Trevor Barker Medal

Re: Trevor Barker Medal

6s6 seconds ago
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc
Presenting your 2015 Trevor Barker Award winner: Jack Steven!

http://stk.lt/1KNKAt0
#SaintsBF15
Embedded image

Good on you Jack; great to see you back up there again. Kudos to Armo also on a ripping year

Joey 4th, followed by Gears (yes K, I agree!), Roberton, Roo, Bruce, Fish 9th and Jimmy Webster rounding out the top 10.

In one way the top 5 is all a bit sad. Pretty much expected if you watched the games without looking for mistakes as the first thing you look at.

plugger66 wrote:In one way the top 5 is all a bit sad. Pretty much expected if you watched the games without looking for mistakes as the first thing you look at.
Sad but expected?

How so?

plugger66 wrote:In one way the top 5 is all a bit sad. Pretty much expected if you watched the games without looking for mistakes as the first thing you look at.
Sad but expected?

How so?

Sad because the top 5 are already aging. Even the top 10 only has about 3 players under 25.

I don't think it's sad; it's just the reality with a developing team - the stalwarts will do what those who vote want more consistently.
Happy to focus on the good performances by Robbo and Webster as an eye to the future - I feel pretty confident there will be some new names in the mix next year.

And Bruce!

SemperFidelis wrote:I don't think it's sad; it's just the reality with a developing team - the stalwarts will do what those who vote want more consistently.
Happy to focus on the good performances by Robbo and Webster as an eye to the future - I feel pretty confident there will be some new names in the mix next year.

I know Bernie Vince won Melbournes but what was the rest of the top 5. I don't think it is reality at all. We just had some shocking trade years. All it means is we are way off improving to get in the top 8 IMO.

Sad but expected?

How so?

Sad because the top 5 are already aging. Even the top 10 only has about 3 players under 25.
Sad cause you weren't there this year? :wink:

Sad but expected?

How so?

No couldn't have gone. Local footy always wins out and it was ridicules Monday today. Sad not seeing you SK. And ive had 5 hours sleep in the last 3 days. Failing badly.

Not bad for the worst player of all time

Sad but expected?

How so?

No couldn't have gone. Local footy always wins out and it was ridicules Monday today. Sad not seeing you SK. And ive had 5 hours sleep in the last 3 days. Failing badly.
What you doing on here then silly.

Off to bed already.

See, I don't mind the top 10, worried about a few just outside that I hope lift next year.

skeptic wrote:Not bad for the worst player of all time

Dud.

Sad but expected?

How so?

What you doing on here then silly.

Off to bed already.

See, I don't mind the top 10, worried about a few just outside that I hope lift next year.

Got to finish my Maccas and then its bed time. Where did Newnes come? I was hoping a top 5 from him.

11th

Oh dear.

Least you didn't go a servo souva with extra hand hair.

11th, just not convinced...yet.

SainterK wrote:Oh dear.

Least you didn't go a servo souva with extra hand hair.

11th, just not convinced...yet.

Well that's bloody disappointing and neither am I but when you just about play every game you would hope better than that. Unfortunately KFC was shut. Two large Grand Angus meals is doing the trick.

Top 10

Final Vote Count:

1. Jack Steven 175

2. David Armitage 159

3. Sean Dempster 149

4. Leigh Montagna 143

5. Jarryn Geary 132

6. Dylan Roberton 108

7. Nick Riewoldt 105

8. Josh Bruce 92

9. Sam Fisher 77

10. Jimmy Webster 77

A bit surprised Newnes couldnt crack top 10. Also Mav would be disappointed I think.

A good night though there was probably more interest and less certainty in the voting in Canberra!

Con Gorozidis wrote:A bit surprised Newnes couldnt crack top 10. Also Mav would be disappointed I think.
Looks like Newnes got votes in most games, but always low numbers. It'd be good to see him take the next step next year, actually start to have serious impact on games.

Final leaderboard:

1: 175 votes - Jack Steven - 25, 112 games
2: 159 votes - David Armitage - 27, 128 games
3: 149 votes - Sean Dempster - 31, 203 games
4: 143 votes - Leigh Montagna - 31, 249 games
5: 132 votes - Jarryn Geary - 27, 120 games
6: 108 votes - Dylan Roberton - 24, 84 games
7: 105 votes - Nick Riewoldt - 32, 298 games
8: 92 votes - Josh Bruce - 23, 46 games
9: 77 votes - Sam Fisher - 33, 216 games
9: 77 votes - Jimmy Webster - 22, 39 games
11: 74 votes - Jack Newnes - 22, 69 games
11: 74 votes - Maverick Weller - 23, 68 games
13: 68 votes - Shane Savage - 24, 90 games
14: 64 votes - Billy Longer - 22, 43 games
15: 58 votes - Adam Schneider - 31, 228 games

All the old guys are in that list except Ray, Gilbert and Delaney. Gilbert didn't play enough games, Ray and Delaney weren't good enough (so didn't play enough games). But really, it's the experienced guys who are consistent enough to get placed in the B&F. Looking at the list in terms of experience at the start of the season:

250 - 300: Riewoldt (7th)
200 - 250: Montagna (4th), Schneider (15th)
150 - 200: Dempster (3rd), Fisher (9th), unplaced: Ray
100 - 150: Armitage (2nd), Geary (5th), unplaced: Gilbert
60 - 100: Steven (1st), Roberton (6th), Savage (13th)
20 - 60: Bruce (8th), Webster (9th), Newnes (11th), Weller (11th), Longer (14th), unplaced: Curren, Delaney, Hickey, Ross, Saad, Saunders, Simpkin, Siposs

No-one with less than Webster's 22 games (at the start of the season) got into the top 15. That's expected, it takes at least a couple of seasons and two pre-seasons to get to 20+ games and that's the bare minimum for consistency and durability across a whole year.

Pretty much all the guys on the "unplaced" lists didn't play enough games. Realistically you have to play a lot of games in the year to have a chance. Ross, for instance, only played 10 so regardless of how good or bad he was, he didn't have a chance at the top 15. Here's everyone who played more than about half the games this year:

22: Steven (1st), Bruce (8th), Newnes (11th)
21: Armitage (2nd), Dempster (3rd)
20: Geary (5th), Roberton (6th), Weller (11th), Savage (13th)
19: Dunstan (unplaced)
18: Fisher (9th), Longer (14th), Sinclair (unplaced)
17: Montagna (4th), Riewoldt (7th), Webster (9th), Lonie (unplaced)
16:
15: Schneider (15th)
14:
13:
12: Membrey (unplaced)

Sinclair and Lonie not really surprising, but sticking out like a sore thumb there is Luke Dunstan. Played 19 games and was only sub-affected in two. He had plenty of chances to sneak enough votes to end up in the top 15 like Newnes or Weller. The fact that he didn't is pretty disappointing, but it was only his second year and as I said earlier it takes time to build up a body for consistency across a season. Next year make or break for him.

Sad but expected?

How so?

2 years ago Armo was a trade option. Before Watters Jack wasn't best 22. Dempster is a stalwart and there was a smattering of kids in there. Newnes a bit disappointing but he isn't flash, just consistent.