Do we start worrying about Paddy McCartin?

Re: Do we start worrying about Paddy McCartin?

cowboy18 wrote:We long time supporters remember supercoach Tim Watson's masterstroke of playing Barry Hall in defence for a little while around 1999/2000. Worked a treat,

Kick started his career if I remember correctly.

Surely Richo can play Paddy down back? May be just the thing to get his career started.
Barry was a natural forward and actually did ok considering but that was under Malcolm Blight in 2001.

Splodge

Have to agree with a previous poster, one of the Stupidest threads I've ever read on hear.
He's 18 for ffs!!

Megamaguire

S T E A D Y A S S H E G O E S !

Newly arrived Paddy is by all accounts doing all the right things.
Still V. happy to have Paddy on board and recognise he has a right to some breathing space and development time before expectations get too overplayed.
I suppose with Lonie, Sinclair & McKenzie producing some startling games in the last month there is an expectation of McCartin & Goddard & Acers to do the same.
However development is still the big focus and has a ways to run before we get too demanding. I would rather see the club put a broad and solid development into the young players that arrive. As much as I'd also like to see Hugh G. in the team right now I'd rather see him settling in first and being more ready to join the big time.
I am not feeling we need to rush the young guys.

G O S A I N T S! :D

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

Any chance we can make this thread a sticky?

Such a gem, it would be a shame to see it slip off the main page.

de-list.

boneless23

We don't need to worry about Paddy for at least 2-3 years. All the punters who are negatively comparing McCartin to Hogan are kidding themsleves as Hogan had a full year in the VFL as a 17 year old and another year in an elite system last year while he was working through his back issues. I acknowledge that Hogan was more productive in the VFL than McCartin has been so far but big guys develop at different rates and Paddy has already shown glimpses of his rare talent.

We should be worried about Lee and White though. It would seem Lee's papers have been stamped as a key forward and he is behind Goddard for the next cab off the rank as a key back. White is playing in the dirty thirds which he can't be comfortable with as a third year player but he has massive upside and could still develop into a player for us. Its amazing how far Bruce has gone past White this year, given that at the back end of 2014 it was White who was looking like the better forward.

Up there with last year's Jack Billings thread.

I'm worried about Paddy.

Here's some other things I'm also worried about
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0e10baH6cE

SaintPav wrote:Up there with last year's Jack Billings thread.

At least Paddy is from the country. I have no idea what Billings provides. City boy. Delist.

And he can take his Oakleigh Charger city boy mates McKenzie and Sinclair with him :twisted:

The continued rapid development of Josh Bruce as a key forward this season takes a lot of pressure off Paddy and off the club. If Paddy does develop, we'll have two gun key forwards for the first time since Gehrig and a young Riewoldt.

The best thing about it from McCartin's point of view is that he has plenty of time on his side. There is no desperate need for him to set the world on fire.

I am becoming more worried about our supporter base.. more and more. Seriously

The enthusiasm is ok but the lack of footy nouse is worrying.

cowboy18 wrote:We long time supporters remember supercoach Tim Watson's masterstroke of playing Barry Hall in defence for a little while around 1999/2000. Worked a treat,

Kick started his career if I remember correctly.

Surely Richo can play Paddy down back? May be just the thing to get his career started.
Barry was a natural forward and actually did ok considering but that was under Malcolm Blight in 2001.
Maybe the same for Lee as a forward now defender. I can see him playing over 100 AFL games in defence for us. A natural.

I doubt Lee will play 25 games for us let alone a hundred.

saintbob wrote:I doubt Lee will play 25 games for us let alone a hundred.
I think they have finally got some performance at VFL level from him. If he gets a foot in the door he looks like he might be a keeper. I imagine he's being groomed to take Fishers role ATM. Fisher was also a forward who went back.

It would be ideal if Lee could develop into a decent CHB capable of replacing Fisher - another tile in place. I have my doubts. As for McCartin - who knows, but does look like he'll need a lot of time and development. Doesn't look a natural to me. My worry is we went in a bit desperate after the Doggies just inflated the worth of potential good key forwards and simultaneosly removed Cameron from the picture. Fingers crossed.

desertsaint wrote:It would be ideal if Lee could develop into a decent CHB capable of replacing Fisher - another tile in place. I have my doubts. As for McCartin - who knows, but does look like he'll need a lot of time and development. Doesn't look a natural to me. My worry is we went in a bit desperate after the Doggies just inflated the worth of potential good key forwards and simultaneosly removed Cameron from the picture. Fingers crossed.

I don't know about that.

Boyd looks to a be very one-dimensional big marking forward. So I am glad the Doggies are paying him a $million a year and not us.

Cameron is clearly a freak and the best of all the GWC big forwards and so I doubt that GWC would ever have let him go.
= Cameron is the complete package....plays like a giant mid, has good skills and has great goal sense.

The others are basically just big marking forwards. Cameron is the special one.

I think they have finally got some performance at VFL level from him. If he gets a foot in the door he looks like he might be a keeper. I imagine he's being groomed to take Fishers role ATM. Fisher was also a forward who went back.
He has been playing well in the VFL but he was playing exceptionally well in the WAFL a couple of years ago... Not sure I see him as a lock myself, hope he proves me wrong but he still has a lot to prove .

I reckon you've done this country boy/city boy schtick about a thousand times now.
Whoever you're railing against will have seen it. Let it go. Please.

Armoooo wrote:
He has been playing well in the VFL but he was playing exceptionally well in the WAFL a couple of years ago... Not sure I see him as a lock myself, hope he proves me wrong but he still has a lot to prove .

You are right but he at least seems to have spot and is playing very good footy at the level he is at. You can't ask for anything else from a player. Richardson said there wasn't a spot for Goddard yet because the core of our defence has been solid. The only problem with it is that it will only be in tact a few years at best with Fisher and Dempster not getting any younger. Right now the only two obvious replacements are Lee and Goddard. If we get an injury or form slump one will need to come in. If Delaney goes down you would think Goddard. If Fisher goes down Lee should come in.

I said I suspected that Goddards frame look as if he will fill out to be a hulk. Richo also said he will be Cloke size. He is going to be a very scary full back in a few years.

Saints43 wrote:

I reckon you've done this country boy/city boy schtick about a thousand times now.
Whoever you're railing against will have seen it. Let it go. Please.
its well known that city boys are soft - especially those private scholarship kids :wink:
by the way Im not worried about Paddy & in 12 months time there will be a cure for type1 diabetes

Furphy wrote:I don't think Paddy was a top ten draft pick, but he will improve. Petracca was the obvious choice.

I was roundly abused for this post in 2015, three years later it appears I've been vindicated

RODOS wrote:ahh, looking forward to bumping this thread in three years
I beat you to it

Furphy wrote:
Furphy wrote:I don't think Paddy was a top ten draft pick, but he will improve. Petracca was the obvious choice.

I was roundly abused for this post in 2015, three years later it appears I've been vindicated
Vindicated?

It was absurd 3 years ago and it is still too early to be crowing about.

When he retires without making 100 games then you should bump all 50 threads and wink at yourself in the mirror.

Absurd to believe P.M. was not a good number one draft pick?