Match Thread Saints v Demons @ Etihad

Playon

Re: Match Thread Saints v Demons @ Etihad

Play Roo in the forward line? Bugger me
Why would we do that?

8856brother wrote:Last week we couldn't kick or handpass. This week we can't hang on to a mark. Bruce hasn't the same hands he had last year and Fisher is scary underneath the pill.

Could be in front really. They are front runners. If we can get on top in the midfield we will beat them.

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk
Good effort by the team 2nd qtr. Sinclair and Acres are special. Membrey cant keep spilling marks as the third forward hes going to get opportunities and needs to take them.

Hogam is a problem but overall the midfield is doing well and has now near leveled the Inside 50s and clearances while winning the contested footy. Pleased to see the tackles have been adjusted from last week.

magnifisaint wrote:Acres is ready to explode. You can see that he is going to be a beast.
I just want to re-iterate this. Acres is close in age to Petracca. Different draft years but similar age.

Acres 20y 7months v Petraca 20y 4 months.

Entertaining match. When we eliminate bad turnovers well b a good team. Hogan in form need more double teaming on him. Gresh and acres bringing a smile to my face

Love Sinclair. This guy could turn into a champ. Just got a lot of smarts.

ssaintss wrote:whos on hogan
Gilbert now.

I know it's only Melbourne, and the guy is irreplaceable, but I do get nervous seeing Roo dominate games like this knowing he's probably only got another season left...I'd prefer he was a Richo-esque bit player by now, but he is just so good. Never mind...we replaced Plugger, we'll find away without Nick in the future too. :(

Playon wrote:Play Roo in the forward line? Bugger me
Why would we do that?
Well I'm not convinced about montagna in the backline either
He has been bit costly and he's not quick anymore

Con Gorozidis wrote:Basis Semplas so biased.

That was pathetic by Joey. So slow.
Yeah the commentary is very annoying. Am muting it for the second half which is a big call as DARCEHOLE isn't on. Good to see the pre game flog fest about Gawn has fizzled. He will fizzle away this season, prolly get injured and we will forget about his awesome games recently.

We should be 6 goals ahead. Melbourne Defence has been shown up for the slow creaky unit they are. Our backline needs to tighten up though apart from Slowgans goals they are doing ok.

If we let this one slip it will be a disgrace.

Still got a problem with dumb decision making and poor disposal by foot- maybe Richo needs to get Webster, Gilbert and Armo aside and remind them about it. A better quarter and pleased to see Acres doing well- great awareness and smarts as does Sinclair. Monty having a shocker, playing for frees and fumbling.
I would like to see Bruce leading more to the player coming down the ground instead of trying to win contests.

degruch wrote:I know it's only Melbourne, and the guy is irreplaceable, but I do get nervous seeing Roo dominate games like this knowing he's probably only got another season left...I'd prefer he was a Richo-esque bit player by now, but he is just so good. Never mind...we replaced Plugger, we'll find away without Nick in the future too. :(
He's easily in the top 10 forwards probably top 5. The way he is going he's got 3 years left.

kalsaint wrote:
ssaintss wrote:whos on hogan
Gilbert now.
Then Schultz

Then Hochstetter will get a crack at him before Klink mops up in the last qtr :mrgreen:
Last edited by stevie on Sat 30 Apr 2016 4:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

Can't bear it at home. Especially the commentary. Picked up the scarf and the oldest kid and standing at the station. Etihad here we come. Go saints!

Con Gorozidis wrote:Minch could be playing himself out an AFL career today. Two weeks in a row where he hasnt look close. He is 22 but runs like he is 82.
Didn't know he was on the ground!

Would be further ahead with Carlisle.

magnifisaint wrote:Acres is ready to explode. You can see that he is going to be a beast.
I just want to re-iterate this. Acres is close in age to Petracca. Different draft years but similar age.

Yes Acres doing well but we need that comparison this time next year to be really sure of how they have developed. Acres was a star in the WAFL before the Saints grabbed him.
Last edited by kalsaint on Sat 30 Apr 2016 4:06pm, edited 1 time in total.

Entertaining game.

Melbourne fwd line and midfield looks ok but agree with stevie that their back line needs work.

silverhalo

Blake Acres is an absolute beauty - should be allowed to string a few games together, he could be every bit as good as Bontempelli if not better.

Playon

sunsaint wrote:
Playon wrote:Play Roo in the forward line? Bugger me
Why would we do that?
Well I'm not convinced about montagna in the backline either
He has been bit costly and he's not quick anymore
The Roo comment was a bit of tongue-in-cheek.
But Joey is down back to improve our kicking for one thing

11 shots to 3 that 2nd quarter and they kicked 3 goals straight.

Some bad misses in front of goal that quarter. We should really be more in front. Come on saints, turn it around this quarter.

Milne

While it's great to see us playing well we should be much further in front. Too many easy misses

kalsaint wrote:

Yes Acres doing well but we need that comparison this time next year to be really sure of how they have developed.
Yep agree. I am just saying Petracca was an old draftee. Jan 4. So was old in the TAC cup in his final year. Acres was very young when drafted.
Imagine if Acres had played another year as a junior before entering the draft. Would have been a top 5 pick for sure.

Same goes for Brayshaw - Jan 9 dob. Old draftee. So Acres is close in age to these guys.

Acres > Brayshaw.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 30 Apr 2016 4:09pm, edited 2 times in total.

kalsaint wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Minch could be playing himself out an AFL career today. Two weeks in a row where he hasnt look close. He is 22 but runs like he is 82.
Didn't know he was on the ground!
How about putting Minch in the middle? Get him in the game and he is a clearance machine (in the vfl at least).

Milne wrote:While it's great to see us playing well we should be much further in front. Too many easy misses
MUST convert Q3. Reckon Richo will be all over that, it was one of the few things letting us down.

George27

stevie wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Basis Semplas so biased.

That was pathetic by Joey. So slow.
Yeah the commentary is very annoying. Am muting it for the second half which is a big call as DARCEHOLE isn't on. Good to see the pre game flog fest about Gawn has fizzled. He will fizzle away this season, prolly get injured and we will forget about his awesome games recently.

We should be 6 goals ahead. Melbourne Defence has been shown up for the slow creaky unit they are. Our backline needs to tighten up though apart from Slowgans goals they are doing ok.

If we let this one slip it will be a disgrace.
Pity I can't mute the Dees fans behind me. Idiots. Still, they are starting to turn on their players- with the exception of Hogan of course. They acknowledge Riewoldt, recognise Sinclair ( as they all know he went to Scotch College, old boy ). For mine, Acres and Hickey fabulous, and lots of good run. If Josh and Timmy can clunk a few we might win this thing.