainly hope they don't change the age because of the occasional freaks you see at a young age.

Why is he still on the list?

dragit wrote:Why is he still on the list?

He was delisted today but the Essendon story put it into the background.

Furphy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:

6 Caleb Marchbank
7 Paul Ahern
8 Peter Wright
9 Darcy Moore

Have a look at Nat Fyfes stats in his 1st 20 or 30 games

wolfpup

my only worry for McCartin is that i hope he has a big enough cabinet to hold all his coleman medals

-----------

St.Kilda Forever!

magnifisaint wrote:Have a look at Nat Fyfes stats in his 1st 20 or 30 games
Not sure what point you're trying to make here.

His averages from 18 games as an 18 year old in 2010

16.1 disposals (6.8 contested)
4.6 marks (1.1 contested)
0.8 goals
3 tackles
1.7 clearances
5 brownlow votes for the season

Then his 21-game season as a 19 year old

25.1 disposals (12.5 contested(
5.3 marks (2 contested)
0.9 goals
4 tackles
3.6 clearances
13 brownlow votes

Fyfe was very good in his first year and elite in his second

And now has just been added to Essendon's list as a top up.

They saw him train today and decided against taking him. He is only going to be top up for the VFL side and will play with Tookgarook if not required by their VFL side.

SMS

Best set shot kick ive seen in years from a junior. Best fiorward lead ive seen from
A junior in years.

Give the kid a chance. Key forward is the HARDEST posi on the ground. FFS. Give him a minute

Failed to mention his senior prac game where he kicked 4 and gave 3 away. Failed to
Mention NAB cup game where had the delivery been better wouldve kicked 3 or 4. His smashing the packs and getting inside footy in AFL seniors was enough for me.

He is no jack watts. He has balls. And a great footy brain. I am pumped we got him. We needed a Key forward and not pay $1m a year for someone. Brilliant drafting.

mad saint guy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:Have a look at Nat Fyfes stats in his 1st 20 or 30 games
Not sure what point you're trying to make here.

His averages from 18 games as an 18 year old in 2010

16.1 disposals (6.8 contested)
4.6 marks (1.1 contested)
0.8 goals
3 tackles
1.7 clearances
5 brownlow votes for the season

Then his 21-game season as a 19 year old

25.1 disposals (12.5 contested(
5.3 marks (2 contested)
0.9 goals
4 tackles
3.6 clearances
13 brownlow votes

Fyfe was very good in his first year and elite in his second
And he had few games in the 2nds. Wasn't a superstar in the 1st couple of years. Good but no superstar.

magnifisaint wrote: And he had few games in the 2nds. Wasn't a superstar in the 1st couple of years. Good but no superstar.
Runner up in Freo's B&F and selected in the AA squad of 40 in 2011. Absolutely incredible for a lanky second year midfielder. I think Fyfe is just about the worst player you could pick to try and prove your point.

I can't believe this thread is still alive and kicking. FFS.

Paddy ate all the pies.

I am not bothering to go back and find who started this thread. Other to say it is moronic and whoever started it needs to get a life. Seriously!

mohannair

Trev,

I started the thread and just asked for opinion of my fellow Sainters, I am a passionate Saints fan and like you all love our club to succeed in everything we do. You don't have to hang me out to dry just because I asked for opinion.

I did not say he is not a great footballer, I just asked if you all can see signs of Roey, Buddy etc in him.

I am new to the game and do not have the experience to judge a young footballer. Hence just asked for opinion.

Trev from the Bush wrote:I am not bothering to go back and find who started this thread. Other to say it is moronic and whoever started it needs to get a life. Seriously!

Neither of our first two draft picks have 'come up' in the first six weeks of the season, BUT McKenzie, Lonie and Sinclair all look like good footballers. Gee, we've drafted well. I've got every confidence that Goddard and McCartin will be long term key players for St Kilda. I reckon we've drafted better than any club.

this thread now has novelty value.

mohannair wrote:Trev,

I started the thread and just asked for opinion of my fellow Sainters, I am a passionate Saints fan and like you all love our club to succeed in everything we do. You don't have to hang me out to dry just because I asked for opinion.

I did not say he is not a great footballer, I just asked if you all can see signs of Roey, Buddy etc in him.

I am new to the game and do not have the experience to judge a young footballer. Hence just asked for opinion.

Trev from the Bush wrote:I am not bothering to go back and find who started this thread. Other to say it is moronic and whoever started it needs to get a life. Seriously!
your answer is no

Hemi Baxter

SMS wrote:Best set shot kick ive seen in years from a junior. Best fiorward lead ive seen from
A junior in years.

Give the kid a chance. Key forward is the HARDEST posi on the ground. FFS. Give him a minute

Failed to mention his senior prac game where he kicked 4 and gave 3 away. Failed to
Mention NAB cup game where had the delivery been better wouldve kicked 3 or 4. His smashing the packs and getting inside footy in AFL seniors was enough for me.

He is no jack watts. He has balls. And a great footy brain. I am pumped we got him. We needed a Key forward and not pay $1m a year for someone. Brilliant drafting.
Happy to agree with all this with one caveat. "Best set shot kick I've seen in years from a junior." I only saw him play three times as a junior but his kicking for goal needed a lot of work. Every write-up before the draft mentioned his lack of confidence in that area -easy to see already this year.

In the same way some of his best qualities as a junior are on display now. He can find the footy anywhere on the park, he reads the play beautifully. Can't wait to see him start marking the ball as he did as a junior.

Furphy wrote:

:

Well that is deeply flawed logic....

* ALL the pundits had Petracca and McCartin in their top few. It varied as to who was higher.
* Petracca is not even playing at present....
* Bigger players rarely have fantastic first years...

By your logic we would have never picked up Josh Bruce!!!!!!!!!!!!! He is 22 yes 11 months now....look at his form last year...and then earlier..

Career Season Averages
Year Team Games Kicks Handballs Disposals Marks Goals Behinds Tackles Hitouts Frees For Frees Ag. Brownlow
2015 St Kilda 6 8.0 4.0 12.0 4.5 3.0 1.2 2.7 2.0 1.2 0.8
2014 St Kilda 10 6.9 4.5 11.4 4.5 0.4 0.1 1.6 0 0.6 1.3
2013 GWS 11 7.7 4.3 12.0 4.2 0.1 0 2.4 0 0.3 1.2
2012 GWS 3 5.3 5.7 11.0 4.0 0.7 0.3 0.7 0 0.3 0.3
Career 30 7.3 4.4 11.7 4.3 0.8 0.3 2.0 0.4 0.6 1.1

crippsy

mohannair wrote:I know it is only 6 weeks into the season but we haven't seen anything of Paddy to suggest he is No. 1 pick. Will he be the next Jack Watts??

Should we have gone for a mid-fielder like Billings or Stevens .

Don't get me wrong, I want him to be a Gun but the drums will start beating soon if he does not start delivering. Even in VFL he has not performed yet.

Cheers,
I remember worrying about the same thing!

except it was round 19 1988 and a certain player from seaford didnt set the Football world alight his name...

robert harvey He turned out ok

Paddy will turn out ok aswell

At the bottom of our crest it reads fortius qou fidelius...in english this translates to strength through loyalty... think about it