Jake Carlisle

Re: Jake Carlisle

I am against signing Carlisle at this time because of where we are in our rebuild. However, after the final 6 rounds of the year, and seeing where we are talent wise, it is absolutely vital to get a 24 year old, 200 cm KPB into the side to bolster our defence. A bit of experience will help Goddard too, as he is still developing. I am prepared to trade for him so long as we don't give up our number 5 draft pick. I am still concerned about possible WADA suspension though, but then again, we wouldn't even be in the running for him if they weren't hanging over the players in the first place.
If Freeman can get over his injury woes he could be the answer for pace in the midfield too. We still need one, maybe two A graders in the midfield, and another tall forward. We just need to hope that Delaney can hold down FB for the next couple of seasons.

I honestly don't want him. I'm loathe to pay overs for him as I just dont rate him that highly....

And I also don't want to trade with Essendon for him.

I reckon he is also a bit of a sook and we don't need his bulltish.

Take our picks to the draft and go bananas at FA next year with a couple of million to play with.

saintbart

Sunday Footy Show reports that Carlisle has chosen saints as his club of choice and that negotiations are 'well advanced', according to Damian Barrett.

saintbart wrote:Sunday Footy Show reports that Carlisle has chosen saints as his club of choice and that negotiations are 'well advanced', according to Damian Barrett.
Great if he comes, great if he doesn't.
He's a good footballer, would be the best defender in the back six, so if he comes he will help immensely, if he doesn't we get another good midfielder. He definitely was frustrated at Essendon, just like Hurley was because they kept his throwing him around. He didn't settle in his preferred position.

Honestly I reckon most of the Essendon team has been frustrated with their club and for guys like Carlisle who are in their peak period of their career it must have been even harder.. The young guys are still just happy to be living the dream of an AFL star the old guys will look at it as a crap way to round off their career the guys in the Carlisle bracket would be devastated over it all.. I really can't blame him for his "sooking"

I'm sure around our team his attitude will change vastly as we seem (at least externally) to have a very happy group

The_Merchant

Was chatting with him and his manager last week and he said it was between us and Carlton. He was having a meeting at Seaford and would announce his intentions within a week.

If at first you don't succeed, sky diving is not for you.

I'll be fine if it's a front loaded contract. We have stacks of space now, so give him the bulk of it now and we should be in a great position down the track!

[quote="Munga"]I'll be fine if it's a front loaded contract. We have stacks of space now, so give him the bulk of it now and we should be in a great position down the track![/quote]

I agree. Pay him above market rate for two or three years while we have lots or room in the cap and then what you plan to pay him from then on in his last year of the contract

Would be a good pick up at the right trade. Would Dons think about a swap for Gilbert and then a lower pick as well? I know Gilbo is probably a bit old for dons list but they need some class in their back end to develop properly and be competitive. We've still got Fisher, Dempster and RAy for development.

Bluthy wrote:Would be a good pick up at the right trade. Would Dons think about a swap for Gilbert and then a lower pick as well? I know Gilbo is probably a bit old for dons list but they need some class in their back end to develop properly and be competitive. .
The Dons have Hurley and Hooker already. Both very good key defenders. They have other much greater needs than the holes that Gilbert can plug.

Wont be long now and we will know. If he nominates us then that's it. If he doesn't we should move on.

Kernal75

SEN reported just now that they expect Carlisle will nominate the Blues as his club of choice.

Kernal75 wrote:SEN reported just now that they expect Carlisle will nominate the Blues as his club of choice.
??? Who on SEN exactly stated that???

10.56AM Barrett still saying StKilda are the most likely club. ie Just stated taht StKilda are in the "box-seat"/

SEN (Bartlett) are also saying that anonymous fans are sending in SMS's that claim Carlisle will go to Carlton. But no credibility is being attached to those.

Kernal75 wrote:SEN reported just now that they expect Carlisle will nominate the Blues as his club of choice.
that's great. They won't have any success for at least 5 years

Mate texted to say he heard Carlise was doing medical with the Saints now

spert wrote:Mate texted to say he heard Carlise was doing medical with the Saints now
Ash Browne tweeted Carlisle completed his medical with the Saints this morning

spert wrote:Mate texted to say he heard Carlise was doing medical with the Saints now
Ash Browne tweeted Carlisle completed his medical with the Saints this morning
Hope his trip to Seaford didn't take too long, and the traffic was ok. :D

Bluthy wrote:Would be a good pick up at the right trade. Would Dons think about a swap for Gilbert and then a lower pick as well? I know Gilbo is probably a bit old for dons list but they need some class in their back end to develop properly and be competitive. .
The Dons have Hurley and Hooker already. Both very good key defenders. They have other much greater needs than the holes that Gilbert can plug.
Good cover defender to replace fletcher, can swing fwd or free up others to go fwd, started plaing on ball. I think it's unlikely but gilbo is our most tradable. Ross prob falls into steak knives

Kick-it-lace-out

Has anyone heard when Carlisle is likely to make his choice regarding which club he would like to be traded to?
Seems like we have put all of our eggs into the Carlisle basket with not else in the pipeline (other than Freeman).
What's plan B look like?

saintjake

Bunk Moreland or whoever is suggesting that a good deal for Carlisle is

JC and 23 for Billings and 5!!!

You have to be taking the piss Bunk!

saintjake wrote:Bunk Moreland or whoever is suggesting that a good deal for Carlisle is

Please nominate Carltoon.

That's where I think he wants to go.

Another Seaford killer.

saintjake wrote:Bunk Moreland or whoever is suggesting that a good deal for Carlisle is

dreaming. i hope.

good deal for essendon.

WTF are you on about. I never suggested that. Jesus Christ

You peple on this Forum are brain dead

WTF are you on about. I never suggested that. Jesus Christ

You peple on this Forum are brain dead
He's talking bout the Ess poster on BF

That would be a membership in the microwave moment.