Saints V Dogs Thread

Re: Saints V Dogs Thread

Acres & Minch > McCartin & Gresham for tonight.

8856brother wrote:
Toy Saint wrote:Dont think Geary has managed to butcher it yet
Hard to when you keep falling over. Webster making up for it though.
Yeh, not pretty.

dragit wrote:If Richo is fair dinkum about his 4 quarter effort requirement, then Weller, Gilbert & Ross and a few others are out this week…

Different rules for different players though as we know.
There do seem to be a few passengers who do something at times probably enough keep their spot.

We need a bigger team, not another ruck like last year but certainly some flexible height like Lee to allow for a tall player who that may need work to tend injury or to temporally fill ruck roles.
Last edited by kalsaint on Sat 02 Apr 2016 9:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Riewoldt cracks a tanty like a toddler when they dont pass to him. They put one down his throat straight in front. He misses.
Yep, that happens regularly. He bellowed at Armo last year when he didn't kick to him and Armo was right. He was leading to a pocket, facing away from goal and would need to shoot.

Going central is good practice for this team. Nick has lead to pockets for years and he demands the ball. There are often better options. Good teams don't look for pockets, they need to get off their man, Nick has been alone for way too long in this regard.

Loved Bruce because of his positioning. Regularly within the central 60 degree arc. Nick should look at that.

We are being found out. Absolutely woeful disposal is not a sustainable way to play footy.
Effort and pressure are not enough at this level. You need skill as well. Some piss poor selfish footy being played out there.

Boyd is a spud, why was Savage trying to defend him?

We havent had a single good player tonight. Not one.

LTN16

Frustrating game to watch.

Anyone had a meltdown yet??

kalsaint wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Riewoldt cracks a tanty like a toddler when they dont pass to him. They put one down his throat straight in front. He misses.
Yep, that happens regularly. He bellowed at Armo last year when he didn't kick to him and Armo was right. He was leading to a pocket, facing away from goal and would need to shoot.

Going central is good practice for this team. Nick has lead to pockets for years and he demands the ball. There are often better options. Good teams don't look for pockets, they need to get off their man, Nick has been alone for way too long in this regard.

Loved Bruce because of his positioning. Regularly within the central 60 degree arc. Nick should look at that.
agree with you guys..how did we ever put up with him ? should have dumped years ago.

Paddy would be going pretty well if he was in a blue jumper i reckon. Hard work for all our forwards tonight. No easy footy at all. Dogs are a good side. If Boyd was any good they could be scary.

dont want to knock a youngster, but i think we'd have done better a man down than with gresham - woeful tonight.

Hickey and the mids been really quiet. Stats may say otherwise. But haven't noticed any of them really.

matrix wrote:Anyone had a meltdown yet??

Ive had several. I dont mind losing but sheesh. We havent strung any passes together all night. Never looked like it.

-18 on inside 50s so far. That is a belting.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 02 Apr 2016 9:22pm, edited 1 time in total.

Wow. We are awful. To slow, taking way to long to move ball. No movement of players up the field. No one taking game on. Everyone is waiting around for someone else to do something. Team full of passengers. Passengers will terrible football skills. Not good enough.

Con Gorozidis wrote:We havent had a single good player tonight. Not one.
Richo wrote:"We as a team need to move on from just being OK. We need to be better than OK.

"Are we OK with three quarters? No we're not. Are we OK with inconsistent performance from an individual? No we're not.
Lucky we don't have Acres holding us back this week, cause we're flying.

nup I knew we were going to lose..it was always by how much. Imagine being a Footscray supporter atm..they knew they had this after the first qrt..nice place to be.. we have been there. we are beaten at nearly every contest yet we wont suffer a 100 point loss...thanks for small mercies

a long year guys...said it so many times... I guess it makes me feel better. :)

Richo wrote:"We as a team need to move on from just being OK. We need to be better than OK.

"Are we OK with three quarters? No we're not. Are we OK with inconsistent performance from an individual? No we're not.
yeah Acres would turn the game....Pfffft :oops:

Playon

Too short down back as well, could of benefited from any of Goddard, Lee or Delaney frees up Fisher to do what he does best

Coach has one rule for some players and another one for his favourites.

saintpaul74

I can't drink alcohol quick enough to watch it

Love th club, love the players and coaching team. we need to stop turn overs. Our own kicking is the main offender. Cant believe we do the hard things to win the contest then pass it up. This must be so demotivating over a 4 quarter game. This game will be a 70+ point loss if we continue to give th ball to them. Been like this for a decade, even 2009, but our team was mature, strong but slow. It only won handsomely from applied pressure, sticking to the game plan, our second stringers holding up for more than a half game and protecting the ball carrier to enable the best opportunity for cleaner kicking.
We had 3 talls forward in many games and had strong defenders that weren't seriously undersized.

Put this together with good kicking and a premiership results. Hawthorn and Eagles both have managed this team distribution and the results show. We recruit too many small players. Liked Ross Lyons take on recruitment not his game plan though.

Ive had several. I dont mind losing but sheesh. We havent strung any passes together all night. Never looked like it.

-18 on inside 50s so far. That is a belting.
I hear ya
Im losing my shite.

Coach has one rule for some players and another one for his favourites.

Edit. We have had ONE good player - Newnes can hold his head high.

Sometimes you just have to shake you head and laugh. Lonie to Paddy. :lol: