Welcome Nicholas Hind

Our pick 54

Hawthorn stole Jacob Koschitzke at pick 52

Re: Welcome Nicholas Hind

24 years Essendon state league team Wing

another with poor kicking skills on our list!!

In his own words, a Johannisen type. Good outside line breaking mid for us hopefully.

At the very least Sandy should be a lot better next year.

Very quick.

spiral3

given his speed, his knickname has to be Legs!
nice highlight reel, great mover
wait and see on skills

spiral3 wrote: Fri 23 Nov 2018 1:44pm given his speed, his knickname has to be Legs!
nice highlight reel, great mover
wait and see on skills
skills been on display .........he is 24

poor kick

At least he is not currently injured

Mate of mine tells me there is quite a big contingent on their forum who think the Bombers should have drafted him, so he can't be that bad

footynut

Hmmmm another defender that has poor skills...

spiral3

hits targets in the highlights, so he can execute. replacement for Ray Connellan

spiral3 wrote: Fri 23 Nov 2018 2:10pm hits targets in the highlights, so he can execute. replacement for Ray Connellan
that is why those are highlights

spiral3

chook23 wrote: Fri 23 Nov 2018 2:13pm
spiral3 wrote: Fri 23 Nov 2018 2:10pm hits targets in the highlights, so he can execute. replacement for Ray Connellan
that is why those are highlights
fair dinkum! great insight, thanks

50. NICK HIND

Midfielder, 180cm, 75kg, Essendon VFL

Buckenara say: Hind has very good speed and the run and carry game he displayed for Essendon’s VFL team this season would have had recruiters marking him down as a player to watch. He ran 20m in 2.94 seconds at the state combine and it’s his pace and ball carrying ability that will attract clubs to him. Although he has a very slight frame, he didn’t look out of place at VFL level against the bigger and stronger bodies. I’m sure Essendon will have a good look at him — he’d be an ideal fit as speed on the outside is a need at the Bombers, plus he’s already spent time in their system. I believe he’ll get drafted or rookie-listed this year.

Plays like: Bradley Hill (Fremantle)

Some say he is electric.
Well I was an electrical engineer before retiring.
Looking at those highlights I would say Extra High Voltage 500kV

Here's what 2 of my mates who support the bombers have said about him. Both guys opinions I rate highly, and they both watch a lot of VFL.

'Superquick. Explosive. Did some great things in the two's. Not sure of role though as he doesn't get heaps of the footy which should be his go given his size. Disposal can be a fraction dodgy mostly because he's running so quick. Hope he goes ok. I think we may have rookied him but felt he would probably get picked up.'

2nd mate

'I like him. Quick and runs the lines. Decent ball user. I was hoping to rookie list him.'

From that I gather that he
a) has electric speed
b) can play against men
c) Needs to steady before disposing of ball more. But disposal is ok otherwise.
d) Probably needs to win more of the ball - which is likely to be the thing holding him back.
e) Appears that supporters see potential in him

He is a quick half back flanker with poor disposal and weighs 70kgs. Things to work on for sure but why another hbf?

DJ Higgins wrote: Sat 24 Nov 2018 9:09am He is a quick half back flanker with poor disposal and weighs 70kgs. Things to work on for sure but why another hbf?
Agreed. But very few positions on the ground we have nailed. 70kg's is what worries me the most. Simply not viable at AFL level. Games too physical. Will need to put on at least 5-7kg of muscle. And quickly. For a 24yr old whose body is already grown and matured, that concerns me.

According to my mates he's just as effective on the wing. (I didn't want to be so self indulgent that I would post our entire conversation, but that question was asked)

I’d rather great ball users than ‘quick’ players, as the ball moves much faster in the air than it does on the ground. Plus IMO foot speed is one of the most overrated football skills, good for the occasional highlight but not very useful if you can’t kick.

Matthew Lappin was 65 kg ringing wet and he went ok

chico2001

magnifisaint wrote: Sat 24 Nov 2018 8:43pm Matthew Lappin was 65 kg ringing wet and he went ok
Shows it can be done, but very rarely. The galloping gasometer was a good ruckman but how would he go today?

DJ Higgins wrote: Sat 24 Nov 2018 9:09am He is a quick half back flanker with poor disposal and weighs 70kgs. Things to work on for sure but why another hbf?
Closer to 75 ks according to some reports I have read.

axcellence

In terms of immediate impact, I think he can end up having the most impact. Saints have not had a line breaking half back since Gram.

chico2001

axcellence wrote: Sun 25 Nov 2018 11:06am In terms of immediate impact, I think he can end up having the most impact. Saints have not had a line breaking half back since Gram.
So what have the current lot of hbf's being doing for the past 3 years then?