Match Thread Saints v Dons Round 21 2018

Re: Match Thread Saints v Dons Round 21 2018

The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:34pm strap yourselves in for another year of this $hit.
I’m not buying. Not going to renew. Enough.

st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:31pm
iwantmeseats wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:30pm There is no talent
I mean no talent.
None.
Seriously disagree with you. Reckon there is heaps of talent. Zero talent in the coaching box...therein lies the problem
Yep plenty of talent, just a system that doesn’t know how to develop and get the most out of it.

saintadamski

I mean no talent.
None.
Seriously disagree with you. Reckon there is heaps of talent. Zero talent in the coaching box...therein lies the problem
The coach doesn't constantly turn the ball over
The coach doesn't lay insipid tackles
The coach is not the one running slowly
The coach is not the one shanking kicks

IT IS THE f****** PLAYERS

The tactical gameplan sucks too - that is the coach!
Last edited by saintadamski on Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:36pm, edited 1 time in total.

The_Dud wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:35pm
I mean no talent.
None.
Yep plenty of talent, just a system that doesn’t know how to develop and get the most out of it.
Yep. Five years and so many of our young fellas who should be maturing into quality players are going backwards. Must be bloody disheartening for them. Frustrating as buggery. Seriously, put Curly on ignore, it’s much better.

saintadamski

st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:36pm
The_Dud wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:35pm
I mean no talent.
None.
WHAT QUALITY PLAYERS?!?!?! WHAT ARE YOU f****** TALKING ABOUT?!!!!!!
Last edited by saintadamski on Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:37pm, edited 1 time in total.

I honestly don’t see talent.
I see No one that excites me even a Little.
I see more talent at Carlton I’m not Joking.

The slow train to nowhere. When can I get off?

However, we had Rice, Marshall, Paton, Pierce, Freeman, Long, and Mckenzie. Not many games between those players. Then we had the bit players...those who drift in and out of games, like Billings and Sinclair. Has anyone else noticed that in third quarters, these two guys almost always go missing?

Steven had a shocker.

It looks like a team that's starting from scratch with very little in the way of quality leadership.

Is there a worst kick in the comp comp. Steven would be on the podium. Sinclair would be ok for technique the few times he is not caught htb but his results would be medal class crap. You know Alan you really cannot afford men that kick so poorly no matter how often they get the ball or how hard they have tried - outcomes not effort. And do you really practice handballing in a match situation or is it pass the parcel. Numb with disappointment.

saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:36pm
I mean no talent.
None.

No mate. The reason they are making all those errors is because they are demoralised, uninspired, devoid of confidence, playing for an empty shell of a coach. They are mentally shot, not connected to a clear sense of belief and purpose. Hamstrung by a lame duck leader. Teams who are executing their skills and playing with cohesion are mentally together. The performance is a result of their mental state, not a reflection of their lack on innate ability.

saintadamski

st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:40pm
I mean no talent.
None.

No mate. The reason they are making all those errors is because they are demoralised, uninspired, devoid of confidence, playing for an empty shell of a coach. They are mentally shot, not connected to a clear sense of belief and purpose. Hamstrung by a lame duck leader. Teams who are executing their skills and playing with cohesion are mentally together. The performance is a result of their mental state, not a reflection of their lack on innate ability.
I do agree with you to a point
There is no leadership, there is no cohesion...but to think we have quality players is simply absurd

saintkev

saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:24pm Based on this game (and many others)

Delist
- Newnes
- Sinclair
- Armitage
- Lonie
- Geary
- McKenzie
- Rice
- Brown

Trade
- Billings
- Acres (Maybe)
- Steven
Flick the witches hats: Brown and Carlisle!!!

derby Street

How do you teach brains - we have got some dumb footballers. (besides lacking basic skills)

Depressing.

saintadamski

saintkev wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:43pm
saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:24pm Based on this game (and many others)

Delist
- Newnes
- Sinclair
- Armitage
- Lonie
- Geary
- McKenzie
- Rice
- Brown

Trade
- Billings
- Acres (Maybe)
- Steven
Flick the witches hats: Brown and Carlisle!!!
They are incredibly slow aren't they...like watching barges move in wide circles...and shocking use of the footy!

saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:43pm
I mean no talent.
None.

There is no leadership, there is no cohesion...but to think we have quality players is simply absurd
Don’t agree. Given a quality coach I reckon we have them. Billings, Sinclair I rate, Steele, Membrey, Gresham, Acres, Dunstan with the right mids around him, Ross is bordering on elite, to name a few.

Summed up our mind set in the last two minutes Marshall has Billing’s free two meters away ignores him the turns to kick under pressure turn over. Then Long is running out of the middle with pressure from behind ignores a basic handball to a free Ross and boots a 35 meter up and under into our forward line.

derby Street wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:45pm How do you teach brains - we have got some dumb footballers. (besides lacking basic skills)

Depressing.
Mental state is shot, they’re not dumb. Just demoralised.

derby Street wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:45pm How do you teach brains - we have got some dumb footballers. (besides lacking basic skills)

Depressing.
They all look dumb, slow and poorly skilled because we have no system.

No one knows what to do when they get it, and no one knows what the bloke that has the ball is going to do with it.

HardSaint

Just for perspective, I think it's worth posting our mission statement again The key goals for the Saints in their 2014-18 strategy:

■Be a top-four side positioned to be a consistent premiership contender.
■Have more than 50,000 members in Australia.
■Have 10,000 members in New Zealand.
■Deliver annual surpluses year-on-year to enable investment in strategic initiatives that will underpin a prosperous future.
■Have an admired culture, built on respect and accountability.
■Broaden their presence in the Bayside region, their heartland.
■Complete the refurbishment of Moorabbin as a football, community and retail hub.
■By 2020, win the club’s second premiership.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Richo sitiing in the box looking out with a glazed stare...sees himself on the big screen and jumps for the phone to make out he is doing something. .. every time.....check it out.

saintadamski

st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:46pm
saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:43pm
I mean no talent.
None.

Don’t agree. Given a quality coach I reckon we have them. Billings, Sinclair I rate, Steele, Membrey, Gresham, Acres, Dunstan with the right mids around him, Ross is bordering on elite, to name a few.
Well I don't rate Billings and Sinclair....at all.
No one who watched the last few years of s***, could possibly rate them.

HardSaint wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:49pm Just for perspective, I think it's worth posting our mission statement again The key goals for the Saints in their 2014-18 strategy:

■Be a top-four side positioned to be a consistent premiership contender.
■Have more than 50,000 members in Australia.
■Have 10,000 members in New Zealand.
■Deliver annual surpluses year-on-year to enable investment in strategic initiatives that will underpin a prosperous future.
■Have an admired culture, built on respect and accountability.
■Broaden their presence in the Bayside region, their heartland.
■Complete the refurbishment of Moorabbin as a football, community and retail hub.
■By 2020, win the club’s second premiership.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
on track

The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:50pm Richo sitiing in the box looking out with a glazed stare...sees himself on the big screen and jumps for the phone to make out he is doing something. .. every time.....check it out.
Saw him this evening and thought he looked traumatised. Not up to it.

I'm willing to put Sinclair right up there with Weller.

Billing’s is a very good player horably used by his coach.

rodgerfox wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:49pm

Depressing.
They all look dumb, slow and poorly skilled because we have no system.

No one knows what to do when they get it, and no one knows what the bloke that has the ball is going to do with it.
I said this to my son.

I hate the backwards kick - and it comes unstuck too too often, however, if the mids and the forwards are not working harder to make it impossible to kick backwards then that is what we are stuck with. I want the HBF to simply kick it forward and for us to blame the mids/forwards for not honouring the kick.

Lazy players make others look bad - Essendon tore us apart because when they got the ball - they knew someone would make the move to be where it was going.....

Coach/Players - I don't care - just FIX IT YOU DUMB F@RKS!