Pesky Two year Contract extension

It occurs to me that the two year extension itself has triggered the form slump (doh!, you say). AR is certainly not inspirational, he is a very well paid time serving plodder (not sure if honest can be added to that yet). Two year extension reinforced his ultra conservative approach and use of old or outdated second hand tactics. He personally was now set so why would a rational person change. Very comfortable, so you delegate - he never seems to have been/or be comfortable with having personal relationship with players in any case. At the same time players seem bored with his approach after a couple of years and annoyed at some things - like the Carlton/Murphy white flag stuff and no selection on playing merit (I think Alan reckons injury of an incumbent causes opportunity not superior form). Result, assistants all go for broke with their individual ideas, game plans (yes plural) get out of anyone's control, Alan is already a soufflé that didn't rise as far as the playing group is concerned hence the rubbish that is served up. The Board must have so wished AR was the person but were/are wrong and now we all live with the sorry situation. Most positives over the last few years seem serendipitous rather than planned/inspired e.g. our former best forward was recruited as a back and gun younger promising players have only got games though force of circumstance. Freeman was left a game too long in the VFL where it is inevitable a star will eventually be smashed. We just bob along, hoping someone sensible will take control, mouthing the clichés and banking the salaries. When "KPIs" become ends in themselves and winning a hoped for after thought its a few long seasons to 2021. Abandon all hope?

Re: Pesky Two year Contract extension

Yorkeys wrote: Sun 24 Jun 2018 10:06am When "KPIs" become ends in themselves and winning a hoped for after thought....
That's actually exactly what KPIs are.

He probably still has around $1 million on his contract to run I reckon. Maybe more. Its a big payout if he gets sacked.

I agree with the op on Freeman but not much else.

Plenty of factors contributed to where we are now;

1. Carlisle and Murphy incident and our clubs piss week response

2. Retirements of Fisher, Roo, Joey and Dempster, with no leadership or A grade players to replace them

3. Poor recruitment

4. Injuries to key players. At one stage we had 14 players unavailable for selection

5. Difficult draw

6. Umpire bias.

7. Poor on-field leadership

8. Atrocious goal kicking skills

Perfect storm IMHO.

parkeysainter wrote: Sun 24 Jun 2018 11:01am He probably still has around $1 million on his contract to run I reckon. Maybe more. Its a big payout if he gets sacked.
I keep reading about a 3 month payout clause in his contract though.

Apparently only $150k payout.

rodgerfox wrote: Sun 24 Jun 2018 12:20pm
parkeysainter wrote: Sun 24 Jun 2018 11:01am He probably still has around $1 million on his contract to run I reckon. Maybe more. Its a big payout if he gets sacked.
I keep reading about a 3 month payout clause in his contract though.

Apparently only $150k payout.
If that is the case then he may be in trouble come the end of the season. Personally, I would like to see him coach next year to see how Richo, the side and the club responds. If it turns out badly then its time to move on. There will be significant changes at season's end anyway.

saynta wrote: Sun 24 Jun 2018 11:04am I agree with the op on Freeman but not much else.

2. Retirements of Fisher, Roo, Joey and Dempster, with no leadership or A grade players to replace them

3. Poor recruitment

4. Injuries to key players. At one stage we had 14 players unavailable for selection

5. Difficult draw

6. Umpire bias.

Perfect storm IMHO.
You forgot the aboriginal bone curse that bastard from the NT put on the Saints a long time ago. Its still in force.

parkeysainter wrote: Sun 24 Jun 2018 1:31pm
saynta wrote: Sun 24 Jun 2018 11:04am I agree with the op on Freeman but not much else.

3. Poor recruitment

5. Difficult draw

6. Umpire bias.

Perfect storm IMHO.
You forgot the aboriginal bone curse that bastard from the NT put on the Saints a long time ago. Its still in force.
A mate told me how to get rid of the crow curse. Feed it, which I did on the morning of the Suns :D :D :wink: :lol: match.

felix

3. Poor recruitment

5. Difficult draw

6. Umpire bias.

Perfect storm IMHO.
Need to find that guy...the curse can only be removed by the person who placed it....probably passed away knowing our luck.

felix wrote: Sun 24 Jun 2018 3:15pm

3. Poor recruitment

5. Difficult draw

6. Umpire bias.

Perfect storm IMHO.
Need to find that guy...the curse can only be removed by the person who placed it....probably passed away knowing our luck.
John Kelly was his name.

John Kelly Country (legally known as John Morris Kelly)

this guy ?

thats the man
curser of the maggots n the brownbaggers
(no mention of the Saints)

in the following thread alone , maggot supporters claim the curse as their own
but better than that , admit that St Kilda were a better footy side

so ... its either , someone else 'cursed' us or the kelly country curse worked on them
'n not on us
either way ... we are as we claim ... so let them have it ... they deserve it

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/ ... 075/page-5