Would we have any interest in Harley Bennell?

Re: Would we have any interest in Harley Bennell?

howlinwolf wrote:Not a snowflake's chance in hell ! We've gone through hell and lost a lot of major sponsors. The club policy is character,character and then look at character.
We have a bunch of decent human beings and need to be known for that.
I didn't see the photo in the herald sun but didn't need to.
Imagine the headline if it were a Stkilda player !
Imagine the few sponsors we have running a mile !

We're obviously on the right path now. Why turn down a different road ?
We had our fingers burnt before on an absolute drop kick. We certainly don't need another problem player that his current club have given up on.
Sounding more and more like that other guy. Im just about 100% sure you are Stinger. Its a bit sad.

From media reports I've read over the past week it would appear tht prior to the publication of the photo he was continuing on with his 'party lifestyle' this season.
Some people from other Clubs were concerned enough to telephone GCS and let them know what he was getting up to.
It would seem that up until the last week he was not 'reformed' in his lifestyle choices and surely would be too risky for us to take, IMHO (certainly not worth risking a first or even second round pick).

I'd risk it and take him. Unlike Lovett who I was dead against, this guy is younger and would know he is probably on his last chance. He can seriously play as well. Obviously he is easily influenced, so would need the right set-up around him, but if that can be done, they should try and do it.

I would not go near him. Massive issues.

howlinwolf

[/quote]

We had our fingers burnt before on an absolute drop kick. We certainly don't need another problem player that his current club have given up on.[/quote]

Yes. Exactly what I meant but hadn't thought of that SNAFU. Us Sainters are resilient but there has to be limits.
No D1ckheads policy !

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

howlinwolf wrote:Not a snowflake's chance in hell ! We've gone through hell and lost a lot of major sponsors. The club policy is character,character and then look at character.

We had our fingers burnt before on an absolute drop kick. We certainly don't need another problem player that his current club have given up on.
Sounding more and more like that other guy. Im just about 100% sure you are Stinger. Its a bit sad.
The only sad thing around here is you.

At least I talk to you, unlike the poster you are using as a vehicle to insult me.

No worries.

[quote="plugger66"][quote="howlinwolf"]Not a snowflake's chance in hell ! We've gone through hell and lost a lot of major sponsors. The club policy is character,character and then look at character.

We're obviously on the right path now. Why turn down a different road ?[/quote]

How do you know we don't have players who use drugs now or recently? Yep lucky there has been no photos but I would be just about 100% certain we have had one player with some serious issues and I think most people know that.[/quote]

Correct. We know that our current players haven't been perfect to a person.

Mr Magic wrote:From media reports I've read over the past week it would appear tht prior to the publication of the photo he was continuing on with his 'party lifestyle' this season.
Some people from other Clubs were concerned enough to telephone GCS and let them know what he was getting up to.
It would seem that up until the last week he was not 'reformed' in his lifestyle choices and surely would be too risky for us to take, IMHO (certainly not worth risking a first or even second round pick).
That's pretty sad. I feel for him as he is still only young and had a tough upbringing. But leopards don't change their spots.

What a deadbeat that former ARL player is. The club put young Bennell in harms way.
Last edited by saynta on Tue 07 Jul 2015 10:26pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nope, we're not desperate for top ups like we were when we took Lovett. No risky short cuts.

How do you know we don't have players who use drugs now or recently? Yep lucky there has been no photos but I would be just about 100% certain we have had one player with some serious issues and I think most people know that.
Your own home grown idiots are one thing-we probably didn't know their shortcomings before recruiting them.
Recruiting known troubled souls is asking for trouble.
I have been dead against Lovett, Garlett , Dustin Martin and Fevola when mentioned, don't reckon this bloke is any better player than Martin!

Sarkes

happy with how our list is going, probably wouldn't want to take the gamble. Having said that the office has earned my trust so if we do end up signing him I'll probably be pretty optimistic.

Oh I do like to be beside the sea side!!

Sarkes wrote:happy with how our list is going, probably wouldn't want to take the gamble. Having said that the office has earned my trust so if we do end up signing him I'll probably be pretty optimistic.
They wont so we won't have to worry.

Sarkes wrote:happy with how our list is going, probably wouldn't want to take the gamble. Having said that the office has earned my trust so if we do end up signing him I'll probably be pretty optimistic.
They wont so we won't have to worry.

Are you involved with the club? Serious question.

magnifisaint wrote:No the guy has serious issues. Have a look at Cousins and Kerr who both had similar problems

Didn't effect their footy though.
Quite the opposite - It likely had a huge effect on their footy ......... if you know what I mean!! 8-)

Yeah sure why not.
Would be a great pick up :roll:

No

SuperSaint66

WinnersOnly wrote:Definitely not!

Fails the character levels reqd? Only needs one bad egg to upset the whole club!
No! No! No! Agree with "WinnersOnly"

PADDLEPOP1001

One word Lovett!

PADDLEPOP1000

tony74 wrote:No
Right

nooooooo

True Believer wrote:nooooooo
This.
but with this ...
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I doubt many on here have any idea of his personal circumstances... I don't either..

He's certainly a good enough footballer to trade a high pick for provided he is going in the direction. The guys got "norm smith medal" written all over him.

Plenty of dudes from all clubs have been racking up lines on weekends for many years, tottally naive to think otherwise.

Gordo' Sumner
Location: nyc for a spell, things didn't turn out so well, every dive i played, ffs was lucky i got paid !!!

any interest ???? :roll:

too flowering right we do !!!!

with a cool muso type name like that harls is next in line to perform "when the saints go marching in' unplugged.......................FFS he already knows his lines.

Fortitude Fidelity Sayntas.

Gordo' Sumner wrote:any interest ???? :roll:

too flowering right we do !!!!

with a cool muso type name like that harls is next in line to perform "when the saints go marching in' unplugged.......................FFS he already knows his lines.

I have you pegged as redeemer. We certainly have had an influx of old posters using new names lately. The question is why. I think its time the mods tell us their previous incarnations because under the rules people cant have 2 nics if they are going to cause trouble. Saynta is Stinger for sure. Just need the mods to confirm.