Carlisle

Re: Carlisle

I’d also point out that Carlisle doesn’t collect JR’s head with his hand/fist... the actual contact is with his forearm.

In terms of severity, I think that should count for something. You can’t exactly hurt someone with your forearm, so in all actuality it’s the fall that caused the injury.

To be honest... I would say free kick is all it deserved

Richmond coach said there was nothing in it."Accidents happen."

He shouldn't have to answer to anything. Clearly an accident, as none of Riewoldt's teammates remonstrated with Carlisle after the incident. Of course Richmond supporters used that as a reason to boo him all day.

Sainternist wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 4:10pm He shouldn't have to answer to anything. Clearly an accident, as none of Riewoldt's teammates remonstrated with Carlisle after the incident. Of course Richmond supporters used that as a reason to boo him all day.
Ferals.

We all know the AFL can rule either way and there's confusion and inconsistency no matter what the structures ( 1 person or a review panel last few years) because the AFL has profits and ratings as its primary concerns before determining any suspensions.

Cox could have cuased Johannesson a serious neck injury and yet he is cleared to play for a reckless and dangerous act. Are they seriously wanting the public to believe that thesystem for suspending players is based on common sense or fairness. When Buddy knocked out Hamling they also deemed it accidental. WTF. Since when is it ok to fend off or break a tackle by splitting someone's chin and they are concussed for the remainder of the match?

Ryna Burton chose to bump and put Shaun Higgins in hospital because of on accidental head knock. Higgins was concussed and missed weeks of footy. The Match Review and Micheal Christian cleared Burton because they deemed it was accidental...

Cox had a choice and he chose to drive his hip into Jason's neck. Buddy had a choice and he chose to to use his elbow to break free. Burton had a choice and he chose to bump instead of shepherd. What choice did Carlisle have when the footy is right there and you are spoiling? It's a pure footy incident and purely incidental contact. If Carlisle is suspended the club needs to challenge

is a ripper

Tommyj

I think the boy is a bit clumsy at times re Buckley fine lol not us

2-3 weeks as Riewoldt left the ground and didn't return. MRP must take a stand or there will be outrage
Last edited by DJ Higgins on Mon 28 May 2018 1:31pm, edited 1 time in total.

Milne

DJ Higgins wrote: Mon 28 May 2018 10:37am 2-3 weeks as Riewoldt left the ground and didn't return. MRP must take a stand or their be outrage
I don't know if the MRP necessarily should be taking a stand against accidental high conduct.

Looking at the slo-mo it does look like JR did most of the damage to himself in his awkward landing.
Will MC look favourably on that or still deem the contact caused the awkward fall and hold Jake responsible?

Answer - who would know at the MRP continues to be a (un)lucky dip!

Ah well, it will give Hugh Goddard a chance. Apparently he was quite good yesterday for Sandi.

Think it will be a couple of weeks, but I reckon Rance would get off for doing exactly the same thing.

E.g. How on earth Fyfe runs into a pack trying to kick the ball and knocked Carlisle out isn't considered a dangerous and reckless action is a joke.

dragit wrote: Mon 28 May 2018 11:02am Think it will be a couple of weeks, but I reckon Rance would get off for doing exactly the same thing.

E.g. How on earth Fyfe runs into a pack trying to kick the ball and knocked Carlisle out isn't considered a dangerous and reckless action is a joke.
I couldn’t agree more and I think the club should point this out vigorously and publicly if he gets a couple.

They see Jake as a bad egg because of a few past incidents.

Big stars such as Buddy and Fyfe are given the benefit of the doubt that contact was accidental, but Carlisle would have purposely fixed him up because he’s a dog and he plays for a s*** club anyway ... that’s how they see these types of things

Grrrrr

I'd argue that the head knock JR received the week before contributed to his concussion on the weekend. At one stage he was not going to play.
So should get off but with the inconsistencies of the tribunal, 1 week.

how about the lack of remonstration from other Tigers?
And the fact that it wasn't a 50m penalty, just a "too high" free?
Contact occurred in the act of spoiling, simple, to me anyway.
He might just get a fine.
Because WCE had a good win, maybe the AFL don't need to help them as much,
and we're no threat anyway.

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 28 May 2018 12:56pm how about the lack of remonstration from other Tigers?
And the fact that it wasn't a 50m penalty, just a "too high" free?
Contact occurred in the act of spoiling, simple, to me anyway.
He might just get a fine.
Because WCE had a good win, maybe the AFL don't need to help them as much,
and we're no threat anyway.
maybe his team mates dont like him

Milne wrote: Mon 28 May 2018 10:42am
DJ Higgins wrote: Mon 28 May 2018 10:37am 2-3 weeks as Riewoldt left the ground and didn't return. MRP must take a stand or their be outrage
I don't know if the MRP necessarily should be taking a stand against accidental high conduct.
ahhh but there was high contact causing an opposition player to not play for the rest of the game. I agree that it wasn't intentional or there there was any malice in it but Tigers lost a player due to a clumsy effort. Id say 2-3 weeks possibly knocked down to 1 week if he takes the early plea

DJ Higgins wrote: Mon 28 May 2018 1:35pm
Milne wrote: Mon 28 May 2018 10:42am
ahhh but there was high contact causing an opposition player to not play for the rest of the game. I agree that it wasn't intentional or there there was any malice in it but Tigers lost a player due to a clumsy effort. Id say 2-3 weeks possibly knocked down to 1 week if he takes the early plea
They're not there to make stands.

They're there to tick boxes.

High contact: tick
High impact: tick (given he was concussed)
Careless: ?
Reckless: ?
Intentional: No.

Do the sums, and you'll get your verdict.

Careless high contact with high impact = 2 weeks.

His only hope is if it's deemed a pure accident. Which is probably doubtful.

Two weeks

Appeal

We have to stand behind Jake and appeal this - FFS Cox got a fine for his intentional bump

Even if we lose the appeal - we need to show some guts and belief in Jake!

Jacks Back wrote: Mon 28 May 2018 5:05pmAppeal
No, we like being bent over

What BS. Now two games against two of the better teams without our most in form player :(

Typical of the AFL and MRP to finger us. Cox performs a far more dangerous act and its all good. Fyfe, Buddy no case to answer. We have always copped these rubbish calls and the AFL know we will accept it and the media will say nothing about it.

Really should appeal.

I would not expect him to get off because he still knocked the bloke out. However I would be hoping to get it reduced.

Stand by your player St Kilda. Stop ripping everyone off.