2015 - Draft & Trade Thread

stjay

Re: 2015 - Draft & Trade Thread

jaxons wrote:
Devilhead wrote:
jaxons wrote:
MC Gusto wrote:Is it an O'meara / Bennell double play jaxons???
We are absolutely not interested in Bennell.
What's your take on O'Meara's knee??

Any information forthcoming??
Nothing to suggest he won't return to full fitness.
Do u think we'll get Carlisle?
If he chooses us then yes.

So.... Do u think he will choose us? A bit getting around in the media that the Dogs are keen
We are in it up to our eyeballs but not over the line yet.
I get the feeling we'll need to part with pick 5 so I'm happy to miss out on him & go to the draft.
No. More like Carlisl decising where he will go. He stil wants Carlton but they wont budge on a 3 year deal.

Bulldogs about to offer a five year deal, but cant match the Saints 5 year deal.

Carlilse is just waiting. No hurry for him to decide.

If he nominates us, then we deal with Essendon and it wont be #5. Not worth it.

If Essendon dont come to the party,Carlilse can choose PSD. If that happens we can either front load the contract or allow Carlton to have him.

Thats my favourite outcome. Essendon get SFA, Carlton get a bloke who will be 30 before they are a flag contender and Carlisle only gets three years.

We have 650-700k to throw at another player

I know I'll change my tune if he runs out and stars in RW&B but I really feel like we've been used here as negotiating leverage.
We've been into him from the start, tabled a very generous offer and it seems he is waiting to see if the contract term will be matched by another club before nominating.
Hardly an inspiring feeling of commitment towards the club.
We might well be dodging a bullet if he doesn't come to the Saints.
I am not fussed if he does or doesn't land with us.

Carlisle sounds like a bit of a flog. Pass.

Seems like Jakey needs to be convinced. Would have thought he'd made a decision by now.

SaintPav wrote:Carlisle sounds like a bit of a flog. Pass.
Well there are three teams all who have supporters with "inside knowledge" that Carlisle is a done deal at their club,

Unless he is a triplete two clubs have been led along.

Got the feeling that is us and the Bulldogs and he want to go to Carlton

magnifisaint wrote:Seems like Jakey needs to be convinced. Would have thought he'd made a decision by now.
Why would he? If his manager's got any sense then he's telling him there's no hurry and he should hang on another week or two, see if the offers improve. It's exactly the right thing to do. The trade can't be done for a couple of weeks anyway, may as well squeeze out another 50 grand.

Why wouldn't Carlton just offer him 5 years and be done with it?

the dome

#5 stays @ St.Kilda Ess/Pies look elsewhere

If Carlisle signs up I'll trust AR, Ameet & Co. know what they're doing but I'll believe them all the more if we don't allow the pies or dons to collect either of our first 2 picks. These two clubs do not need any free kicks especially from St. Kilda.
Freeman, Carlisle and our first two picks intact is a better outcome -
that way we have some future potential coming through as well as the above mentioned two who want out of their respective clubs.
Thiese scenarios involve great balancing by the recruiters I'm sure they are entertaining the idea that the two players we could draft (Picks 1 & 2) could be very good indeed. I'm sure they would be doing their best to imagine (under the best case scenario) that these two picks could near complete this developing team structure. We shouldn't be considering letting them go lightly etc etc.
Last edited by the dome on Thu 24 Sep 2015 11:18am, edited 1 time in total.

SaintPav wrote:Carlisle sounds like a bit of a flog. Pass.
Plus one. I haven't warmed to him. Appears to be a sook and a tad disloyal.

Best full back? I know what jack elliott would say to that.

stjay

FQF wrote:Why wouldn't Carlton just offer him 5 years and be done with it?
Reckon that is in the works right now.

Re: #5 stays @ St.Kilda Ess/Pies look elsewhere

the dome wrote:If Carlisle signs up I'll trust AR, Ameet & Co. know what they're doing but I'll believe them all the more if we don't allow the pies or dons to collect either of our first 2 picks. These two clubs do not need any free kicks especially from St. Kilda.
Freeman, Carlisle and our first two picks intact is a better outcome -
that way we have some future potential coming through as well as the above mentioned two who want out of their respective clubs.
Thiese scenarios involve great balancing by the recruiters I'm sure they are entertaining the idea that the two players we could draft (Picks 1 & 2) could be very good indeed. I'm sure they would be doing their best to imagine (under the best case scenario) that these two picks could near complete this developing team structure. We shouldn't be considering letting them go lightly etc etc.
Dome I think we have to be realistic with trading in quality players. Forgetting the WADA possibilities - if Carlisle had been with the Saints OOC and wanted to leave what would we ask for him? We cant expect to get Carlisle for zip, the player himself wouldnt want that to happen and Im sure the Saints want to be seen as fair traders!

What ever scenario transpires Im sure Ameet and co will do well for the club....

We will offer pick 5 for Carlisle.
We will also snare Freeman, although that ones pretty obvious

Jacks Back wrote:Please saints don't trade this year's and next year first round draft picks for anyone. That's a big price to pay for a club that is supposed to be rebuilding from the ground up.
As long as they are swapped for a youngish player/s that will be in in our next window it makes no difference. If the player has already playeda reasonable number of games you are more derain of what you are getting, where a future pick can be anything or nothing.

ie 24 and under is all good, and that fits perfectly in our rebuilding model.

Jacks Back wrote:Please saints don't trade this year's and next year first round draft picks for anyone. That's a big price to pay for a club that is supposed to be rebuilding from the ground up.
As long as they are swapped for a youngish player/s that will be in in our next window it makes no difference. If the player has already playeda reasonable number of games you are more derain of what you are getting, where a future pick can be anything or nothing.

ie 24 and under is all good, and that fits perfectly in our rebuilding model.

st.rick

I think all the talk is just the media and manager answering simple questions.
Jake is overseas on 2 weeks holiday and i doubt he is constantly on the phone.

Playon

jaxons wrote:
Playon wrote:Anyone heard anything about Lonie being a possible trade bait? Hope its not true
Lonnie will not be traded.
Good :)

Playon

Magpies unlikely to get talented young Lion (Aish)
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-09-24/p ... ys-connors

I haven't seen much lately about us chasing Aish, is he still on our radar? Are we going to put all our eggs into the Carlisle basket?

Collingwood not interested (Connors)
http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/20 ... nnors-2015
Last edited by Playon on Thu 24 Sep 2015 3:43pm, edited 1 time in total.

Playon wrote:
jaxons wrote:
Playon wrote:Anyone heard anything about Lonie being a possible trade bait? Hope its not true
Good :)
plus one

jaxons wrote:
I'm not concerned about Lonnie. Will Lonie be traded?

kosifantutti wrote:
jaxons wrote:
I'm not concerned about Lonnie. Will Lonie be traded?

nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnno :wink:

Aish will nominate Hawks. That is the word.

Playon

jaxons : Lonnie will not be traded.

It was just SEN putting forward what we might need to do to secure Calisle based on the rumor that a popular player will be involved in the trade.

The longer this Carlisle thing goes on, the worse this trade is looking, if we were to throw everything into that trade I'd rather us go after an A grader or keep 5
Unless we can grab maybe Aish as well.

Currently we have pick 5 and Freeman ( a pick10 ) and may only lose a 3rd rounder, so were ahead

I dont want to be dragged into a bidding war with the Bulldogs. There are other young key defenders out there. We can hold off on this position another 12 months if we have to. We need A grade midfielders or it wont matter who we have in key positions - we will be thrashed anyway.

Playon

Con Gorozidis wrote:I dont want to be dragged into a bidding war with the Bulldogs. There are other young key defenders out there. We can hold off on this position another 12 months if we have to. We need A grade midfielders or it wont matter who we have in key positions - we will be thrashed anyway.
Yeah I agree, Bulldogs could offer a straight swap for Talia and maybe a pick, Offer less to Carlisle and a chance to play finals.
Then we have to beat that.

Freeman addresses some of our speed issues and we if land O'meara next year, look out.
We have Delaney and Lee in reserves and FA up our sleeve.

Playon wrote:
Yeah I agree, Bulldogs could offer a straight swap for Talia and maybe a pick, Offer less to Carlisle and a chance to play finals.
Then we have to beat that.
What Essensdon want doesn't drive this trade it's what Carlisle wants as he is uncontracted

My gut feeling is that Carlisle is all about the money - a lesser offer with the chance to play finals from the Bulldogs won't cut it - good chance we will be a finals contender soon anyway so a larger and longer contract would undoubtedly have more appeal

What Essendon want is secondary because they won't be able to force Carlisle to play for the team offering the better trade deal from their perspective if he doesn't want to go there

It has been mentioned that Carlisle has said that he doesn't want Essendon to get shafted BUT ........... as they say ....... money talks

players have been traded whilst overseas before- just ask McEvoy

anyway
The Saints have pick No.5 in the national draft and their second choice stands at No.24. In the event that it cannot come to terms on draft compensation - or a player - in return for Freeman and possibly Carlisle, the club is mindful that it could use a future selection.
Pick 5 is problematic for the Saints, because it is such a high selection and they will be keen to retain it, despite their trading objectives. They have yet to meet with Carlisle, who is overseas, but are committed to recruiting Freeman and have offered the former top 10 pick (2013 draft) a three year deal.
St Kilda's chief operating officer, Ameet Bains, indicated that the future picks could play a role in the club's trading this year, without specifically addressing Freeman or the possibility of Carlisle.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/s ... z3memGQyuE
Follow us: @theage on Twitter | theageAustralia on Facebook