Anyone at the game see this?

Re: Anyone at the game see this?

Please don't post links to websites you have to pay to view.
Just copy paste the text if you think it is relevant.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Please don't post links to websites you have to pay to view.
And more so when there is not even a headline to suggest what it may be about...

"A St Kilda footy fan is accused of putting a policeman in hospital after losing his son at last Saturday’s match at Etihad Stadium.

David Mark Dow, 41, of Warrnambool allegedly went ballistic after police questioned him about how he came to lose his son in the 17,000-strong crowd.

Mr Dow had been a special guest of the Saints at their clash with Fremantle, which included him being granted access into the change rooms after the game.

But the Melbourne Magistrates’ Court heard Mr Dow — who was still dressed in his Saints polo — snapped after his son was found by police partially naked in the women’s toilets.

He has been charged with intentionally causing injury to a police officer, assaulting police, leaving a child without proper supervision and other related assault charges.

Detective Sen-Constable Dianne Dale said the boy, who had special needs, came to police attention after a “toilet mishap”."

aaron82

I did see this happen. It was half time outside aisle 35 bottom concourse. I was with the old man and a mate having a conversation about how woeful we were playing and out of the corner of my eye I saw the paramedics about 5 metres away, assumed someone was having a medical issue as I could see a wheelchair and thought nothing more of it. Kept waffling on about our favorite whipping boys and about a minute later this man with what appeared to be a batman headband went Ken Bruce. Allegedly he hit an officer and all of a sudden in the middle of the aisle 5 officers pinned him down and tried to restrain him. I thought he had to be on something as they were big officers and they had a hard time holding him down, I was stunned. Took about 5 mins to get the cuffs on him, they almost had to hog tie him to get him out. Scary stuff.

and that's the bottom line

I would not get on the wrong side of anyone from 'the Bool'.
Sounds like an unfortunate incident.

st sandy

I mentioned this in another thread, i saw the end of this incident & it was terrible...did not know who was at fault or what caused the issues. however the saint man continually resisted the police while on the ground & was carried off by about 4 of them
The absolute terror in the eyes of his 4 year old son stayed with me for the rest of the day.

Apples

Yes, I'm Aaron82's dad and pretty much agree with what he and St Sandy said. First I saw a lady cop leading the 4yo boy around, thought he had just been lost but it was a bit unusual as he was in some sort of gown. Then I saw 2 cops leading this bloke up from the terraces to the walkway and there were 2 cops waiting at the top to assist, thought it must have been for language or something, nothing untoward at this stage. Next thing the guy wacks one of the coppers at the top of the stairs and goes ballistic, it looked a bit like the 90 Grand Final melee, took 5 minutes for 4 burly officers to subdue and cuff him, they even had him hog tied for a time.

All thru this the guy was yelling obscenities, agree with Aaron82 looked like he was on ice or something such was his strength. Coppers finally carried the him out, one on each leg and arm, the guy still yelling. Very unfortunate incident and certainly something the club could do without.

And more so when there is not even a headline to suggest what it may be about...
Apologies - don't know what happend. When I previewed the msg it had the heading in it, which basically said that a cop was put in hospital by a saints supporter at the game last Saturday. Was confident if anyone had seen the incident the heading would be enough. I don't subscribe to the HS so didn't read the article and was interested if anyone could elaborate

Moods wrote:
Apologies - don't know what happend. When I previewed the msg it had the heading in it, which basically said that a cop was put in hospital by a saints supporter at the game last Saturday. Was confident if anyone had seen the incident the heading would be enough. I don't subscribe to the HS so didn't read the article and was interested if anyone could elaborate
All good. Just there are often links where this is no idea what it is on about.
Headlines sometimes allow you to get access as the story is often on other sitets. And a key para may be enough for the gist.

But understand that you did not have access, but perhaps could have mention that in the OP.

cheers.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Mon 30 May 2016 11:22am, edited 1 time in total.

Moods wrote:
Headlines sometimes allow you to get access as the story is often on other sitets. Anda key para may be enough for the gits.

But understand that you did not have access, but perhaps could have mention that in the OP.

cheers.
Language.

Just tragic a kid witnesses this.... we wonder why the cycle sometimes continues....sad all round

Jacks Back wrote:
Moods wrote:
Headlines sometimes allow you to get access as the story is often on other sitets. Anda key para may be enough for the gits.

cheers.
Language.
Sorry that was meant to gist and not gits :oops:

Apples wrote: Very unfortunate incident and certainly something the club could do without.
What does it have to do with the club??

Johnny Member wrote:
Apples wrote: Very unfortunate incident and certainly something the club could do without.
What does it have to do with the club??
Nothing.

Apples

Well not quite true Perfectionist, the article is on page 2 of the HS so hardly hidden away, leads off that the alleged offender was a St Kilda supporter, that he was a special guest of the club on the day and was to be granted special access to the St Kilda Rooms after the game, I would have thought that qualifies as not a positive report for the club especially when we a trying to get our women's team up and running.

So will this imbecile get a life ban from all AFL games?

Why don't the cops have pepper spray or tazers to help them in extreme situations such as these??

saintspremiers wrote:So will this imbecile get a life ban from all AFL games?

Why don't the cops have pepper spray or tazers to help them in extreme situations such as these??
Cops carry pepper spray at the footy but no-one has a tazer. The only really effective way to subdue someone is with one of those big cans though, the smaller sprays are nigh on useless. And only a few carry those, usually the Sergeants. Generally don't see this type of unmitigated violence at the footy these days. Police rely on the strength in numbers tactic to subdue which often does the trick - the offender sees they're outnumbered and will often reluctantly surrender.

Was just a really strange scenario. The fact that he was guest of the club at a corporate function and was meant to be a guest after the games in the rooms would suggest that the club held him in some sort of esteem - and then it appears he has gone completely off tap. Obviously didn't appreciate the suggestion/insinuation by the copper that maybe he should have been looking after his kid. The hide of the copper, this bloke should be allowed to have a skinful without worrying about his pesky kid all game.

Moods wrote:

Cops carry pepper spray at the footy but no-one has a tazer. The only really effective way to subdue someone is with one of those big cans though, the smaller sprays are nigh on useless. And only a few carry those, usually the Sergeants. Generally don't see this type of unmitigated violence at the footy these days. Police rely on the strength in numbers tactic to subdue which often does the trick - the offender sees they're outnumbered and will often reluctantly surrender.

Was just a really strange scenario. The fact that he was guest of the club at a corporate function and was meant to be a guest after the games in the rooms would suggest that the club held him in some sort of esteem - and then it appears he has gone completely off tap. Obviously didn't appreciate the suggestion/insinuation by the copper that maybe he should have been looking after his kid. The hide of the copper, this bloke should be allowed to have a skinful without worrying about his pesky kid all game.
Though may have won a prize, or been a sponsors guest etc etc

ie Mean my wife at the game won us the 4 Pepper Money seats and in theory made us guests of the club....so LOL no checking there as to our bona-fides. Just the 4 comfy recliners, free booze and a personal escort from Longer and Freeman to our seats. We could have been even bigger bogans for all the club knew :wink:

HardSaint

a bloke gets upset about losing his kid and finding him half naked???
Then the traumatised kid has to witness his dad getting wrestled to the ground

Mr Dow’s lawyer argued his client was upset after losing his child and denied he used him as a shield.
“The boy threw himself into his arms,” he claimed.
He said Mr Dow snapped after police aggressively approached him about his son.
Magistrate Alan Spillane said it was likely Mr Dow was upset because he had lost a special-needs child under his care.

Your solution is pepper spray and tasers ...

HardSaint wrote:

Mr Dow’s lawyer argued his client was upset after losing his child and denied he used him as a shield.
Magistrate Alan Spillane said it was likely Mr Dow was upset because he had lost a special-needs child under his care.

Well it would have been a fraction over the top if they used their guns.

HardSaint wrote:

That's if you believe that story. I'll go with the witness accounts on this thread thanks

Pepper spray would have been dangerous for all the ppl around him.

That stuff spreads

what if you get pepper spray on your hotdog ? would that be ok ?

maybe they could invent a sauce spray ?

Vic police just usually shoot people don't they?