Whats the difference between us and Collingwood?

anthony_13

Whats the difference between us and Collingwood?

Both teams have similar list, young and old. Why are they on the other end of the ladder? Expected them to finish just ahead of us this year..

Re: Whats the difference between us and Collingwood?

They are a better team?

Still not across who you follow in the footy?

Would like to clear that up first before we troll another subject around our problems if that's cool?

I smell Carltank.

anthony_13 wrote:Both teams have similar list, young and old. Why are they on the other end of the ladder? Expected them to finish just ahead of us this year..
Collingwood have have greater numbers and quality in that middle age bracket (we had Armo/Steven). What's scary with Pies is they're into Treloar and still have guys like Scharenberg to get in yet plus can attract guys like Taylor Adams(?)

Besides that we have red on our jumper

anthony_13 wrote:Both teams have similar list, young and old. Why are they on the other end of the ladder? Expected them to finish just ahead of us this year..
Collingwood have have greater numbers and quality in that middle age bracket (we had Armo/Steven). What's scary with Pies is they're into Treloar and still have guys like Scharenberg to get in yet plus can attract guys like Taylor Adams(?)

and Aish.

Scharenberg, freeman, Moore...

Young competent defenders

Dangerous smalls

Thank god they've got Cloke and white spraying it everywhere

samuraisaint wrote:

and Aish.
Yeah forgot him... scary if they pull that off...
We gonna need to get some serious quality in or we'll be outclassed if we're up against sides like this in the next 5 years
I think we have some talent that can be elite.... Like to see some real elite outside talent come in

No worries mate, we've got Rory Sloane coming when he's a FA, and probably Lachie Whitfield from GWS in a couple of years.

ROLS-LEE

Generated income that surpasses everyone else in the league. More available money spent on football department. Ability to attract players from other clubs. Ability to win negotiations in player trading. Ability to finance a training base within a short walk of Mcg. Ability to shape the fixture and play 16 games at the Mcg a year not including finals
Last edited by ROLS-LEE on Sun 05 Jul 2015 12:20am, edited 1 time in total.

Sloane signed a new deal...

Let's not indulge this troll, 95% seem to be collingwood fans, so I'm going to assume this is just another one.

More time on their hands than someone in prison… oh wait…

Teeth.

They are filth. We are not.

We don't like Eddie.

We are civilized.

They are still in the stone age.

our supporters have teeth and jobs

oh when the

Collingwood expects to win every game they play and to play finals each year.

Fair question with an easy answer - the Pies have more players in their prime than we do.

St Kilda - 6 players

Gilbert (28 years old, 146 games)
Armitage (26, 107), Geary (26, 100), Steven (25, 90)
Savage (24, 70), Roberton (23, 64)

Collingwood - 13 players

Pendlebury (27, 192), Varcoe (27, 138), Toovey (28, 131), Goldsack (27, 124), White (27, 89), Macaffer (27, 73)
Sidebottom (24, 127), Blair (25, 102), Reid (25, 99), Brown (26, 93), Greenwood (26, 74)
Fasolo (22, 52), Elliott (22, 52)

(This is guys who had more than 50 games at the start of the year and were under 29 years old.)

Their drafting was better through 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 (including some pretty early picks) and they're now benefiting from that. I wouldn't say their kids (drafted 2011 or later) are necessarily that much better than ours, it's just that they have half a team of guys who are playing their best footy. We have only a small number - even fewer than the 6 listed there.

It's not really too tricky to work out.

I would be more worried about the WB and why they are better than us than the pies.
Last edited by plugger66 on Sun 05 Jul 2015 9:07am, edited 1 time in total.

The WB are going to be the next Geelong.

Red.

Bowey Boy wrote:Teeth.
It's teef.

They have been very proactive in selling their older established players for overs. They are trade bullies and no one stops them. We seem to be doing ours the more bottom out way and are building a core, I think we are ahead of where we thought we might be and getting a couple of kids come on will make us similar in a year or two. Collingwood will have to peak while the Northern Raiders come on just like us so it might all be pointless anyway.

SaintPav wrote:The WB are going to be the next Geelong.
we are

Darth Vader

plugger66 wrote:I would be more worried about the WB and why they are better than us than the pies.
Probably because they started their rebuild 2 years before us, so they're 2 years ahead of us. And given that we split both games this year and margins were 7 points and 6 points, I wouldn't have thought they're that much better.