Holmes to debut?

Re: Holmes to debut?

Increased esteem as he survived the Robbo experience. A really considered bloke. I reckon we are very lucky to have him around the place.

Trixilver

saintbrat wrote:reminder he is on Fox 360 this evening 25th
Anywhere to see this online?

Trixilver wrote:

should appear amongst this page at some point
http://www.foxsports.com.au/video?vc=208

bigcarlosis

SemperFidelis wrote:Increased esteem as he survived the Robbo experience. A really considered bloke. I reckon we are very lucky to have him around the place.
X2

Trixilver wrote:
Article http://m.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premi ... 7499584747

Interview from Zebmail this week
http://us10.campaign-archive1.com/?u=c7 ... f473fd7f55

Meet the Player - Jason Holmes
Name: Jason Holmes
Nickname: Holmsey
Position: Ruckman
Number: 77
Past Clubs: Morehead State Men's Basketball
Marital Status: No marital status
Career Highlight: My debut this past Saturday with St Kilda
Best AFL player seen: Gary Ablett Jr.
Best Sandringham player seen: Mitch Brown
Most embarrassing football moment: The stuffed up handballs at last year's game at Williamstown. That fans made sure I heard about it
Superstitions: I have the same pre-game ritual, starting with my evening dinner watching the footy
Biggest Influence on your career: Arryn Siposs - everything post training/game conversation has really built my football IQ
Favourite Food: Chicken parmasean
Favourite Drink: Love a good Pepsi Max (sorry Diet Coke)
Favourite movie: The Matrix Trilogy
Favourite band/song: J. Cole - Role Modelz
Sports you play outside of footy: Outside of footy I'll golf and that's about it. I hung up the sneakers for footy boots
Last book read: Gone Girl
Best team mate to room with and why: Besides Sip, who has looked after me, Lewis Pierce. Elite banter and good choice in flicks as well
Worst team mate to room with and why: Blake Acres - we would be a lazy combination
Ambitions for this year: To win a flag. Great opportunity coming up in the next few weeks
Other comments about the club: I've been loving my time at Sandy and I'm very glad we've been able to set ourselves up to achieve something that's not easy to achieve. Time to knuckle down and take care of business

Trixilver wrote:
Article http://m.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premi ... 7499584747

same with some vision
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/j ... 7499342521

the interview with Jason's parents from 3AW today is in this report
http://www.3aw.com.au/news/game-day-st- ... jaw9w.html

Not so good this week. He has a long way to go IMHO

saynta wrote:Not so good this week. He has a long way to go IMHO
Actually I thought he seemed a little tired in the legs as he ran around the ground.

Just a thought.......... could it be the impact of last week playing at Etihad for the first time? One always reads in WA how the WA players often complain of leg soreness after a game at Etihad, especially the one's who have never played on its surface before.

I would image Holmes has not been exposed to playing on the Etihad surface for a full game........ or has he had pre-season games there in the NAB games?

Just a thought...........................

Jason and family on Breakfast radio Mon 31st
https://au.tv.yahoo.com/sunrise/video/w ... als/#page1

Our Johnny has to play against Natanui. It's a marketing dream!

saintspremiers wrote:Our Johnny has to play against Natanui. It's a marketing dream!

Yep because so many turned up because an American and Canadian were playing against each other. Lets be honest it wont get an extra person there. Probably no tickets anyway.

The Recruit

Struggled against Swans but glad Rich subbed Hickey. Hickey was very disappointing. Twice got out marked by Grundy when we were in the contest and dropped his head both times. He should never have been out marked. I saw yesterday why Longer is the preferred ruck at the moment. Hickey has the ability but the bard edge is develeoping. Longer edge 8 as hard as it gets.

The Recruit wrote:Struggled against Swans but glad Rich subbed Hickey. Hickey was very disappointing. Twice got out marked by Grundy when we were in the contest and dropped his head both times. He should never have been out marked. I saw yesterday why Longer is the preferred ruck at the moment. Hickey has the ability but the bard edge is develeoping. Longer edge 8 as hard as it gets.

Hickey got out marked but Longer wouldn't even have been played forward. Both are natural ruckmen but Hickey is being asked to do something he isn't very good at. Longer wouldn't even be asked.

mambo2706

I think Hickey plays better when he is the only ruckman. I think they should rest Holmes or send him back to Sandy, play Hickey in the ruck and have Bruce ruck when Hickey's resting. Getting Bruce up the ground might help get some of his confidence back as well.

What about Holmsey's kick It looked 60 - 70 metres. He has to stop hand-balling. Maybe the coach should instruct our other players to hand-ball to him after that kick.

loris wrote:
saynta wrote:Not so good this week. He has a long way to go IMHO
Actually I thought he seemed a little tired in the legs as he ran around the ground.

Just a thought.......... could it be the impact of last week playing at Etihad for the first time? One always reads in WA how the WA players often complain of leg soreness after a game at Etihad, especially the one's who have never played on its surface before.

I would image Holmes has not been exposed to playing on the Etihad surface for a full game........ or has he had pre-season games there in the NAB games?

Just a thought...........................
Yeah I thought he looked a bit tired too. Lke the pace of the game got to him a bit second week around

No Holds Bard

The Recruit wrote: Hickey has the ability but the bard edge is develeoping.
Can one desire too much of a good thing? :wink:

If to do, were as easy as to know what were good to do, chapels had been churches, and poor men’s cottage princes’ palaces.

The fault, dear Daniel, lies not within the stars, but in ourselves, that we are underlings.

Ye cat lovers appreciate this. Tabby or not tabby. Cat, is the question.

No Holds Bard wrote:

If to do, were as easy as to know what were good to do, chapels had been churches, and poor men’s cottage princes’ palaces.

The fault, dear Daniel, lies not within the stars, but in ourselves, that we are underlings.

No Holds Bard wrote:

Do we have one person coming up with the characters or are there several.

Not overly amusing but at least a little clever. I'm just not sure the motive.

Armoooo wrote:Not overly amusing but at least a little clever. I'm just not sure the motive.
Maybe the motive is to be "not overly amusing but at least a little clever"?