Match Thread Saints v Dons Round 21 2018

Re: Match Thread Saints v Dons Round 21 2018

saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:50pm
st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:46pm
saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:43pm
st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:40pm
saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:36pm
st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:31pm
iwantmeseats wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:30pm There is no talent
I mean no talent.
None.
Seriously disagree with you. Reckon there is heaps of talent. Zero talent in the coaching box...therein lies the problem
The coach doesn't constantly turn the ball over
The coach doesn't lay insipid tackles
The coach is not the one running slowly
The coach is not the one shanking kicks

IT IS THE f****** PLAYERS

The tactical gameplan sucks too - that is the coach!
No mate. The reason they are making all those errors is because they are demoralised, uninspired, devoid of confidence, playing for an empty shell of a coach. They are mentally shot, not connected to a clear sense of belief and purpose. Hamstrung by a lame duck leader. Teams who are executing their skills and playing with cohesion are mentally together. The performance is a result of their mental state, not a reflection of their lack on innate ability.
I do agree with you to a point
There is no leadership, there is no cohesion...but to think we have quality players is simply absurd
Don’t agree. Given a quality coach I reckon we have them. Billings, Sinclair I rate, Steele, Membrey, Gresham, Acres, Dunstan with the right mids around him, Ross is bordering on elite, to name a few.
Well I don't rate Billings and Sinclair....at all.
No one who watched the last few years of s***, could possibly rate them.

I think they are talented players. They just need to play in a team with a n effective leader and system, then they will flower.

saintadamski

The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:50pm
HardSaint wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:49pm Just for perspective, I think it's worth posting our mission statement again The key goals for the Saints in their 2014-18 strategy:

■Be a top-four side positioned to be a consistent premiership contender.
■Have more than 50,000 members in Australia.
■Have 10,000 members in New Zealand.
■Deliver annual surpluses year-on-year to enable investment in strategic initiatives that will underpin a prosperous future.
■Have an admired culture, built on respect and accountability.
■Broaden their presence in the Bayside region, their heartland.
■Complete the refurbishment of Moorabbin as a football, community and retail hub.
■By 2020, win the club’s second premiership.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
on track
This track? lol

lefty

saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:50pmWell I don't rate Billings and Sinclair....at all.
Billings is a gun mate. Its just the team is totally shot, there is 0 confidence due to the style we play. You can't just keep blaming the players, it doesn't matter who we get, its the same s***. It will work itself out, the tide will turn someday. Confidence and a solid game plan can do amazing things.
Last edited by lefty on Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:59pm, edited 1 time in total.

People say Hannebery is a big risk to 5 years. Fact is we have to use our salary cap and prefer he gets it than guys currently on the list.
I look at our list and can’t comprehend that we pay our list the same as other clubs.

HardSaint wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:49pm Just for perspective, I think it's worth posting our mission statement again The key goals for the Saints in their 2014-18 strategy:

■Deliver annual surpluses year-on-year to enable investment in strategic initiatives that will underpin a prosperous future.
■Complete the refurbishment of Moorabbin as a football, community and retail hub.

yep. you'd hope the board would look at that and admit they have failed in every single one and at least have the integrity to try and live up to goal 5 - accountability.
and fall on their bloody swords!

lefty wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:58pm
saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:50pmWell I don't rate Billings and Sinclair....at all.
Billings is a gun mate. Its just the team is totally shot, there is 0 confidence due to the style we play. You can't just keep blaming the players, it doesn't matter who we get, its the same s***. It will work itself out, the tide will turn someday. Confidence and a solid game plan can do amazing things.
They are outside players. They look good when the team looos good. And the team does not look good.

Don’t care how f****** good you think are or what f****** league you play in, if you take a mark 10-20 metres out from goal, you go back and kick the f****** thing unless your 20mtrs in the clear and your running into an open goal!!!

Billings, Gresham and Lonie WTF???
Last edited by saintbob on Sat 11 Aug 2018 12:11am, edited 1 time in total.

lefty

Hannebery is not the answer, he'll be 28 next year, what kind of plan is that? By the time we're back up the ladder, he'll be over 30 and already has a cooked shoulder.
Hindsight, we should of went harder Kelly. If saints went hard at Shiel I'd have no problems, that guy is a jet.

1966 wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:58pm People say Hannebery is a big risk to 5 years. Fact is we have to use our salary cap and prefer he gets it than guys currently on the list.
I look at our list and can’t comprehend that we pay our list the same as other clubs.
A lot dont deserve to get paid on their efforts all year,including coaches

saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:54pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:50pm

on track
This track? lol
yes that track :)

lefty

saintbob wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 12:01am Don’t care how f****** good you think are or what f****** league you play in, if you take a mark 10-20 metres out from goal, you go back and kick the f****** thing unless your 20mtrs in the clear and your running into an open goal!!!

Billings, Gresham and Lonie WTF!!!

Billings, Lonie and Gresham
I get what you mean, but those 3 players all kicked 2 goals each. What do you expect from small forwards, 5 goals each?
I'd more angry at our desire to have spare defenders standing in the goal square instead of blocking the leading space.

richo's post match...how many disappointings ?

lefty wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 12:05am
saintbob wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 12:01am Don’t care how f****** good you think are or what f****** league you play in, if you take a mark 10-20 metres out from goal, you go back and kick the f****** thing unless your 20mtrs in the clear and your running into an open goal!!!

I get what you mean, but those 3 players all kicked 2 goals each. What do you expect from small forwards, 5 goals each?
I'd more angry at our desire to have spare defenders standing in the goal square instead of blocking the leading space.
I don’t care how many they kick, but they should have the footy smarts to go back and kick those goals everyday of the week..

bergsone wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 12:02am
1966 wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:58pm People say Hannebery is a big risk to 5 years. Fact is we have to use our salary cap and prefer he gets it than guys currently on the list.
A lot dont deserve to get paid on their efforts all year,including coaches
Get a superstar, front end his contract. A couple of million. Then when we recruit some other talent we have space to pay them good money.

In St. Kilda's defence, you have to admire how they creatively came up with a new way to re-package the old 'five year plan' fob that silences critics for four years.

st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:19pm
Myron Gaines wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:17pm If the Bombers weren’t 4 down on the bench we’d be 100+ down. This is truly embarrassing. I’m not sure what Richo can say post match. Zero excuses.
Will be a collection of yeah nahs, thought we came back well in the last quarter, we’ll take it to training and finish the year off strongly....blah etc
I was right......
“If you can park the few minutes before half time we were right in the game.”

“We will drive that strongly and make sure we respond in a much more constructive way and continue to work......”

So predictable. Just embarrassing. Fall on your sword FFS.

saintbob wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 12:16am
lefty wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 12:05am

I don’t care how many they kick, but they should have the footy smarts to go back and kick those goals everyday of the week..
This!!!

I know that we lost by 43 - but we dropped our bundle. At the place in the game that these goals were missed we would have only been 3 goals down if you add the 15 points (3 x 6 - 3 x 1), and still in the game. Instead we were 6 goals down and game over!!!

I think Richo is getting the most out of a very, very ordinary list.

We need A grade players with A grade skills - and plenty of them.

samoht wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 11:05am I think Richo is getting the most out of a very, very ordinary list.

Extraordinary. Getting the most out of them. You surely are taking the piss. You’re contending that this is the best these players have to offer????
Posted this in the match thread last night in response to another poster suggesting our players are making mistakes because they’re not good enough :

“No mate. The reason they are making all those errors is because they are demoralised, uninspired, devoid of confidence, playing for an empty shell of a coach. They are mentally shot, not connected to a clear sense of belief and purpose. Hamstrung by a lame duck leader. Teams who are executing their skills and playing with cohesion are mentally together. The performance is a result of their mental state, not a reflection of their lack of innate ability.

saintadamski

st.byron wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 12:46pm
samoht wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 11:05am I think Richo is getting the most out of a very, very ordinary list.

Extraordinary. Getting the most out of them. You surely are taking the piss. You’re contending that this is the best these players have to offer????
Posted this in the match thread last night in response to another poster suggesting our players are making mistakes because they’re not good enough :

“No mate. The reason they are making all those errors is because they are demoralised, uninspired, devoid of confidence, playing for an empty shell of a coach. They are mentally shot, not connected to a clear sense of belief and purpose. Hamstrung by a lame duck leader. Teams who are executing their skills and playing with cohesion are mentally together. The performance is a result of their mental state, not a reflection of their lack of innate ability.
Rubbish
They are ordinary players at best, and wouldn't get a game at most other clubs

Yeah, I think that's right, we just don't have top end talent. We have plenty of GOPs but no high end players. Gresham is our best kid but he's not overwhelmingly better than Fantasia or Mc Donald Tippunwuti, if at all. We have Carlise who is very good but not elite, Jack Steven who is close to A grade and a next tier down of high B graders like Memebrey, Ross, Billings and Steele. Then a drop down to the next level of inconsistent players who could be good one day, older past it players or limited battlers.

I don't think any coach will come in and make us top 4 but with injury luck, fixture and natural progression we should go back up the ladder a bit somewhere around 10th I reckon.

BenLong#21

gringo wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 2:18pm

Yeah, I think that's right, we just don't have top end talent. We have plenty of GOPs but no high end players. Gresham is our best kid but he's not overwhelmingly better than Fantasia or Mc Donald Tippunwuti, if at all. We have Carlise who is very good but not elite, Jack Steven who is close to A grade and a next tier down of high B graders like Memebrey, Ross, Billings and Steele. Then a drop down to the next level of inconsistent players who could be good one day, older past it players or limited battlers.

I don't think any coach will come in and make us top 4 but with injury luck, fixture and natural progression we should go back up the ladder a bit somewhere around 10th I reckon.
McGrath aint bad either.

st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:40pm
saintadamski wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:36pm
st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:31pm
iwantmeseats wrote: Fri 10 Aug 2018 11:30pm There is no talent
I mean no talent.
None.
Seriously disagree with you. Reckon there is heaps of talent. Zero talent in the coaching box...therein lies the problem
The coach doesn't constantly turn the ball over
The coach doesn't lay insipid tackles
The coach is not the one running slowly
The coach is not the one shanking kicks

IT IS THE f****** PLAYERS

The tactical gameplan sucks too - that is the coach!
No mate. The reason they are making all those errors is because they are demoralised, uninspired, devoid of confidence, playing for an empty shell of a coach. They are mentally shot, not connected to a clear sense of belief and purpose. Hamstrung by a lame duck leader. Teams who are executing their skills and playing with cohesion are mentally together. The performance is a result of their mental state, not a reflection of their lack on innate ability.
Hit. Nail. On. Head

Both Billings and Lonie made a meal of kicking for goal from virtually dead in front and less than 20 metres out because they are confused and devoid of any confidence. Richo and the footy department keep blaming the players for poor skill execution when it is really about a lack of discipline and a lack of simple team rules. Set the parametres and give the players clear instructions you f***** pissweak leader!!

Why do we keep seeing our players make the same mistakes and we keep hearing the coaches blame poor skills? Because Richo doesn't have the balls to demand some non-negotiables. When a player marks the footy 20 metres out and plays on, only to miss that goal, the coach is to blame because he has allowed HIS players to have ZERO discipline and ZERO team rules in that forward line. The players deserve better leadership than this timid inept and pissweak excuse of a head coach

saintadamski wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 1:16pm
st.byron wrote: Sat 11 Aug 2018 12:46pm

Rubbish
They are ordinary players at best, and wouldn't get a game at most other clubs
Disagree. We have some quality players. Is your performance at work a result of your mental state? Your behaviour at home? Does how you respond, perform and behave depend on your mental state? And if it’s shot or crap, how does that affect you?

saintadamski

I execute at work almost through muscle memory.
If my mental state is poor, I have the maturity and the strength to focus , motivate and do what I need to do... without having to suckle on some manager's teat for support... or call my mummy.

These players do not have the x factor to lift, to lead, or to execute under pressure. That is because they lack the skill and the mental toughness to do so.

I blame poor recruitment, and some absurd Politically correct "psych test" to only pass soft c**k 'nice guys'

Shambles