Loophole in Richo’s contract
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
Loophole in Richo’s contract
According to Tom Morris, there is a performance clause in Richo’s contract which means the club could release him at the end of 2019.
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/exclus ... 2690bf5191
-
- Saintsational Legend
Re: Loophole in Richo’s contract
-
- SS Life Member
I can. If we manage to have a poor start to next year - say, 1-6 - the pressure will become unbearable. No one - club, coach or supporters - can tolerate a dead-man walking scenario.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Can not believe we have to sacrifice a season (that’s what next year will be) because that absolute twat Finnis and Board decided to play “corporate managers” and extend this muppets contract. Effing unbelievable, unforgivable
Just go Finnis - head up the AFL re-genderisation program but stay the eff out of football decisions.
Ferking lawyers....head up arse but feel they can manage anything cause they’re a trumped up solicitor FFS
Just go Finnis - head up the AFL re-genderisation program but stay the eff out of football decisions.
Ferking lawyers....head up arse but feel they can manage anything cause they’re a trumped up solicitor FFS
- dragit
- Saintsational Legend
You are being generous… it's at least 2 seasons sacrificed.Teflon wrote: ↑Tue 14 Aug 2018 2:46pm Can not believe we have to sacrifice a season (that’s what next year will be) because that absolute twat Finnis and Board decided to play “corporate managers” and extend this muppets contract. Effing unbelievable, unforgivable
Have a think about this year… if he was in the last year of his contract like he should have been when we had One win from 12 games in June, do you think we would have extended his contract? Not a chance.
When a coach has a W/L ratio of less than 35% there is absolutely no need to extend their contract a full year early, it's an absolute furphy that someone would possibly come along and poach him.
- WellardSaint
- Saintsational Legend
- Location: Perth- the best weather in Oz, but the worst rednecks.
the einsteins at the club who decided on the extension, only did it (I think) to stop media speculation, as the flogs in the media will alwaysdragit wrote: ↑Tue 14 Aug 2018 4:28pmYou are being generous… it's at least 2 seasons sacrificed.Teflon wrote: ↑Tue 14 Aug 2018 2:46pm Can not believe we have to sacrifice a season (that’s what next year will be) because that absolute twat Finnis and Board decided to play “corporate managers” and extend this muppets contract. Effing unbelievable, unforgivable
Have a think about this year… if he was in the last year of his contract like he should have been when we had One win from 12 games in June, do you think we would have extended his contract? Not a chance.
When a coach has a W/L ratio of less than 35% there is absolutely no need to extend their contract a full year early, it's an absolute furphy that someone would possibly come along and poach him.
go with "coach under pressure" on a slow news day.
Club didn't want to give any ammo to Barrett or the Witch.
But I suppose by doing so, it gave them ammo to say "they aren't top 4, they're bottom 4, why extend Mr Fairy Dust? WTF?"
A real Sainter will pledge allegiance to the ❤ and despise the Pies, the Blues, and the Injectors.
- Sanctorum
- Club Player
There is of course also the possibility that Richo himself will decide to resign.
The pressure he will be under at the start of 2019 to turn the team's fortunes around will be immense, and he doesn't strike me as the sort of bloke who will ignore the writing on the wall if there is no significant improvement in the first month.
I reckon in that case he will sit down with the club and work out an immediate exit strategy on terms where he will save face - in fact I imagine that such a deal may well be worked out between both parties at the end of this season to take the heat off him, and allowing a smooth transition to his successor.
It will be in the club's interest to avoid a difficult, dramatic, troublesome media spectacle which could have serious consequences for the psyche of the playing group.
The pressure he will be under at the start of 2019 to turn the team's fortunes around will be immense, and he doesn't strike me as the sort of bloke who will ignore the writing on the wall if there is no significant improvement in the first month.
I reckon in that case he will sit down with the club and work out an immediate exit strategy on terms where he will save face - in fact I imagine that such a deal may well be worked out between both parties at the end of this season to take the heat off him, and allowing a smooth transition to his successor.
It will be in the club's interest to avoid a difficult, dramatic, troublesome media spectacle which could have serious consequences for the psyche of the playing group.
When one door closes and another door opens, you are probably in prison..
Sometimes, someone unexpected comes into your life out of nowhere, makes your heart race, and changes you forever. We call those people cops.
My luck is like a bald guy who just won a comb.
Anon
Sometimes, someone unexpected comes into your life out of nowhere, makes your heart race, and changes you forever. We call those people cops.
My luck is like a bald guy who just won a comb.
Anon
- saintsRrising
- Saintsational Legend
The last part is the problem
Where was the performance clause for this year?
-
- Saintsational Legend
You’re correctdragit wrote: ↑Tue 14 Aug 2018 4:28pmYou are being generous… it's at least 2 seasons sacrificed.Teflon wrote: ↑Tue 14 Aug 2018 2:46pm Can not believe we have to sacrifice a season (that’s what next year will be) because that absolute twat Finnis and Board decided to play “corporate managers” and extend this muppets contract. Effing unbelievable, unforgivable
-
- Saintsational Legend
Our only hope is a new president who sacks Finnis and then sacks Richo end of this year.
Otherwise we are farked
- Spinner
- Saintsational Legend
Caro / 3AW tweet saying it could all explode after our last game this season.
Hopefully - I need some action. Enoughs enough. Although I feel all areas are a problems atm.
- saintkid
- Club Player
Well, I really hope this is true because Richo et al will turn the club into a total basket case if they continue in 2019.
- perfectionist
- Saintsational Legend
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
Lethlean is a friggin liar then.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Not at the time he was asked................
things can change
- parkeysainter
- SS Life Member
I concur. He IS NOT guaranteed to coach next year.
-
- Saintsational Legend
You’re the most reliable ITK poster on here Jaxons, so hallelujah if this be true.....and that would surely mean a replacement being in place prior to the draft and trade period.....maybe just Kingsley or a promoted assistant...oh wait.....with intention to land someone significant in 2020. Almost anything would be better than the current farcical embarrassment.
- Linton Lodger
- SS Hall of Fame
Will this happen because of a change of Board?
There is now talk about Jim Watts or Andrew Bassett taking over the Presidency with some of the Board resigning. What do you think of Watts or Bassett?
I assume that whomever takes over is planning to move on Richo, perhaps Finnis as well. If so, who's out there as a potential Coach?
I would be nervous and worried if it were Kingsley or Harvey.