Breaking: Polec offered 800k at 5 years

Re: Breaking: Polec offered 800k at 5 years

bigred wrote: Tue 04 Sep 2018 2:47pm So now we have not offered anything near 800k and are still well under the North offer.

So much bulls*** floating around.
This time of year, surely not! Lol! 😂

DJ Higgins wrote: Tue 04 Sep 2018 1:11pm
degruch wrote: Tue 04 Sep 2018 12:51pm I'm not upset if its a kick in the teeth for our players.
It can only lower morale in a place that is hurting at present.
They can use it as motivation...nothing else seems to motivate anyone over there, so why not?

Anyway, as BigRed noted, it all seems to be BS regardless and the press reporting North is leading a one horse race at present.

Seems the Saints are keeping this one close to their chest regarding the 800k offer. They haven't confirmed or denied it.

parkeysainter wrote: Tue 04 Sep 2018 3:09pm Seems the Saints are keeping this one close to their chest regarding the 800k offer. They haven't confirmed or denied it.
I can't recall a club ever confirming a figure they've offered a player.

Foxfooty.com.au can reveal St Kilda’s offer has not increased for more than two months and is well below the Kangaroos’ reported $750,000 over five seasons.

parkeysainter wrote: Tue 04 Sep 2018 3:09pm Seems the Saints are keeping this one close to their chest regarding the 800k offer. They haven't confirmed or denied it.

So close that Polec is not even aware of it yet according to FoxFooty.

saintsRrising wrote: Tue 04 Sep 2018 7:54pm

Not yet maybe, but he will.

robsaint

We need to splash some cash to get quality players. It would be a mistake to give up our number 3/4 pick for Polec or Hanna. Have people thought that maybe this is a ploy to show other potential free agents that we are serious about getting some class to the club. Since we don't have any 2nd or 3rd round picks to give up our first round high pick would be a big mistake.

parkeysainter wrote: Tue 04 Sep 2018 8:04pm

I'd say if even the player isn't aware of the offer, then it is just another made up BS rumour… even if you title the thread "breaking" like it is a news item.

dragit wrote: Tue 04 Sep 2018 10:36pm

I'd say if even the player isn't aware of the offer, then it is just another made up BS rumour… even if you title the thread "breaking" like it is a news item.
“Breaking” is a term that’s interchangeable with “whisper”.

Saints now apparently saying North still the frontrunner. So maybe the monster offer we've supposedly made is somewhat exaggerated.

dragit wrote: Tue 04 Sep 2018 10:36pm

It was breaking last night. Came out of Adelaide.

Still stalking. Love it! 😁

Desperation stakes when we are offering Polec $800K (if true).

Polec is a good player and is the type of player we need with decent left foot and good run, but paying overs for a player of his level is dangerous.

Paying overs for Kelly, Sheil, Scully etc is different as they are AA guns and way better than anyone else on our list.

oldie60

You pay top dollar for guys you can build a side around or can win you a flag. Polec is a good player but a tad overrated. If you went after Polec his skills would need to be complimented by the players around him which at the moment we don't really have. He can get caught out as he has no right side to his body.

chico2001

oldie60 wrote: Wed 05 Sep 2018 6:18pm You pay top dollar for guys you can build a side around or can win you a flag. Polec is a good player but a tad overrated. If you went after Polec his skills would need to be complimented by the players around him which at the moment we don't really have. He can get caught out as he has no right side to his body.
Polec reminds me of a certain Richmond player who we recruited a few years ago, a left footed wingman who was a dud. Polec has better skills and can get the ball but is a rich mans version of the aforementioned ex tiger.

Nominated North today, their deal was some $2mil over Port's, and...he didn't consider St Kilda. :lol: This trade period is going to be tough.

chico2001 wrote: Thu 06 Sep 2018 12:34am
oldie60 wrote: Wed 05 Sep 2018 6:18pm You pay top dollar for guys you can build a side around or can win you a flag. Polec is a good player but a tad overrated. If you went after Polec his skills would need to be complimented by the players around him which at the moment we don't really have. He can get caught out as he has no right side to his body.
Polec reminds me of a certain Richmond player who we recruited a few years ago, a left footed wingman who was a dud. Polec has better skills and can get the ball but is a rich mans version of the aforementioned ex tiger.
Was Dean poloc a left footer?

guitars4

Wombat15 wrote: Mon 03 Sep 2018 9:00pm waste of money. should be throwing that at shiel, not another front-runner in Polec
Could not agree more . Shiel is exactly what we need !! Polec is handy but he is not a Dylan Shiel . I realise it's a long shot to even be a chance to get him but IMO I would be doing everything in our power to get him to St.Kilda then worry about others when it's not a possibility.

St Loxton

guitars4 wrote: Thu 13 Sep 2018 9:54pm
Wombat15 wrote: Mon 03 Sep 2018 9:00pm waste of money. should be throwing that at shiel, not another front-runner in Polec
Could not agree more . Shiel is exactly what we need !! Polec is handy but he is not a Dylan Shiel . I realise it's a long shot to even be a chance to get him but IMO I would be doing everything in our power to get him to St.Kilda then worry about others when it's not a possibility.

Absolutely.

Port may appreciate a Luke Dunstan type of midfielder to help sweeten a Polec deal.

Reckon Polac is A grade and the type we need, same with Sheil and Gaff. Any one of these would be a bonus.

chico2001

dragit wrote: Thu 13 Sep 2018 9:26pm
chico2001 wrote: Thu 06 Sep 2018 12:34am
Was Dean poloc a left footer?
You weren't thinking of Aaron Fiora by any chance?

BenLong#21

parkeysainter wrote: Mon 03 Sep 2018 9:05pm Tipping we are going to get him now.

Another parkeysaint prediction goes by the wayside.

You will get one correct one day mate.

....One day....

Polec has nominated North so all the rumours on here are wrong as as usual.
99.9% wrong again.

CarlD

Polec hadn’t counted on the Saints getting Hannebery. That should change his mind. :lol:

guitars4

CarlD wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 11:39am Polec hadn’t counted on the Saints getting Hannebery. That should change his mind. :lol:
Yeah Nah :lol: