Freeman delisted

Hemi Baxter

Re: Freeman delisted

parkeysainter wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 11:18pm
St Chris wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 11:15pm Trout must have found a young kid with a great family, a good kid, who will be available at Pick 125, cause that’s where his replacement is coming from...

FMD.

Good luck Freeza, hope you find a way back into the AFL system somehow, you deserve better.
Trout got moved on.
Actually he’s still employed at the club. I met him at the U18 interstate final where he was working.
As for Freeman those who do go to the VFL will remember how good he looked at the end of last year the week before Armo rolled on his ankle. He did look AFL standard then, particularly his positioning, capacity to get the ball and dash. As others have commented his disposal was never flash.

ss1986

The Recruit wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 11:09pm
bergsone wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 11:08pm
The Recruit wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 11:06pm
bergsone wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 11:04pm
The Recruit wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 10:58pm Don’t see any reason to delist Gilbert. He is a very good 30-40 player on a list
Sandringham for most of the year unless he needs to play due to injury
Rather have a younger Freeman who may make it,than a older player who has played his part,but isnt our future.Especially when we need mids not hbf .No disrespect to Gilbert
Please
Gilbert is a defender who can play tall
Has a big body that can play most weeks.

Freeman has played two games of footy.
We dont need 30/40 list players
So no need for depth on a list?
I’d like to see one approach and one approach only taken from now on with List Management....

Will they/could they play in our next flag?

Yes - keep
No- rid

GilbertOUT

I feel sad for the kid, I would’ve loved to have seen him really make it.
But he probably picked up 600-700k from us that he wasn’t going to earn anywhere else.

There should be no future for the following, if we are fair dinkum;

Minchington
Wright
Goddard
Joyce
Longer
Weller

Not up to it, too big of a risk for what he can now offer!!!!!

Shame for him, however he has lost the 'X-Factor' he once had!!!!!

Good clubs make hard decisions!!!!!

All the best Freeza!!!!!

saintsRrising wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 10:18pm If Freeman is gone then the Bains Legacy is looking worse and worse...
Bains doesn't have a legacy, him and Pelican were a pair of shysters trying to con the footy world they knew what they were doing.

What they were really doing was setting the club up for a massive fail, and they succeeded, spectacularly.

stonecold wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 12:31am Not up to it, too big of a risk for what he can now offer!!!!!

All the best Freeza!!!!!
Well said.

Well done to the club for making the call, bad luck to the player after all he went through.

Wayne42 wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 12:34am
saintsRrising wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 10:18pm If Freeman is gone then the Bains Legacy is looking worse and worse...
Bains doesn't have a legacy, him and Pelican were a pair of shysters trying to con the footy world they knew what they were doing.

Legacies can be bad, and in the case of Bains it is.

The scars are the legacy of chicken pox.

Has more talent than the majority of players who will be on our list next year. He was finally getting his body right and performed pretty well in his two games. Would have loved to see what he could have done with a decent run at it in the seniors and the confidence that would have come from that.

Crap decision

brewski

stonecold wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 12:31am Not up to it, too big of a risk for what he can now offer!!!!!

All the best Freeza!!!!!
Played 2 good games of footy and dumped when we have a list with about 10 that need to go, we ain't a good club and we certainly make a lot of s**t decisions

Banned by the censors
SteveStevens66

SaintPav wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 10:13pm Seems harsh but has minimal defensive aspect to his game and unfortunately his injuries means he has lost his major weapon which was his speed.
Well if those are the reasons for delisting him there are at least half a dozen others who should be shown the door for the same reasons. Utterly disgusted.

Carna Saints!!!

Not disgusted at all. Happy to see some hard calls being made.

ss1986

I’m like the others - this will only be acceptable if we delist every player worse than Freeman....

And that’s a fair bloody few.

brewski

st.byron wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 1:05am Not disgusted at all. Happy to see some hard calls being made.
do you love this club? the 2 things that were a highlight for the saints this year was Gresh and freezer debuting

Banned by the censors
chico2001

He never had an X factor because he never played any AFL games so why did they have him on the list for years. I would have liked to see him have a couple more games. His disposal was better than Dunstan and he was quicker, better kick than quite a few of the saints players.

Very disappointing and poor form by the club. Why keep him around for so long to just delist him once he got his body right? I’d certainly prefer him in the side before a few others who get picked regularly (and are in leadership positions)...

Hope he ends up somewhere so he can stick it up Richo and the club.

SteveStevens66 wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 1:01am
SaintPav wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 10:13pm Seems harsh but has minimal defensive aspect to his game and unfortunately his injuries means he has lost his major weapon which was his speed.
Well if those are the reasons for delisting him there are at least half a dozen others who should be shown the door for the same reasons. Utterly disgusted.
Don’t disagree.

Just looking for possible reasons.

If it was up to me he stays.

I really feel for the kid. What a cruel blow, after having to wait so long for his body to come right and finally get that first game of AFL football. It's an indictment on this whole Richardson era. Seems to only encapsulate what a dud of a coach he has turned out to be.

Someone posted a song of the same title, but this is the real one:

Last edited by Sainternist on Wed 29 Aug 2018 2:03am, edited 1 time in total.

Pretty clear that Richo didn't want him in the side in the first place and was only bowing to pressure.

You get the impression that Richo had decided that the thing responsible for his predicament is atrocious recruiting.

And while he's right that the recruiting has been appalling, it's also possible that he's developed a siege mentality
that protects some (for no visible reason) and leaves others out in the cold (again for no good reason).

brewski wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 1:14am
st.byron wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 1:05am Not disgusted at all. Happy to see some hard calls being made.
do you love this club? the 2 things that were a highlight for the saints this year was Gresh and freezer debuting
Not sure if I love ‘this club’. The atmosphere of tribal allegiance I grew up with and participated in via many pilgrimages to Moorabbin and other suburban grounds has been pretty much homogenised and commercialised out of existence. Saints are in my blood.....had a Saints jumper before I could crawl. The corporate spin era makes me severely underwhelmed by the whole AFL.

Good to see Freeman get a game, but one off emotional highs are not a reason to keep a player on the list. I reckon Steele’s development was more of a highlight than that.

saintadamski

brewski wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 12:39am

All the best Freeza!!!!!
Played 2 good games of footy and dumped when we have a list with about 10 that need to go, we ain't a good club and we certainly make a lot of s**t decisions
Spot on!
Actually looked better than half the list, and showed the courage and determination to get himself right.

I'm completely disgusted by this decision, while the likes of Newnes and Dunstan etc got game after crap game.

I'm done with this fricking bulls***.

Canceling my membership tomorrow. What a load of absolute rubbish.
Delist Newnes, Weller, Gilbert, Geary, Sinclair and all the other garbage first before this kid.

lefty

FML this club, they told us for two years we're not rushing him, long term prospect. He gets his body right, plays 2 games and then de-listed. Absolute garbage.

It doesn't matter who we trade for, the club is 100% crap at development, and that buck lies with the club.

You look at clubs like Hawthorn, Geelong, Sydney, they find a way to develop their players from no where. We are a club that simply thinks that the way to solve all our problems is to trade player x,y,z and then that the new recruits a,b,c will fix all our problems, only to find two or three years later, we de-list a,b,c and the cycle continues. Its crap.

If we end up on the bottom next year, Richo is gone, we've had enough.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 2:01am Pretty clear that Richo didn't want him in the side in the first place and was only bowing to pressure.

You get the impression that Richo had decided that the thing responsible for his predicament is atrocious recruiting.

And while he's right that the recruiting has been appalling, it's also possible that he's developed a siege mentality
that protects some (for no visible reason) and leaves others out in the cold (again for no good reason).
Yes, looks like Richo’s made the call on him. Maybe the club should have waited on the cavalry ... Ratten, Lade ... for a second opinion.
Last edited by bigcarl on Wed 29 Aug 2018 6:13am, edited 1 time in total.

Collingwood pissing themselves laughing

Remember that Richardson had to be convinced by assistant coaches that Dylan Roberton could play. He was ready to ditch him because he saw nothing in him.

I bet Richo didn't tell him and has not looked him in the eye for a week. Well three games into 2019 when we can't make finals Richo will be gone too. Its part of the past use by date cycle but Richo has been so lucky beyond all mathematical probabilities to hang on. There is a book in it I think as we are witnessing extraordinary behaviour by a professional football club. Gallagher and Lethlean hold our hopes in their capable hands. All power to your arms chaps, you can be heros. Can't wait for 2020 and second half of 2019.