Match Thread Saints v Port Round 19 2017

St.Roly

Re: Match Thread Saints v Port Round 19 2017

loris wrote:Gee Ricuitto (? Spelling) has the 'hates' for Josh Bruce - he pots at him at every opportunity. He won't even give him a smiddgen of credit for the efforts Bruce continually puts in
Spot on. He was supposed to have somehow stopped tracking the flight of the ball back and crashed forward into the Port players.

Our pressure has been good

Backline holding up well

Gotta keep running and try and go through the middle of the ground more and switch it

Port don't look like they want to run - they have a few heavy mid fielders so its a slog for them and they aren't covering the ground well

Get some order into our forward line and we will win this

BadRossco

The only thing worse than our field kicking is our kicking for goal. Will be almost impossible to win with such poor skills and the home bias of the umpiring. Although the umps aren't kicking it for us but perhaps they would do a better job.

Riccuito was a great footballer. As a commentator he strikes me as a conceited knob who comes across as either too bored or too good to be watching the game.

Josh Bruce - outstanding in his frenetic attack at the ball at all times. Crazily courageous in his running back with the ball marking attempt when the behind post spoiled his effort.

vantheman

saints are right in this match but they need a lot more from acres,gresh and weller

as usual, despite staged free kick and goal loney is a total waste of time

great persistence and effort from the boys in the 2nd 1/4

more of that + some polish + increased effort from the above and the saints are right in this
would help if they all lower their eyes when kicking into the fwd line

c'mon blakey lift and bring us home
Last edited by vantheman on Sat 29 Jul 2017 7:01pm, edited 1 time in total.

Darth Vader

thecrevis wrote:
Darth Vader wrote:
thecrevis wrote:
Darth Vader wrote:
thecrevis wrote:Jack Lonie is a shocker. How is he in this team.
He's our only goal scorer.
What on earth is your point
Bleeding obvious I would've thought. He's now kicked 50% of our goals so would still keep him.
He has one goal from a set shot. That doesn't warrant any f****** players spot in a Team. Watch the f****** match!
I f****** am! He's f****** been f****** s*** but no f****** worse than everyf******one else.

SemperFidelis wrote:Have been pleased with Dunny so far today; except for the one failed attempt to break a tackle has been very clean with the ball ... almost looked "pacey"
there on a couple of occasions ...
Cant kick on his right and got done - inexcusable when going inside 50

never going to get the rub of the green in adelaide, but the non free to bruce, followed by the free against acres was a 12 point turnaround. amazed at criticism of bruce not playing for the free by ruccutio after his criticism of lonie for doing exactly that.
on bruce's post collision - why wasn't a mark awarded anyway? had control of the ball when he hit it.

SuperSaint

SoopaSaint wrote:Sometimes boys get ahead of themselves... boys like Billings. "Yeah but he's a lovely young man..." I hear all you grandmothers saying. You wouldn't believe the number of 'lovely young men' we've had through this Club in the last 25 years! None of them can play football - that's their ONLY problem. We have no respect in this league... we move 'home' like street people... we sell our souls to get into the black... and once we have been at one location long enough we go to our fans and members, cap in embarrassing hand, asking for money to rights the wrongs of the past. Seriously - something needs to be done about THIS Club!
Well I can't disagree with that. Billings just CANNOT win his own ball in so many games I've watched and when he can't finish, he is a very average VFL player at best....fact! Like I said last week, it's soul breaking watching a slightly younger and same height Heeney win hard ball plays and kill Billings in general play. Hawks hit Swans hard last night and got a win, beating the so called form team of the past 2 months. Have too many players that go missing in contests.

WTF?! Acres, you idiot!!

Can we get some forwards who actually back themselves in front of goal?

ralphsmith

THAT WAS DISGRACEFUL STKILDA !!! DISGRACEFUL GARBAGE.
Now do better :)

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.
Bruce G McAbee

Have we got the dumbest players or what.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Anyone got a link for a stream?

Darth Vader

Bruce G McAbee wrote:Have we got the dumbest players or what.
Agree 100%. I reckon this is our biggest problem. Our players are genuinely stupid.

WHY TAKE ADVANTAGE

ralphsmith

s*** advantage

dals_da_bomb

Omg.

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.

I am going to blow a gasket

Run all the way into goal for F*** sake!!!!!

ralphsmith

NOT good enough Gresham. That is really not good enough.

dals_da_bomb

Can we have royal commission in to our goal kicking?

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.
ralphsmith

shrodes wrote:I am going to blow a gasket
I know this is maddening!!

SuperSaint

Darth Vader wrote:
Bruce G McAbee wrote:Have we got the dumbest players or what.
Agree 100%. I reckon this is our biggest problem. Our players are genuinely stupid.

Can't argue with that either because what other reason for such ugly crap footy in many games this year.

Saintly66

Love Gresham, safe to say he needs to get this whole "need to hog the ball" out of his game had it since juniors. Pathetic.

Roo reckons we can't keep kicking points. Oh Roo, if only...