Jimmy Webster's courage

Was an inspirational effort that deserves it's own thread.
Set's a great example to the rest of the team.

Hope he is ok for next week.

Re: Jimmy Webster's courage

He's the type of player any coach would love.

Pure guts mixed in with a fair chunk of skill.

Probably due to his Tassie heritage - they seem to build them tough and hard down there.

Well done Jimmy!

i love this kid/bloke

courage personified
he has no fearabout going in to a contest that looks like it could get messy
has done it numerous times now

hoping the ribs are just bruised and not cracked
seemed to be fine tho

and he can kick!!!

How good is jimmys defensive work.

He's kept a lot of small forwards quiet this year. I know it goes underrated by myself until I look at who he has played on the the impact the opposition has had.

From memory it's been Garlett twice now and Rioli that he has destroyed

Fluttz

saintspremiers wrote:He's the type of player any coach would love.

Probably due to his Tassie heritage - they seem to build them tough and hard down there.

Well done Jimmy!
Coming from Tassie he probably had a second head at one stage, to which he cut off himself! lol Tough as nails.

felix

Haha Flutz dare you to say that to Jimmies face then you will see how tuff he is :D

Has a very nice left foot too.

Saint wagga

Really loving Websters improvement this year. I remeber a couple of years ago, players had to nominate who was the gutsiest player, who would always go bak with the flight regardless what was coming, and most singled out Chips Fisher...I reckon Jimmy W could be our new kamikazee man!

He will get a lot of love when they run through the review tape. You could see he was undoubtedly getting crunched before it even happened. very selfless

#gosaintas

Good thread - his courage is amazing. Would be inspiring to play in the backiline with Webster, Geary and Dempster. You wouldn't dare take a backward step or a second look.

Fluttz wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:He's the type of player any coach would love.

Well done Jimmy!
Coming from Tassie he probably had a second head at one stage, to which he cut off himself! lol Tough as nails.
True story. We are heading to Tassie over the weekend of the Norf game and checked out the MONA website. Tasmanian's get free entry with proof of residency (or a second head). Check out the website, it's gold!

I think that will be some cultcha right up my alley....

https://www.mona.net.au/visit/admission/

JimmyOne

Rate this kid more and more every time I see him

Perhaps Geary played a bit of garlett too.

Regardless love webster

Fluttz

felix wrote:Haha Flutz dare you to say that to Jimmies face then you will see how tuff he is :D
No chance mate haha

Love Webster... I've said it a few times but I have him as the one player on the list I am sure is a future All Australian (I have obviously had to add Armo to that list now)

He is improving week by week.

He did a pick up and handball in the last quarter that was exceptionally skillful in the wet.

Even that dick head Zempelis noticed.

Dick head.

Possibly the player on our list who manages to keep under the radar.

Very rarely is his name mentioned in threads on this site.

Great combination with Geary. Both hard as nails though Gears is a bit more ornery, Jimmy's a bit quicker and much better by foot. Nice to have a couple of strong small backs.

bergholt wrote:Great combination with Geary. Both hard as nails though Gears is a bit more ornery, Jimmy's a bit quicker and much better by foot. Nice to have a couple of strong small backs.
Jimmy's not that small at about 189 cm. Just a cm shy of plugger.

Decision making at times is letting him down. If he can fix that part of his game he could develop into a genuine A grader and 200 gamer. Still young. Great skills, hard as a cat's head and pretty quick. One of my favourites. Needs to also stay out of trouble.

bergholt wrote:Great combination with Geary. Both hard as nails though Gears is a bit more ornery, Jimmy's a bit quicker and much better by foot. Nice to have a couple of strong small backs.
Jimmy's not that small at about 189 cm. Just a cm shy of plugger.
Fair point, best part is that even at that height he's quick enough to play on all the small forwards.

Similar to Corey Enright in many ways.

bergholt wrote:...Similar to Corey Enright in many ways.
Same number of arms and legs? Corey Enright is 5 times AA, can kick and handball on both sides and can take a pack mark. I would prefer my defenders to be the crunchers rather than the crunchees. However, it was a good sign that Jimmy went for the ball and didn't worry about the traffic. His pick up was nice too.

Jimmy will end up as one of the finest Tasmanians to play for the Sainters! All heart great kid....

I played a fair bit of footy with his old man and the tougher it got, the better he played!!!

perfectionist wrote:
bergholt wrote:...Similar to Corey Enright in many ways.
Same number of arms and legs? Corey Enright is 5 times AA, can kick and handball on both sides and can take a pack mark. I would prefer my defenders to be the crunchers rather than the crunchees. However, it was a good sign that Jimmy went for the ball and didn't worry about the traffic. His pick up was nice too.
Did you really think I was saying Jimmy is as good as Enright? A more logical interpretation would be that he does similar things to Enright, and I stand by that. Good disposal, quick enough to play on smalls but also tall enough to play on mediums. Not sure if Jimmy's particularly good overhead but we'll see. Obviously he has to put a bit of muscle on to really be a jack of all trades, but I think he's developing well.